Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
This is a great book for Atheists because it is written by a Christian. His research has highlighted verses in both old and new testaments that show how the bible has been manipulated and cannot possibly be 'inspired' as many claim. Show these verses to your 'doorsteppers'.
Published on 29 Mar. 2013 by John M Bostock

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter tosh
I only gave this one star because I couldn't go any lower.
The author has no credibility: he proudly states his belief in creationism; he says miracles do happen because he has seen how prayers in his church have cured disease; his literary references included The Da Vinci Code.
I was looking for an interesting book on the vagaries of The Bible - I read a pile...
Published 16 months ago by Ben Jowitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter tosh, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
I only gave this one star because I couldn't go any lower.
The author has no credibility: he proudly states his belief in creationism; he says miracles do happen because he has seen how prayers in his church have cured disease; his literary references included The Da Vinci Code.
I was looking for an interesting book on the vagaries of The Bible - I read a pile of old tosh.
Don't buy this book - he doesn't deserve the royalties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book for Atheists because it is written by a Christian. His research has highlighted verses in both old and new testaments that show how the bible has been manipulated and cannot possibly be 'inspired' as many claim. Show these verses to your 'doorsteppers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a much needed book - unfortunately poorly executed, 2 July 2013
By 
L. P. Martindale "Lee2D2" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The points made in this book are often insightful and do need to be made. I love the inspiration and objective behind this book but was disappointed that the author did not grasp the seriousness of his points. More discussion was needed in certain areas and for me the Italic conversations with God felt out of place. However I must salute the books ambition. There is a gaping gap for a Christian's critique of the Bible and this book is a start in filling this gap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a fan of organised religion but this book took my eye and I was quite amused by it, not laugh out loud funny but lighthearted humour. I hope it is supposed to be amusing or I might just have insulted someone....
:o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth starting, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
Ward is a confessed Christian who, unusually for most Christians, has actually read the bible. He knows, therefore, that it contains parts that are totally devoid from reality, whole chapters that are morally repugnant and others that would be funny if they were in any other book. His conclusion, having realised that the bible is at best deeply flawed, at worst a recipe for atrocity? Oh well God can't have written those bits because I know God is good.
Make your own mind up - it is cheap after all but I really wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it has to be said that this is a good factual, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
If you can get past mr ward's idea of a conversation with God, it has to be said that this is a good factual read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A rambing shambles of a book, 19 Sept. 2012
By 
I. Paton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
I gave up reading about a quarter of the way through the book. The old testament is simply a blood bath which the author fails to really tackle. He simply rambles on in a completely incoherent way and never gets to the point or answers any of those difficult passages in the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting if bizarre, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
I liked the factual elements and bible history but with no index it's not much use for future reference. The dialog with God I found slightly odd and am not convinced that a set of books written and compiled by men, largely for men with an inherent mass of contradiction can be taken as the literal word of God. To now select bits you like to follow while ignoring the bits that really don't fit modern life is just arbitrary while dismissing the bib bang theory (because it's not in the bible?!) just doesn't seem right some how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter nonsense, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
Just another bible basher choosing what bits of the bible suits him. The only thing I took from this book is that there is no God. We could have done without all the God conversations. If God can speak to you and help you when your writing a book, why didn't he answer the prayers of millions of Jews during the holocaust. After all, they are his chosen people, are they not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Money, 26 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Holy Enigma! Bible Verses You'll Never Hear in Sunday School (Kindle Edition)
Stream of consciousness drivel written by a man who " witnessed " a terminally ill cancer patient be cured by the power of prayer alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews