Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip-Roaringly Good Racing!
When it comes to the Motorstorm franchise i'm not going to lie, i'm a huge fan, and this new installment hits all the right buttons with me. I am aware of the less than stellar campaign mode cutscenes, and yes, i do miss the "Welcome... to MOTORSTORM!" intro. Those aside though the game is fantastic.

Firstly, the track designs, this time out Evolution Studios...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by Maniacal-Max

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Rift is better
I had been looking forward to playing this game from the moment I completed Pacific Rift. I'm a big fan of Motorstorm and was excited by the thought of racing in the new location - a huge city being torn apart by the effects of an apocalypse. Surely, you'd think, this would be the ideal location to set the new game. Motorstorm perfection.

In many ways, it is...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip-Roaringly Good Racing!, 1 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
When it comes to the Motorstorm franchise i'm not going to lie, i'm a huge fan, and this new installment hits all the right buttons with me. I am aware of the less than stellar campaign mode cutscenes, and yes, i do miss the "Welcome... to MOTORSTORM!" intro. Those aside though the game is fantastic.

Firstly, the track designs, this time out Evolution Studios did something a little different, instead of having multiple tracks for every single race, each track takes place within a certain area (skyscrapers, train station, docks, beach, etc.) and within those areas there are usually between 3 and 4 different tracks, each taking place at a different time during the 2 day festival, this means that if you race in an area early on day 1 it is usually much cleaner with less total distruction than racing in the area at the end of day 2, but the big point here is that you aren't racing on the same track just with more distruction, only the same AREA, that has to be pointed out, different tracks in the same area are mostly completely different tracks, perhaps made up of sections of previous versions pieces together, and with the exception of the skyscraper area (Skyline) almost no track in the same area races the same. This creates a very diverse range of tracks while using areas more than once. Added to this is the in race destruction, some tracks have it, some don't, this too seperates how 1 track races compared to another in the same area, as does weather and time of day. All this creates a wide, diverse range of tracks in the game.

Racing on these tracks though is the true test, and being a Motorstorm fan i can say that in my opinion the actual track design is far better than Pacific Rift(Nothing can hold a candle to The Grizzly from the original Motorstorm though) Tracks in Pacific Rift looked much better than they actually played, in Apocalypse they look good and play good, they are well balanced to allow most vehicles to have equal chances of winning on most tracks, although some vehicles do have certain advantages on a select number of tracks.

Next is the festival itself, some people have said that it doesn't feel like a motorstorm game, mainly due to the common complaint about the cutscenes, which are an attempt to tell some sort of story. They are ok, not great, but not awful either, they loosely tell the events of the 2 day festival. But for me it DOES feel like a motorstorm festival. The best addition to this is the range of ingame collectible cards, they give you insights into racers, tracks, vehicles, history, in fact everything motorstorm has a little card giving insight into the characters, the festival, the locations, everthing, even history prior to motorstorm 1, how it all began, these are by far better than the animated cutscenes and they deserve recognition as nobody ever mentions them. If you are interested in being pulled into the world of motorstorm i would suggest that collecting and reading these cards is the best thing to do.

Thirdly we come to the difference between online and offline racing. Basically if you want this game just to race against the AI offline, then this might not be for you, the ai is rather strange, during the festival races the ai is steered and cars minipulated so that almost everytime you will slowly work yourself up through the pack until the last lap where you will be able to get to 1st place. basically this is story mode racing, it gives everybody pretty much the same experiance during the festival/story mode. There is nothing wrong with this if you take it as it is, from the expert to the novice, everyone can experience the intense race action in the same way. The other offline race mode ai is similarly unchallenging, to get the full motorstorm experience in apocalypse you have to race online, i would not have said this for Motorstorm or Motorstorm:Pacific Rift, the online on those previous games was less than perfectly implemented, in those games you were either a hardcore racer or you might as well go home. But Apocalypse has a very neat system where everybody of all ages and skill can race together, AND all be rewarded for it. When racing online you can get points (Chips) for almost everything, drifting, airtime, ramming opponents, using your brakes, exploding, even for winning a race. This means that everybody is always awarded for doing something, nobody EVER finishes a race empty handed, even if they came last, bounced off all the walls, crashed 14 times and didn't finish. Additionally there is the betting system, this has been mentioned many times, but what it means basically, apart from winning extra chips, is you aren't always chasing after 1st place. The racer you bet on becomes your rival, your challenge is then to beat THEM, even if you are in 13th place you can have a great race just having a personal race against your rival in 12th, and as you can see all players racing skill, it's up to you how difficult you make that for yourself.

Right, quickly i'll just mention the soundtrack, as people have complained about it. Frankly, the soundtrack is ok, it's orchestral and epic, it matches the new style of apocalypse, but some people prefered the music style of the first 2 games. There is an easy solution to anybody comnplaining about the soundtrack, Evolution Studios included the feature of playing your own soundtrack, if you prefer any other styles of music, you simply put it on your ps3 and can play it during the game, simple and easy, i'll say no more.

Now, the BIG factor, the vehicles. Initially there are only 3 vehicles in each class, of which there are 13 classes, i won't insult people intelligence by doing the math there, but this is a decent range of vehicles to start with, added to that is the fact that all these are fully customisable, from parts to paint job and you get a huge diversity in the vehicles, but for those who always want more selection there are already a wide range of dlc cars availble, of course each is available at a small fee, so it depends how much you want them. But selection and looks aside what we care about is racing these beasts, and this is by far the strongest part of this game, and as this is a racing game it's the most important. The vehicles are very well balanced (Note that this is after a large patch was released re-tuning 6 of the classes) and quite frankly nothing compares to motorstorms stampede style of racing, from Bikes to Big Rigs and Minis to Monster Trucks all racing together. In previous games the balance of these, especially online was almost non existent, but in Apocalypse all classes are very well balanced despite each of the 13 classes controlling and handling very differently, this in a big achievement for Evolution Studios, and is not applauded enough. Added to this is the very nice online perk system, which too is very well balanced. You can have slightly faster top speed, or a slight accelleration boost, or slightly more powerful ramming attacks, amongst many more. This gives an extra level of customisation to your racing style which adds, in turn, an extra layer of depth to the game.

So, in closing, if you look past the minor, and quite superficial flaws of Motorstorm: Apocalypse you will find youself having an absolutely roaring time racing with fellow "'Stormers". Yes, fans of the previous games may find the changes a bit of an adjustment (And quite honestly if the game was the same as the previous games just updated, those same people would complain about THAT) but most of the changes are for the better, especially when it comes to online play. I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of destruction, intense action, brutal aggression, and possibly racing, but most certainly this game is not only for fans of regular racing games, i reccomend every gamer to give it a try, and you'll find it online equal of FPS games.

Thanks for reading.

I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Arcade Racing, 13 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played only the first Motorstorm back in 2007, I was curious to see how much the series had changed in this latest installment. Needless to say I'm genuinely pleased.

OFFLINE

The offline story mode features 40 racing events, most of which you can complete fairly quickly but at the same time are fun to play. You are unable to select your vehicle in this mode but challenges such as this encourage the player to get used to how each class handles (13 vehicle types in total). The cartoon cutscenes, apart from a few funny moments, aren't really anything worth watching, but these can be skipped without any essential information being missed. Other offline modes include Hardcore Races which are...hardcore! Along with Time Trials to complete.

MULTIPLAYER

Local multiplayer up to 4 player split-screen is in this game, and online can be played concurrently. As someone who enjoys playing racing games with friends sitting next to me this is great. Online multiplayer features the standard unlockables and levelling up system that you expect in a game these days. Levelling up is rather fun than frustrating (No levelling down or severe penalties for being last in a race), and good players are appropriately rewarded. A feature I like is the Betting system to see if you can beat a particular racer, and then the race becomes a matter of pride rather than points (Fantastic for those with issues against other players). Unlockables provide you with simple ways to customise the image of your chosen vehicle, a fairly fun process involving paint and wheels for the budding artist.

TRACKS

I love the courses in this game, the destruction takes the best of Split-Second and combines it with Motorstorm's track variety tailored to the strengths and weaknesses of your vehicles. There are 9 general areas in total, but the track layouts are radically different in each selection.

OVERALL

I have enjoyed this game a lot, both offline and online, a surprise for me as I rarely play online. If you like arcade racers and want to play along with your friends I'd recommend a look at this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enter the World of 3D gaming!!, 18 April 2011
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
OK so this is still Motorstorm and the basic concept is still the same as before - although now we have a "comic book"-style story linking the races in the main Festival mode. But you can skip these by hitting the X button and then it is very much a pure racing game - although you do have a very different flavour, as the courses are built on the wreckage of a city rather than off-road.

However - the big difference for this game is that you can play it in 3D!! So at the beginning of the game you are asked if you want to play in 3D and then the whole experience changes completely! I played this through my Panasonic TX-P42GT20B 42-inch Widescreen 3D Plasma TV with 3D glasses and it is so different playing the game in this way!

Most of the 3D content for PS3 so far has been pretty gimmicky and not games you would necessarily want to play otherwise - but this is probably one of the first proper games for the PS3 in 3D and I hope it is the first of many.

I was very impressed with how well the 3D works seamlessly and easily - in this kind of game it really make you feel like you are in there with the other riders and amongst the debris. The backgrounds are wonderful - the ingenuity and detail put into the courses is stunning and they all work very well in 3D, as you are now often enclosed rather than out in the open.

I was also pleased that the 3D content is in high definition just like the 2D version; as some 3D splits the content and you end up with lower resolution - but this is all in the best quality you could want!

At the moment then, this has to be one of the best demonstrations of 3D gaming - with only Killzone 3 as a direct rival, but I haven't got to play that yet. So if you want to see what 3D gaming has to offer then this is a really good demonstration and while the game isn't that different in 2D it really comes to life in 3D. Recommended if you have a 3D TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MSA and Wheel Support, 16 Aug 2011
By 
M. Bishop (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
I thought I'd give you a heads-up on the new wheel support for MSA. If, like me, you're a keen wheel racer, games without support for our beloved wheels are generally ignored. I sometimes find this disappointing, as before my wheel I used to enjoy the old Need for Speed games and Motorstorm in particular. So imagine how pleased I was when they offered wheel support. I ordered the game immediately and crossed my fingers. So how does it fair? Well, firstly lets remember that this game was never originally designed for wheels, and what's more most action driving games of this type do not support wheels either. However, they're making a big thing of the new feature, which is why I took the chance. Out of the box the wheel worked fine. The accelerator and brake pedals aren't analogue for some reason, but since this is not a game of finesse it doesn't really matter. The wheel felt very light, without any FF at all other than tight corners and impacts. But, the steering was ok and it did add to the enjoyment of the game. So, last night, I felt it was enjoyable and that it did 'work'.
This morning I discovered the true Wheel Options. I cranked the FF up to 100% and tried again. Wow. I challenge anyone to complete a lap with the DFGT FF violently wrestling the wheel out of your hands with every bump! I take it down to 77% and now we're talking. The wheel feels weighty, the impacts shake and it all feels very nice and tight. Now don't get me wrong, this is no Dirt 3. The handling model is mere childsplay by comparison and the first lap or two will find you rather disappointed. After that, you'll forget about Dirt for an hour or so and just revel in the heart pumping thrill of driving across a mighty suspension bridge while it collapses underneath you; feeling every jarring bump and crunch along the way. Yes, I can say they have done a tremendous job supporting the DFGT and I am very pleased with my purchase. I'll return to Dirt 3 in a day or two, sure, but I will definitely play MSA again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Rift is better, 3 April 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
I had been looking forward to playing this game from the moment I completed Pacific Rift. I'm a big fan of Motorstorm and was excited by the thought of racing in the new location - a huge city being torn apart by the effects of an apocalypse. Surely, you'd think, this would be the ideal location to set the new game. Motorstorm perfection.

In many ways, it is. Racing through a city at 150mph as an earthquake strikes is an exhilarating experience. Buildings crumble all around you, roads collapse to reveal hidden subways, and tornadoes violently pick boats up from the sea and hurl them at you at blistering speeds. One of my favourite experiences was being dropped by helicopter on top of a falling building as the race started. You've probably seen this in video reviews. It is a very cool, very pretty scene and the developers clearly want to show it off. You really do need to be wide awake to play this.

But it falls short in so many ways and I cannot forgive it for its mistakes. It is totally beyond me why they've included a story, but they have. I say story, but what I really mean is a bunch of rubbish cartoon cutscenes supported by rubbish dialogue between every single race - yes every single one - that really adds nothing to the gameplay whatsoever. We're greeted with witticisms such as "I'll rip his balls off" and "You one-eyed slut" throughout. It just isn't interesting. It's stupid. I've completed the game (in less than 4 hours) and I have absolutely no idea what any of the characters are called. I couldn't care less. This so called story makes what was an exciting adrenaline fueled racer in Pacific Rift, a boring linear racer that gets annoying very quickly. This means it's very unlikely I'll play through it again.

It says on the box that the game is full of 'unpredictable drama'. It is. First time round. This may sound like a stupid thing to say, but what makes the game exciting first time round makes it less enjoyable to play second time round (which is what I like to do to collect gold medals etc). Things are no longer unpredictable but repetitive, as the same things happen on the same track in the same order time and time again. Although the scale of a building collapsing may be immense, it won't make the game any more enjoyable second time around. I knew the helicopter was going to fall out the sky to block the route. Although the world isn't falling apart in Pacific Rift, it's the unpredictability of the AI, the beauty of the scenery, and the hidden routes that make it fun to play again and again.

Graphically, the game is pretty. Some people have said it's prettier than Pacific Rift, but I'm not convinced. It has also been said that the level of detail in crashes is much lower than in the previous game, and that is true. It seems there are fewer cars, as well. Perhaps the developers concentrated too much on the 3D effects you'll be able to enjoy if you purchase a 2000 TV any time between now and when manufacturers stops making them (hopefully soon), and forgot about the game itself.

Multiplayer didn't particularly grip me either. It's okay, but no better than in Pacific Rift.

To be honest, I'm probably being a little too harsh. I think I was so impressed my Pacific Rift that this just feels more disappointing than it probably is for newcomers. My advice, however, would be to buy Pacific Rift over this if you're new to the series, and just rent this new game if you're not.

I hope you found my review helpful, and I look forward to hearing your opinions. Am I completely wrong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Skool 'Storm fans beware!!, 2 April 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
This is not your typical Motorstorm game - and I don't mean that in a good way.

Many of the things we love about the games have gone.

1.The dip in & out gameplay. There is now a story for some reason. The other games seemed to fair pretty well without one but because of it you now have to progress through as the developers have dictated. That said you can navigate back through the menu to play a race again but the races are not as conveniently laid out as they were before.

2. I'm about 60% of the way through the festival and so far there is no option to choose your vehicle for the race or even change it's colour. There is a very comprehensive vehicle customisation section but this only changes your vehicles for online games or for one-off offline races that can be set-up within the Wreckreation mode.

3. The soundtrack. The music in this game is custom composed I understand and although good enough in its own right it just doesn't have the same 'festival feel' as the track-picked soundtracks of the other games.

4. The terrain and other vehicle interaction handling does not seem as realistic as the earlier MS games. Whereas you could almost feel another vehicle hitting into you and likewise you hitting the boundaries of the track in Apocalypse there seems far more tendency just to bounce off or away much like the unrealistic handling in Split-Second.

5. Worst of all the crashes are gone. Someone new to the series might think the ones in Apocalypse look pretty sweet but they are not a patch on the 'bit's everywhere' crashes that so helped to define the Monument Valley and Pacific Rift games. The odd tyre may fly off and if you're lucky you may see a couple of springs but generally your vehicle is just engulfed in a ball of flame when you crash.

Apocalypse also brings elements to the series that for me simply aren't needed. The main one being the annoying cartoon-style cut scenes which compliment the story. They can be skipped but there seems to be no option to turn them off completely. This cartoon-style is evident from the opening titles where the dramatic views and voiceover that so perfectly introduced the other games has been replaced by cheap graphics and animation.

The one saving grace the game has is the destruction of the environment as you race - it is very well choreographed, detailed and the timing of the destruction varies from race to race (even when you replay the same one) so there is also a certain amount of guesswork in which line to take and when whilst racing.

All in all not a bad racer but not a patch on the earlier incarnations of the series. Speaking of patches, maybe Evolution will add the odd patch here and there to bring this more in line with the original games that have built the reputation of the series up. Although Apocalypse won't do any terminal damage to that reputation, for me it certainly won't add anything to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motorstorm 3: Beyond Thunderdome, 20 April 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
Anyone remember Split/Second from late last year? It would certainly seem Evolution do, as Motorstorm Apocalypse bears more than a few similarities to it's preceding disaster based racer... or at least it WOULD appear that way until you consider that both Split/Second and Motorstorm Apocalypse entered development at the same time, so the similarities are a coincidence. Even with that though, Split/Second still beat MA to the market by a good six months, so really, it's going to be hard NOT to compare and write MA off as a copycat title... though if you did this, you'd be missing out on a genuinely solid, oftimes impressive racer... just don't expect it to blow your mind with new ideas.

Taking the series concept of hardcore, high risk offroad racing to a fantastical extreme, MA sees you as part of a huge group of extreme race fanatics who, in their aircraft carrier(???), arrive in a large city which has recently been all but abandoned following widespread devastation by earthquakes, with a huge quake ready to hit in 2 days that will completely destroy what little is left of the place. Their goal obviously being to race the collapsing metropolis as much as possible before "The Big One" hits. So you take control of rookie racer Mash and work your way through the ranks, all told through a motion comic narrative hook that gives you an odd DMZ meets Mad Max plot showing the relationships among the racers and also setting up different courses and vehicles... I know, a story mode in a racing game, not usually a sign of quality... but what's here is decent enough, serving as good lead in for varied events and even when you complete the story, there are two 'alternate routes' of it to unlock in the form of higher difficulty levels where you control different characters and race in different events. All in all it adds up to a lengthy enough game time on it's own, and this is only one mode among many, with everything you'll have seen in past Motorstorms present and accounted for as well.

The gameplay hasn't changed a whole lot from Pacific Rift, but there have been several tweaks to make the game a lot easier to handle and control (The overly sensitive physics and slippery handling that made the last game so hard are heavily toned down here) but it doesn't fix everything. The courses are still rather confusing to navigate until you get used to their layouts, with poorly signposted turns, physically AND visually obstructive scenery and a few more instant death hazards (eg. cliffs, quake fissures and the like) than I think would really be necessary all contributing to make the game initially quite annoying. Once you get used to the way it works and learn a few course layouts it improves pretty dramatically though, and some of the new 'course deformation' elements are really impressively implemented. Like one instance where when you reach the last lap of one of the city streets courses there is a ramp jump you will have taken several times that you take a little for granted that doesn't really go anywhere, but when taking it near the end the course is hit by an aftershock just as you go airborne and as you descend toward the road, the entire street collapses and you land instead in the sewer tunnels and have to navigate them until you find an exit. All this occurs at pretty breakneck speeds, as MA gives a far greater sense of speed when in motion than the previous two games ever managed. The dynamically altering courses are a bit 'pre-scripted' of course, but it still makes for an interesting mechanic to use to your advantage in races and adds an extra layer of excitement that would otherwise not be there. There is a large variety of vehicles on offer as well, but I found that the light vehicles like ATVs and motorbikes seemed to bounce around far too much on some of the courses, making it near impossible to safely navigate at times. The all too rare Supercar races though... they are just fantastic. This is a solid racer on the whole, but it is far from perfect. None of the issues I encountered were major, but there were a number of them, so keep in mind that while it isn't a difficult game it DOES have a real learning curve to it.

Technically, the game varies from decent to spectacular depending on the race. So while you may be satisfied enough racing along the ruined streets of a suburban area, you will be awed by occasional courses that see you race along a coastal area as a tornado rages in the sea dangerously closeby, throwing out cars and chunks of buildings that smash and destroy the entire course around you as a violent rainstorm batters your vehicle... and another where you have to escape the city as it starts to collapse and you're racing up collapsing skyscrapers and along huge bridges that woblle and shake and rip apart as you try to keep your car steady... it can be a breathtaking spectacle when it wants to be, but for the most part, it's more or less the same looking as Pacific Rift, just with asphalt and debris instead of forests and rivers. The soundtrack is competent if you enjoy the sort of dull, repetitive thudfests that seem to comprise the soundtracks of every racing game ever these days. The "story", while complete nonsense, has some really nice voice acting, which is such an odd thing to encounter in a racing title... a well voiced story.

This may be no classic, but it is a highly enjoyable racer with some really nice implementation of ideas that perhaps aren't as 'fresh' as they would have felt only a year or so ago and there are some real annoyances to be found with the game's accessibility and balance but you will enjoy it... even if you have to work at it a little to get to a point where you will if you're not accustomed to the 'Motorstorm style' of racing. The multiplayer(Both online and off) is very good, which is always a bonus, and there are a lot of good replay incentives for bettering your performances in addition to three seperate story modes of escalating difficulty and the usual plethora of Motorstorm race events. It's a good value package overall, but maybe worth waiting for a price drop on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW 3D totally mental, 8 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
Must first say did not really like the first lot of games but this one is totally mental only if you play it in 3d the graphics are just out of this world everything seems to fly out of the screen and really into you !!!!!
The gme itself is super fast and no blur or cross talk in 3d im running mine on a 46" panasonic viera and i promise you its out of this world a lot better then killzone 3 althoght that is first class in 3d but motor storm the things really do fly out and you have to duck away first class 3d WOW WOW WOW keep em coming on 3d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse isn't quite the Motorstorm I wanted, 11 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
I've played through Monument Valley and Pacific Rift enjoying every minute of it however when it comes to Apocalypse, the Motorstorm feel isn't quite there.

Story:

I've played through approximately 60% of the story in about 2 hours and I'm still questioning the cartoon style that persists throughout. For a start Motorstorm hasn't had a storyline in it's previous locations and I think that went well with the festival experience of true Motorstorm gameplay. But now in Apocalypse you take on three different drivers (Rookie, Pro and Veteran) through a cartoon filled so called 'story' which doesn't let you choose your vehicle or colour to the vehicle. Once your given your vehicle, which there are 13, you start off usually on the move and put into a race which your obviously trying to win. I think when you start racing, it's as fantastic as Motorstorm used to be however once you finish your race your hit with the cartoon cutscene.

Gameplay:

Overall gameplay in Apocalypse is one of the main positives of the game as it offers the exhilarating off road experience that Motorstorm had previously done so but with the addition of the destructive environment. Whilst your trying to finish in the top flight, you've got to look out for falling buildings, raising roads and Apocalypse's ever changing environments that provide some of the best fun in a racing game. With Motorstorm being the best racing franchise on PS3 you'd expect that evolution studios have nailed it after three attempts, in fact they got it right in Monument Valley. But I feel there are some areas of gameplay that they have taken a step back in. One of these problems is the poor animation when you crash which, in previous versions, has been well made but is now just fire and practically no parts of vehicle fly off. Another minor problem is vehicle re spawn, after the driver re spawns into the race they sometimes do it right infront of you so that you crash into the back of them which can be very unfair. Despite these small mishaps the gameplay is fantastic and with added destruction Motorstorm is once again in its own league.

Multiplayer:

I found multiplayer in Monument Valley and Pacific Rift to be simple and not addictive which was a problem because it did mean that i only played festival. However Motorstorm Apocalypse has given its multiplayer a 'COD' like revival with added perks, customisation and betting. You'd think this wouldn't work with a racing game but trust me it has. It gives the game more than just one goal of winning. You now are trying to unlock new vehicle/parts, perks and trying to beat the racer you have betted on. I find betting enjoyably unpredictable as you think betting on a lower level will get you a easy win but some times the underdog shines through. Perks add the unneeded touch to your vehicle which can, as you expect, work in your favour to try and win the race. I found Perks a bit of a waste in Apocalypse but only because i don't think it's realistic to suddenly get more 'grip' for no reason. It's like COD why would you get more stopping power? But still it isn't that game changing as they not that strong in creativity. Customisation is the key to multiplayer. I play it to get more vehicles and parts for use in offline play. I have spent a lot of time making sure my vehicles are looking good and its good fun to try and make it personal.

Vehicles:

Chopper
Superbike
Dirt Bike
ATV
Buggy
Supermini
Rally Car
Super Car
Muscle Car
Racing Truck
Mudplugger
Big Rig
Monster Truck

There are now 13 vehicles which gives you a variety of choice for each race, however this does make it harder to find the ideal vehicle for each track. Still I think it was a great idea to add more vehicles to the line up as it makes the races more variable and offline split screen more fun with friends. My favourite is the Supermini which offers awesome handling and great engine cool down time for boost.

Overall Motorstorm Apocalypse offers some of the fun that persists in Pacific Rift and adds the destruction factor to that however the story is short and its new cartoon style certainly adds unrealism to the game which was originally realistic. 4 Stars.

+Destructive environment
+New Multiplayer Style
+Vehicles/customisation
- Cartoon story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURE MADNESS, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) (Video Game)
I remember unboxing my first PS3 and playing Motorstorm it was crazy as hell, but here we are 2014 and I haven't played apocalypse so I thought I'd buy it second hand considering it's only 6, I received the game pretty quick and the gameplay is just pure madness I love it, it's an earthquake just messing the city up and the building are your road! Vehicle range is great and the gameplay will have you hooked, have order the first game and Pacific Rift as I think Motorstorm is such a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3)
Motorstorm Apocalypse (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
13.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews