Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not necessary, but a great addition to have!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:32 Mins
This is a great add-on to the PlayStation Move controller, it fits perfectly in your hand and it's very comfortable.
It doesn't come with any other accessories or charging leads, so you will need your own cable to charge it up.

Syncing with your PlayStation is so easy, connect it via the mini USB cable which is used by all the...
Published on 17 Sep 2010 by MyKeyReviews

versus
35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent PS3 Add-On; Bad Design By Sony
I have no problem with the performance of this add-on to the PlayStation 3 family, which works as advertised and reliably, but I have issue with Sony's bad design as I shall explain below.

As you may have noticed, all PlayStation controllers can only be charged either through the PlayStation machine itself (which requires switching on the unit for charging) or...
Published on 3 Dec 2011 by Kaio


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not necessary, but a great addition to have!, 17 Sep 2010
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
Length:: 1:32 Mins

This is a great add-on to the PlayStation Move controller, it fits perfectly in your hand and it's very comfortable.
It doesn't come with any other accessories or charging leads, so you will need your own cable to charge it up.

Syncing with your PlayStation is so easy, connect it via the mini USB cable which is used by all the other controllers and hit the "PS" button, that's all to it.

Please note that this isn't actually an item you "NEED" when it comes to Move compatible titles that requires this controller, you can use a normal controller, but I have got to say that it's not that comfortable having a full on controller in the left hand while holding the main PlayStation Move controller in the right.

Overall it's a solid product and it's entirely up to you if you want to fork out around 20 on it, if you can deal with the normal PS3 controller than this isn't something you will need, but if you feel that it will annoy you then I suggest you get this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moved by an Accessory, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
The Navigation Controller is the equivalent of the Wii Nunchuk. That's to say it acts as a navigation device while the Move controller gets on with other things like pointing at the screen.

The controller is similar in design to the Move but stumpier than it's big brother. Unlike the Wii Remote, it has an analogue stick at the thumb position and another trigger in the same format as the main controller. Add a D-Pad and a further X and O button and you have even more choice for the developer.

Do you need it? Well most games on the demo disc don't need it as such, but it certainly helps when you want to move through menus, including the Playstation's XMB menu without using a standard controller as well as the Move. In games such as Resident Evil 5 Move Edition it's essential and I can foresee many FPS/TPS games requiring it in future so it's best to get one. That said, you do have the option of holding the Dual Shock/Sixaxis controller in one hand as a substitute, but I wouldn't recommend that for long gaming sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent PS3 Add-On; Bad Design By Sony, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Kaio (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
I have no problem with the performance of this add-on to the PlayStation 3 family, which works as advertised and reliably, but I have issue with Sony's bad design as I shall explain below.

As you may have noticed, all PlayStation controllers can only be charged either through the PlayStation machine itself (which requires switching on the unit for charging) or by using a special charging unit that you must purchase -- Sony's lock-in idea to make you buy another Sony product (although fortunately there are cheaper non-branded alternatives).

Nowadays a 5V mains charger with mini USB connector, as for PS3 controllers, is ubiquitous and they come with mobile phones, digital cameras, wireless stereo headphones, and many other portable devices. Chances are you may have one sitting idle or shareable with another device for charging.

If you try to charge your PS3 controllers, none of them work with an ordinary 5V mains charger used with other portable devices despite the fact that the DC plug is compatible. The reason is that Sony, in their wisdom of proprietary design have decided for the charging to take place only when the USB data line is active (which doesn't exist nor necessary with mains chargers).

Here are the options if you want to charge a PS3 controller:

1) Power up PlayStation 3 machine with power consumption in tens of watts (depends on model and at least 75W when idle);
2) Power up your laptop or Desktop PC and plug PS3 controller into the USB port as for PlayStation, and again unnecessary power consumption as for PS3 if not much more for desktop PC. The laptop or PC thinks a device is attached and activates the data line in effect doing what Sony intended;
3) By a special charger unit that emulates Sony's peculiar charging condition (same as the 5V mains charger but activate the data line on the power connector pin - which is unnecessary to start with).

Sony did not only make it impossible to use ordinary chargers that only consumes a watt or two for charging PS3 controllers, the Sony way is environmentally unfriendly and inconsistent with the current trend when we are becoming increasingly conscious of the cost of energy and the environment.

Forgive the rant but hope you'd appreciate the point as valid and useful product feedback by customers.
I also hope Sony takes notice of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality, great tech, 20 Sep 2010
By 
J. Mower "digginjim" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
Just a short review - the nav controller is not quite an essential purchase yet - but will be when SOCOM 4 and Killzone 3 arrive. having purchased on launch to test with Resident Evil 5 I can say that it works! Quite simply Sony don't do badly made controllers and the nav is no exception. Its well built, responsive and feels comfortable in the hand - shame the controls for RE5 haven't been mapped in a very logical way! Nevertheless one to invest in for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have only if you play specific titles, 2 Jun 2012
By 
S (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
This is the optional other half of the move controller and contains all the buttons you need to play move fps games such as Killzone, Goldeneye and Resistance 3. It's a must have if you play this sort of FPS but otherwise is purely optional. It replaces using the dualshock 3 controller one handed which is clunky and unergonimic. It's a bit cheeky of Sony to not include one in the starter pack, but the controller is good quality and it's worth having one for every move controller in the house.

It's especially useful if you use the Move Sharpshooter attachment that lets you get the most out of your move/nav/ ps eye combo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Simon Locker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
Very good quality product. It sits very vell in your hand, and all the buttons is easy accessible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not got much use for it yet, 21 Sep 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
So this controller is in addition to the Move controller for navigating I personally dont have any games or demos that make use of this but it will probably be used more when bigger games like Socom and Killzone come out.
However I have found a use for this controller and is handy for using when just watching tv with play TV.
Nice and light and fits comfortably in the hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely essential but useful, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
Most PlayStation Move compatible games can be operated with the Move Controller alone but a few require the use of buttons not featured on that controller (L1 and the thumb stick are essential for Resident Evil 5) and if you find holding the Move controller in one and and the ordinary controller in the other impossible (as I do) then the Navigation controller is a must. With each in your hands it feels a lot like the "nun-chuck" controller that made the Wii so innovative a few years back. PlayStation Move was barely supported by Sony and there are very few games that will require this device. It's an expensive purchase if you can't manipulate the ordinary controller with your left hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much easier that a dual shock controller, 22 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
i have used this now with sorcery and killzone 3(in a sharpshooter) and it works well, is very comfortable to hold left handed (for sorcery ) and i have been impressed with the battery life with it lasting somewhere around the 10hour mark. Not much more to say other than it does its job well and i would say it is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haven't used it., 2 Dec 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3) (Accessory)
Bought this as I thought it would be essential for a lot of games. Turns out it isn't. Still haven't used it and I have a variety of games. Maybe when a first person shooter game comes out I can use it and get the full effect.

Shipped quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PlayStation 3 Move Navigation Controller (PS3)
12.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews