Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless
***No Spoilers Here***

First things first, I must warn you. The reward for the challenge tower sucks, and I mean it really sucks, considering how much effort it will take you to complete them all, it really isn't worth it. So bare in mind that completing it should just be for fun, not the 'great reward' that we were promised, because it isn't. Also, you don't...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Alex

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Terrible all mixed together
This game is so great. I'll always be a fan of Mortal Kombat, and so will most gamers who were born in the 80's and 90's. All the characters we love are here, from Scorpion to Liu Kang to Nightwolf. But really, this game only re-tells the stories from MK1, 2 and 3.

Now luckily for me, I got this at a discount price of £10, but to anyone who paid full whack...
Published 12 months ago by D.Eades


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 28 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
***No Spoilers Here***

First things first, I must warn you. The reward for the challenge tower sucks, and I mean it really sucks, considering how much effort it will take you to complete them all, it really isn't worth it. So bare in mind that completing it should just be for fun, not the 'great reward' that we were promised, because it isn't. Also, you don't have to complete them all to get it, if you skip them all (or the ones you can't do) it will give it to you, minus the achievement, but you will get a secret one. (I've managed 297/300, the 300th is insane. And oddly, the four before it are easier than the first challenge (or near enough)

This is MK at its best, its what all of us MK fans, and beat em'up fans have been waiting for.

They have gone back to the games roots, a 2d fgihting plain making every move effective, unlike previous titles.

There are 3 areas to look at

1) Arcade Ladder- This is the basic arcade mode, defeat 10 opponents and you win the tournament and get a video. This mode is the same as it has always been. There is one bonus which MK fans will love, and that is the difficulty settings actually vary hugely. On begginer, Shao Kahn is as harmless as a puppy, on hard... Forget about it.

2) Story mode- This is awesome, the most in depth story ever in a fighting game. The best bit? You only do proper fights, none of this run around with 2 punches and kicks rubbish. It pretty much re-tells the story from MK1-MK3 with very minor changes. It poses some hard tasks such as taking on two boss characters by your self, up to defeating Shao Kahn himself, all of which are amazing.

3) The challenge tower- this is fairly easy up to the 200th challenge mark, where it becomes insane. There are old challenges like test your might/sight aswell as strike and luck. Test your luck is a randomly generated game from a slot machine. For example, it chooses first your opponent, then up to four random abilities, such as armless, headless, dark, rainbow, vampire, boosted strength/ health and many others, sometimes it will benefit you, sometimes it will make it imposible. Not having arms or your head can make it very difficult when you only have kick moves. This will take you roughly 10 hours alone, depending on your skill.

There is only one criticism I have of this game, and that is that some fighters are not very well balanced.
For example, Lui Kang has two easy combos, XXX and AAB, the trouble is, he has an attack for foward X and forward A which means you can't be moving forwards to do them, which can mean your opponent can open up some distance and you will miss, leaving you open. And Johnny Cage's X-Ray move is a Parry, and they have to hit you or it won't work. And some characters X-Rays have to be activated right on your opponent and others go the whole length of the screen. This sucks, but you get used to it.

All in all a very solid game, not just one of the best fighting games this year, but a definite contender for best game of 2011

P.S. from the ending its very clear that there is going to be a follow up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MK Review - Don't buy it for Xbox360, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Pedro Araķjo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Game is pretty cool. Story mode is entertaining, I'd say about 10h. Finished it in 2 days. Storyline is interesting(MK-wise).
AI's a bit annoying, their method of a sure-win involves using the same move over and over again, especially with Shao Kahn.
Which leads me to my point - if you have a choice, don't buy the game for the Xbox360.
The Xbox360 controller just wasn't made for Fighting Games, and it'll wreck your analogs pretty easily. I've had my slim-controller for a couple of months now and it's always worked nicely. 3 days with MK and the left analog is constantly tilting to the right, ruinning most combos in-game. And I'm not that much of a 'rager'. But the really annoying thing is the d-pad. It's badly built for fighting games and many times you'll find your combo broken by the diagonal keys in the d-pad as you move your thumb across positions.

If you don't believe me just check the other reviews online for the Xbox360 Controller, same thing happened with Street Fighter, which prompted them to release a special controller(for hardcore gamers, but still). Also, I'm not sure this game is worth buying a special controller just for playing it(like one of those £20 madcatz ones).

Still overall it's a fun game to play with friends. But really, if you can, buy it for the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody awesome (literally), 25 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not too good at writing reviews so I'll just say that mortal kombat is by far the best beat'em up ever! Sounds a bit exaggerated but it's true. So much fun to be had with all the combos and x-ray style knockout moves. S
It's refreshing to see mortal kombat back to its former glory with added polish and fluidity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mortal Kombat xbox, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Lorcan Mccready "Lorcan" (Athlone,Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Present for my young fellow for his birthday - wont mention his age given the recommendation on the box ! Very good game with excellent graphics. Had this on my old PS2 - needless to say this is a world apart on the X box with far better graphics and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fighting game, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the return of a classic.
A nostalgic game with most of the characters from the first games, with renewed gameplay and plenty of content.
A must for MK fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Terrible all mixed together, 2 July 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is so great. I'll always be a fan of Mortal Kombat, and so will most gamers who were born in the 80's and 90's. All the characters we love are here, from Scorpion to Liu Kang to Nightwolf. But really, this game only re-tells the stories from MK1, 2 and 3.

Now luckily for me, I got this at a discount price of £10, but to anyone who paid full whack then I'm sure they'll be muttering RIP OFF under their breaths. If it's the same story and game as the original, then surely market it as a 're-mastered edition' or something! Maybe it's my fault for being naÔve but just be warned. There are some new things to be glad of though, like tag team mode (Which by the way is awesome) and King of the Hill mode, and plenty of dlc characters!

The story however, was a let down. You'll be constantly put into repetitive fights, so the game gets boring after chapter 3. Also, some of them are just plain unfair like 2 vs 1. They say it's supposed to be hard, but really its just laziness on the developers part. All the missile attacks are basically the same thing just a different animation. Then you spend about 10 hours doing the story (Yes it is that short) and get to the end ( BIG OLD SPOILER ) where Raiden fights Shao Kahn. Now, I like challenging games, I played this title on expert straight off the bat but when you fight Shao Kahn for the 3rd time he's just broken. Massively overpowered, immune to grabs, has block busting attacks and Raiden is just...Raiden. Supposedly a Thunder God, but really he is as weak as a dormouse. Don't get me wrong you will eventually beat Shao Kahn, but by that point the fun of the game will have been well and truly sucked out of it.

But, if you can pick it up for less than £12 then do so. You will still love it, just as I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
im a MK fan. and def not disapointed with this game! lots to do and hours of gameplay to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best mortal kombat ever, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like this kind of game and I think this Mortal Kombat is the best.
The fighting is very spectacular and the new Fatalitys are awesome.
I advise this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Crazy action with a more or less coherent story mode and a good bunch of characters. Good for both veterans or the series and new comers. It could have used more unlockable characters and varied stages but is worth giving a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
yh good game but u mostly have to go online to get the achievements but its good mortal kombat game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360)
Mortal Kombat (Xbox 360) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Xbox 360)
£13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews