Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scalby school staff and students are proud of, 17 Jun 2010
By 
J. Morgan (Scarborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
On Valentines day 2010, one of our students, Ellie Othick-Bowmaker died from a brain tumour.

During her three year battle with cancer, Ellie and her friends raised over £25,000 for the charities that had helped her. She truly was an inspiration!.

In March this year, the Music department at Scalby School decided to record a song to raise money for Ellie's chosen charities.

Here it is!

We're proud of it, and we're proud of Ellie! Every penny raised through the sale of this song goes to charities that support the families of children living with cancer; and research into the causes and treatments of childhood cancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Message from Ellie's mum., 4 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
Without exception, this song sends shivers down my spine every time I listen to it.

Scalby School staff & pupils supported Ellie during her horrible journey through 3 years and 2 brain tumours.

Since her death they have continued to support the family, and 'Ellie's Fund', set up after her death to continue fund raising in Ellie's name.

During her treatment Ellie helped to raise £25 000 for various charities - most recently recording a song with her uncle for Ali's Dream, children's brain tumour research charity. It seems poignant that this is where we now concentrate our efforts. All of the proceeds of this song will go to Ellie's Fund, raising money for childhood brain tumour research.

The song itself, and the publicity surrounding it, will help to raise brain tumour awareness enormously - bringing the fact that there are 16 000 new brain tumour patients each year into the spotlight. Telling people that more UK children now die from brain tumours than leukaemia or any other cancer. That 5 year survival is still only 14%.

Please support us - 'Ellie's Fund' and Scalby School - by buying the song and asking everyone you know to do the same. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an inspiration, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
Ellie Othick-Bowmaker a wonderful girl and an inspiration for the brain tumour community. Please buy this song and raise much needed funds for brain tumour research. Brain tumours kill more children and people under 40 than any other cancer. Sue Farrington Smith, Director, Brain Tumour Research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
An inspirational song for an inspirational young lady - The song is beautifully sung, the emotion clear to hear. The two songs together link brilliantly. An amazing single to download - not only is it fantastic to listen to, but the profits will go to help research and eventually prevent wonderful children like Ellie leaving us all too soon. Ellie's family, teachers and friends have done her proud! PLEASE DOWNLOAD AND SPREAD THE WORD, lets get this beautiful song and fitting tribute into the top 40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy buy buy, a brilliant song., 5 July 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
This is a beautiful song and everyone involved should be congratulated. You have done Ellie proud. This is a song that reflects hope and the proceeds will provide hope for more families who have to deal with this terrible disease. Please buy this song!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is a wonderful world, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
Ellie was an inspirational young woman. She never stopped smiling and was passionate about helping others. In the all too brief time I knew Ellie, she never complained. She was a shinning example of how wonderful life can be when you focus your efforts on improving the lives of others, rather than complaining about yours. My staff and students have created a very moving and powerful tribute that I hope will inspire other people too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Cause, 5 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
I had not heard Ellie's story until I saw a link to the youtube video this morning - it brought a tear to my eye.
I am not from the area but still downloaded the song in the hope Ellie's memory will live on & my 79p would go to a great cause.
The song itself is a brilliant arrangement & all of the staff & pupils involved should be very proud of what they have achieved.
I'll be spreading the word in Manchester & hoping to hear Ellie's song on the charts one day soon. xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the mother of a brain tumour sufferer, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
Can't wait to download this tomorrow. I was at a concert last night at my daughter's former school where money was being raised for her fund-raising efforts for Brain Tumour Research (she was diagnosed in 2004 and has undergone much treatment since then) and one of the musical items was a vocal group singing 'Over the Rainbow'. This version by Scalby School got a mention so good luck with the sales - hit the charts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful world, 25 Jun 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
I have just heard this for the first time and it truely brought a tear to my eye. I think this is an amazing project for such an amazing cause.
Everyone should be so proud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 24 Jun 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World (MP3 Download)
I have just heard this all the way through for the first time this evening, and watched the video that goes with it. It brought tears to my eyes and a lump to my throat. It is truly wonderful. And it has all been done by the staff and students of Scalby School in Scarborough.
Please buy it and help to raise money for the charities that were dear to Ellie's heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World
Somewhere Over The Rainbow / Wonderful World by Scalby School Staff & Students
Buy MP3 Song£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews