Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out co-op game - Offline Co-op included
First off, this game is not without flaws and to be quite frank doesn't compare up to many current releases with regards to overall quality.
Despite this, I actually find this game to be fun to play, which is the most important factor.
So while to attention to detail, game engine and graphics are behind, the gameplay is not.
The voice acting is mostly good...
Published on 3 Jun. 2011 by Blitzwing85

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hunted The Demons Forge
Hunted is a curious beast, it provides a strange mix of traditional fantasy RPG and first person shooter style action. While it is enjoyable to play I found there is room for improvement.

Hunted The Demons Forge as I understand it is the latest part of a series but I have to admit that I have not played any earlier incarnation. The game follows the adventures...
Published on 4 Jun. 2011 by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hunted The Demons Forge, 4 Jun. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
Hunted is a curious beast, it provides a strange mix of traditional fantasy RPG and first person shooter style action. While it is enjoyable to play I found there is room for improvement.

Hunted The Demons Forge as I understand it is the latest part of a series but I have to admit that I have not played any earlier incarnation. The game follows the adventures of two mercenary type heroes, Caddoc a tough male warrior type, and E'lara a sassy female elf archer. You can choose to play either of these characters and can swap between them at certain checkpoints in the game. Whichever character you choose the other will carry on with you as an NPC. Under the control of the AI the NPC hero will follow you around and join in the fighting but is of limited intelligence. If you play as E'lara you will often have to lead while exploring only to run back behind Caddoc to use your bow.

Hunted does allow you to play two player co-op either online or via LAN, a mode which promises to be the most entertaining in the long term. However the two player hotseat mode, using split screen, is next to useless. Part of the screen is taken up by an unnecessary border making the picture so small it is impossible to see what you are doing, especially when using a bow.

The graphics in the game are very dark and grainy. This is obviously a deliberate choice in style but I was not particularly impressed. There are times when the quality of the graphics makes it hard to make out treasures and clues as you wander around. Monsters are also difficult to spot sometimes when firing from range, and may be obscured by background details. Caddoc and E'lara as you might imagine are the most detailed characters, wearing all leather and strapping they match the dark gothic mood of the game admirably. Their movement is not particularly naturalistic though, and the third person view from behind the right shoulder sometimes makes it difficult to see where you are going. Where the game does excel is the use of lighting and when you get to see flames or magic lighting an otherwise pitch black dungeon it really is impressive. Both characters have the option to light their weapons from braziers to use as a torch for short durations, a unique and very useful feature. E'lara can also use this to fire flaming arrows to set fire to things, which she seems to enjoy.

The game follows a very linear story but one which is well written and quite involving. Much of the game involves exploration of various dungeons and some effort has been made to make these dungeons as varied as possible. There are many hidden rooms and passages that can be discovered, although the main route through the dungeon is decided for you by a "spirit guide". This shows you which way to go if you ever get lost, and its clear that most dungeons allow little freedom of movement to explore. There are however many riddles and other puzzles to be found in the dungeons and these offer a nice variation from the combat.

As you explore Caddoc and E'lara do a nice line in banter. Obviously they are very close but they argue and snipe at each other with some very witty dialogue. Some of this is quite funny to listen to and the characters in general are quite likeable, being mercenary rogues rather than out and out heroes. By the way I'm not sure whether the name E'lara is supposed to an in joke as her voice certainly sounds like another well known Lara. The voice acting is of reasonable quality ( E'lara is much better acted than Caddoc ) although some of the NPC's you meet could do with some acting lessons. When you do meet an NPC there are no dialogue options and its just a matter of sitting back and listening to what they have to say. In some cases you can use magic to speak to the dead and they might give you clues and other information to help your quest. Unfortunately a lot of the background detail is wasted in what is essentially an action game. There was something about being in the land of Dyfed, which I am sure is in Wales, but really there is not enough to make me care about the background to the world.

The main part of the game as you might expect is the combat. Both characters have the option of melee or ranged weapons, although each specialises in one or the other. Melee is simply a matter of mixing light or heavy attacks with some well timed shield blocks, and is similar to a lot of other games. Ranged combat is slightly more interesting and feels a lot like a first person shooter, only you are using a bow rather than an M16. You have crosshairs to aim at a target and can even zoom in ( somehow ) for more accurate shooting. Although I like the sound effects of the arrows there is something surreal and unrealistic in the way E'lara fires. She draws and knocks arrows so fast you can't really see it and the difference between bows comes only in the time it takes to aim. Just like a lot of first person shooters you can duck behind walls and pop up from cover to fire at approaching enemies. With the faster bows this is almost semi-automatic, you fire as fast as you can press the button ( anyone remember the film "Hawk The Slayer" ?). As you start only able to carry 100 arrows at a time this burns up your ammunition very quickly, although there are often lots of arrows around that the monsters have dropped.

Treasure seems to depend on which character you are controlling, as when you search a weapons rack you will only find items that your current character can use. Weapons and shields are the main drops, and its useful to see it compare on screen the stats of your currently equipped items with anything new you find. Potions are another fantasy standard, as well as regen vials that allow you to revive your partner. One annoying feature is that sometimes the game moves to a cut scene straight after a fight and before you have a chance to pick up the loot you are moved forward into another location. All that lovely loot going to waste, shocking...

As you explore you pick up crystals which you can use to upgrade your characters abilities. There are two types of magic in the game - weapon enhancing magic and direct combat spells. Unfortunately there is a very limited amount of choice and I imagine by the end of the game ( I havn't got there yet ) you will probably have learned them all. Weapon magic gives you some extra moves you can use in combat and the more direct spells are things like fireball which you can use to blast your opponents. One problem with the direct magic though is that casting a spell like fireball involves putting your weapons away so you have to remember to re-equip them afterwards.

Another type of treasure you can find is gold, which doesn't allow you to buy equipment as you might expect. Instead you can use the gold to unlock special features in the game. This includes the ability to create your own dungeons ! This is one of the hidden gems of the game and one which gives it a lot of replayability. Even from the start there are a lot of ready made maps to try out, other maps you can download, as well as the ones you can create yourself. This is all seperate from the main campaign game, although you are still restricted to playing the two main characters. This added feature opens a whole new dimension to the game, allowing players to compete online or against their own score. At best this could be like a fantasy version of Little Big Planet, but whether it takes off remains to be seen.

Despite a lot of minor flaws this is still a fun and enjoyable game to play with a lot of unique features. It is another example of a dark fantasy world that does very well in creating an oppressive and haunting atmosphere. While the main characters look nice I do think the graphics could have been better ( or at least clearer ) although the style may just be a matter of taste. What I would like to have seen is more freedom in exploration and character development, which would have made it more of an RPG. Its certainly worth buying though if you want to see what a dungeon looks like from an adventurers point of view as the combat really does feel up close and personal. Being attacked by demons in the dark once your torch goes out is certainly an experience to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out co-op game - Offline Co-op included, 3 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
First off, this game is not without flaws and to be quite frank doesn't compare up to many current releases with regards to overall quality.
Despite this, I actually find this game to be fun to play, which is the most important factor.
So while to attention to detail, game engine and graphics are behind, the gameplay is not.
The voice acting is mostly good though

Me and my partner began playing this together and I have to admit after 1-2 hours I was considering whether i could ever get into this game. But then the game really started to come alive. You really need to give it until you get some good abilities and the enemies and environments begin to vary more. Also, if playing on splitscreen it could be worth going into options and turning the brightness up fully.

My main forcus is on the splitscreen mode as this is the ONLY mode i was interested in. And I can confirm that what i consider the most important factor in a splitscrene game (teamwork) is very much required. This can be challenging when you have no abilities hence the point i mentioned earlier. Once you unlock these, the teamwork element comes alive and we have been having great fun working together to fight our way through the levels and bosses.

I find the game to be fairly challenging, but more so that it punishes you for being rash as opposed to being just generally hard.
If you take your time and work together it's not so bad but you can easily get cornered and killed.
Playing as the male seems to have taken aspects from Demon's Souls in that you must block>attack>block>attack to survive although it's not as brutal as the former. (my favorite next gen game which i platinumed)
Playing as the female is like a Third Person Shooter game. You can aim in First Person mode too although for close combat having aim assist on and simply pressing fire from Third Person mode is easier.

My partner has been playing as female and she is certainly not an avid gamer. (having only ever truly enjoyed tomb raider, resident evil and age of empires). She's never played an RPG but she's finding the combat system easy enough and the abilities system simple enough to get used to.

My overall opinion is that if you want a brilliant looking action/rpg with a deep levelling system then Hunted is not for you.
In my view, this seems like it's designed for those action/rpg fans who have family, partners or friends not otherwise into the genre who they wish to play with.
And for this, i rate the game very highly as it does exactly what i wanted it to do.

I can see where many of the negative comments are coming from but i feel a lot of them are unjustified. If you are looking for a solid, but not amazing action/rpg with some well thought out co-op gameplay elements which is kept on a more casual level for new players but challenging enough on harder difficulties for advanced players then this shouldn't really dissapoint.

Give it at least 2-3 hours before making your call though as i found my interest went up a lot after that.

Lastly, 1 notable annoyance i have found is that the game does NOT save your splitscreen progress. You must complete a 'section' (6 per chapter) if you wish to continue your game in co-op mode from where you left off.
We turned it off halfway through Secion 1.3 and when you 'resume' game it starts in single player mode!! The only way to continue playing splitscreen is to go to chapter select.
You know you're at a new section when you get the chance to upgrade abilities AND switch characters with the purple orb thing.
Annoying, but Sections are not massively long so it's not a major concern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels unfinished, 25 July 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
Good concept, cool cinematics and (some) well designed characters. But overall the game feels clunky and unfinished, and he story is hardly entertaining (it jumps straight into the action without any background on the main characters).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent but tough, 20 May 2014
By 
Ricky Berry (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
not an easy game to work out and lack of save points is very frustating, but quite fun to play as 2 players and when you get past a mission, you feel like you've achieved something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent title, 5 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
i was wary of purchasing this game as i only play single player and wondered how the a.i. would be,so i decided to rent the game thinking an hours play and it would be back in the shop,was i wrong,never had so much fun on a game for a long time,the a.i. is perfect and i am really enjoying this,so will be back to the shop to purchase a copy,excellent game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only hellacious when played with a mate, 26 July 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
Forget indulging in the odd Celine Dion song. On the embarrassed-to-be-caught-enjoying-it spectrum, this is more in the 'biting into a block of cheddar cheese wearing your sister's wedding dress and singing the theme tune from Sesame Street' region. It's never great - there's enough technical shoddiness to see that - but there are moments when you forget the hideous textures and mockney voice acting and find yourself actually getting invested. And then quickly looking around to make sure no one noticed.

What Hunted really wants to be is Uncharted Of The Rings. It's a third-person cover shooter/brawler (depending on which character you pick), but with bows instead of guns and trolls instead of terrorists. It's also roadkill ugly with terrible dialogue, but let's gloss over that for now. You play as treasure-hunting duo Caddoc and E'lara, roped into rescuing the mayor's daughter in exchange for a wheelbarrow full of gold. Which, rather than just putting her picture up in the local Post Office, means travelling through towns and dungeons and ruins (so many ruins), battling all manner of mythical nasties.

How you end up splitting their slimy heads open depends on which of the pair you're playing as. Caddoc, all deltoids and broadswords, prefers the 'wade in and whack it' approach, while E'lara (who'd look more at home in a Soho dungeon) keeps her distance with the longbow. Both characters are genuinely fun to use, and you will use both - initially at least, because throughout the game (at what look like glowing bird baths) you're able to swap between the two with a tap of O. I ended up plumping for E'lara long term, as the solid cover shooting is a bit more engaging that the slightly button-mashy melee combat, but it's just personal preference.

And if you do find someone who is the sword-swinging yin to your bow-twanging yang you're in luck, because Hunted's main selling point is co-op. The whole campaign is playable with a buddy by your side and, predictably enough, it does enhance the experience. You can revive each other with vials when one falls, and also 'battle charge' your partner using the game's spell system. If you're questing solo, the AI will fill in, but it can't quite replicate the human capacity for assistance, charity and not getting stuck on scenery. A word of advice, though: do not play split-screen. If you do, the already sub-par graphics drop straight off a cliff into point-and-laugh territory.

Hunted has too many problems to score highly - not just the graphics but glitching, repetitiveness and the woeful 'banter' between the lead characters. However, learn a lesson from any teen romcom and look beneath the surface, and there's something here. It's a shameful and hybrid beast, but it's one you just might want to tame anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
its on rails but a good game still :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So boring it's unreal, 13 Sept. 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
"sigh"
I bought this game and was told it's like a "sword and bow" type CALL OF DUTY. WRONG!!!

I played it once, covered in glitches, kept crashing all the time. The characters are dull and boring, nothing interesting about either of them.
I could tolerate the woman, she wasn't bad but my god she wasn't good.
The male character....no words can describe how boring he is, useless moveset, his crossbow is dull and his personality is so generic!
The story isn't interesting, the gameplay is boring and the graphics are mediocre.

Anyone who wants to play a game where the levels are slow, long, boring, uninteresting and carries on crashing, this is the perfect game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
Good dungeon crawler Game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even after completion, I have no idea what the name is supposed to mean, 16 Jun. 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) (Video Game)
Pedestrian. Completely and utterly pedestrian. That's the only way I can think of to describe this game. It isn't bad in any REAL way, but everything about it feels so by-the-numbers and unexciting that I had trouble maintaining my interest as I progressed through.

The story, such as it is, focuses on a couple of mercenaries, hulking man-brute Caddoc and scantily clad elf woman Elara, who are approached by Lucy Lawless and hired to find her father, who is leader of a village currently under siege by orc type monsters who are addicted to a silver liquid that is essentially magic steroids that is being peddled to them by some legendary mercenary who is now apparently spending his time pretending he is Shao Khan. So it goes that Caddoc and Elara have to fight their way through an army of drug addicted orcs, minotaurs, Skellingtons, undead and all that jazz as their quest becomes a drawn out journey through war ravaged lands in search of their target, unaware events are only going to get more and more complicated as they go. The story isn't up to much, and I guess it could be said it doesn't need to be for this type of game, but even so this is still painfully average stuff.

Hunted is both a room clearing hack and slash title and a third person shooter shooting gallery fest, with Elara being a long range fighter who uses a bow and Caddoc using a variety of maces and axes and such for close range combat and rather than letting you switch between them at will to control, as any sensible game design would allow, the game only lets you choose which character you control at infrequent, preset checkpoints set throughout each level and while playing as either character does provide a very different kind of game, I'm sad to say that that isn't such a good thing. Elara plays like some sort of medieval Gears of War knock off, right down to the awkward cover system AI that sees Caddoc constantly running in front of your crosshairs. Their are a lot of different bows to find and use through the game, but primarily their are only three real types with varying damage levels: rapid firing weak shots, balanced medium shots and slow firing power shots that allow you to zoom and snipe at enemies. It's the most basic of linearly designed hide and shoot gaming whereas Caddoc plays more like the clumsy melee system of a Western RPG, with only the same couple of moves/combos on offer throughout and button bashing aplenty on the menu. It's two deeply average games for the price of one you might say, an unimaginitive chimera of lazy ideas and design that, while functioning competently enough and certainly being playable, is just so repetitive and dull that the whole thing gets to feel like a chore very quickly. There is full co-op support both online and offline here, but it didn't seem to improve the experience any for me. A bit more in the way of co-operative puzzles or strategy may have helped this. I mean, I'm not expecting a Portal 2 level co-op experience or anything, but a Resident Evil 5 level one at least would have been nice.

The game's visuals are average, with some nice detail in places, but mostly nothing special. The performance is at least solid enough. Same goes for the sound, some decent music, but phoned in voice acting.

Can't really say much else to be honest. Hunted is a functional hack and slash cum third person shooter title that is so lacking in any real ambition, creativity or even originality that I stopped to wonder why I was bothering to persevere with it on more than one occasion. Nothing here is genuinely bad in any real sense, but if it isn't any good in any real sense either, then in a way that's actually worse than if the game had been a straight up steamer... there would at least have been a kind of unsung dignity to it if it had been. What you have here is a game that is mediocre, nothing more, nothing less, and while it will possibly please some with it's undemanding nature and reasonable levels of playability I dare say most will find just how vanilla and unengaging it is to be very offputting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3)
Hunted: The Demon's Forge (PS3) by Bethesda (PlayStation 3)
£4.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews