Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun and educational
I bought this game for my 10 year old son who loves his DS, but is not so keen on literacy. It was a bit of a gamble, because in the past if he has considered a game "educational" this has put him off it from the outset.
He has not put this game down and absolutely loves it. He needs to use his imagination, problem solve, spell and think of lots of different synonyms...
Published on 10 Jan. 2011 by Rachel

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A little bit boring
I bought this game after playing Scribblenauts Unlimited. I was actually really disappointed with the game and found it far to easy, repetitive and a bit boring. This game might be better if it was not on the DS however as I have found that with previous games which have had to be simplified to suit the format of the DS. In saying this the game might be fun for a younger...
Published 19 months ago by Layla


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!!!!, 25 Mar. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
my little girl loves this game, spends ages on it but says its not too easy, def worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant little game, 30 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
We took this game on holiday and it occupied my child on the journey and on-and-off throughout the holiday. I played along a few times and it's a challenge at first until you get the gist of the game. Some of the puzzles were a challenge and there's a bit of lateral thinking involved here. Once you get the hang of it, it gets a bit addictive. In the end, the whole family was involved. There is a good choice of themes (from cowboys & indians, pirates, astronauts, dinosaurs, princesses, eskimos, sports and all manner of animals - some, of which, were very appealing), so most players will find something to interest them. My child (10) has dyslexia, and this game has a kind of spell-checker that provides options (& some very brief explanations of some words) so the player can choose the correct word. Dyslexia is no barrier to enjoying this game and it is suitable for some younger children as well if you play along with them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 April 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "jam.mail" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought this for my 8 year old daughter, and it's a complete hit! She gets really absorbed in trying to solve the clues, and it often becomes a family affair trying to think laterally about things like opposing adjectives (ugly/cute) and lots of different words for "monster". It really gets the brain working, but you soon get the reward in the form of earning a starite. This then releases another bit of the game to play.

My daughter says that once you get started it gets harder as you go along - great for keeping the interest. She's also got to think about her letter formation as one way of inputting your words is by using the stylus to write them - if you're not careful you end up with some very odd words, and need to correct the spelling.

Great value for money. Hours of interest. I'd definitely buy it knowing what I know now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 4 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game really was a surprise at how much you could actually do. You can seriously type anything and it will come up with any describing words up to 10 word I think. So giant rideable metal unbeatable edible paranoid invisible legless headless dragon. And voilà it appears for your fun. This also means using anything from equipping a metal unbeatable orange dagger to jumping on a pair of rocket propelled skis. There is really endless fun you can have with this game so don't hesitate to buy. Oh, and you can build custom stages to mess around in aswell which is alot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
An excellent game, say goodbye to the rubbish controls from the original because you can now control it with the D-Pad, also there is a new feature, adjectives and unless you are some sort of genius you can be assured it will know what your talking about, unless it is rude or related to copyright and alcohol, but this is pretty much aimed at kids, although adults will enjoy it to. The story mode makes it good, but it's the free play that makes it so good, and write anything you can imagine, because you really haven't unlocked the full potential until you have made a rainbow lion battle a scared llama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best non-Pokemon game on the DS, 16 Feb. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Being a massive fan of the original Scribblenauts, this was always going to be a guaranteed purchase for me (mainly because you can pick it up dirt cheap almost anywhere). I wholeheartedly recommend this game for anyone with a DS, DSLite, DSi, DSiXL, 3DS, 3DSXL or the future 3DSiSPXL.

Can't really think of what else to say on this one to be honest - basically it's a cracking game, essentially similar to Scibblenauts, but with the rubbish stylus control method gone, all the awkward impossible "action" levels scrapped and replaced with a much cleaner, well presented hub. Plus, you can now use adjectives to alter your creations! So instead of a dragon, you can have a giant pink hungry zombie dragon. In the words of a well-known toy manufacturer - "Oh, the possibilities!"

It's probably the only DS game I have totally rinsed so that there is literally no further unlockables, every level is completed with a gold star and I have a ridiculous amount of obsolete starites (the in-game currency) with nothing left to purchase! If you haven't played the original, buy this game on the cheap, see how amazing it is when you can conjure up any item you can think of and laugh your head off when you're riding a flying giant friendly purple lion and busting caps in asses of scared tiny dying puppies. I'm a b******, I really am.

Oh, and if you have played the original then you will absolutely love this - every improvement you wanted, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scribblenauts, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Margaret White "book eagle" (Lanarkshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Bought this for my 16 year old daughter's Christmas and she has had her nose buried in it at every opportunity since.
Some of the questions seem quite challenging and it is really keeping the brain active.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Scribblenauts, 7 Feb. 2011
By 
Bernard Black (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
In short, this game is AMAZING! Who doesn't find creating a "giant rideable flying orange baby" funny? Single player is quite easy and is clearly aimed at a younger audience. Thankfully the creation and playground modes cater for all ages and the game gets 5 stars just for that! Funniest game I have played in a long time and suitable for all ages! It really is amazing how many words they have included here, don't be fooled by the childish appearences, this is a quality game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original game format, 24 Mar. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Super Scribblenauts is an updated version of Scribblenauts. The basic idea is that you solve increasingly complex puzzles by writing what you need to help you. It could be as simple as a way to reach a platform high above your head (think fairy wings, a jet pack or even a teleporter) or as challenging as creating a creature that has the characteristics of 4 other creatures in boxes around it (think giant, metallic, furry mouse). Although the dictionary is very Americanised, there is still a lot you can do as an English user. There were a few things it doesn't seem to recognise (exhaust being one that frustrated me greatly!) but if you are creative enough you can find ways around it. It didn't take me long to complete and the replay value is limited - if you've completed it once, you know what's coming and the novelty has gone. That said, it is still an enjoyable and original game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daughters favourite game...and a bargain!, 26 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got my 10 yr daughter her first DS - a 3DS - for Christmas. I bought her Lets draw and the 3D Nintendogs & cats ...(I know you shouldn't look - together I paid £25 more than they are currently for sale!) -and a few preowned games (My Sims, My Sims animals -she likes my Sims animals africa on the Wii).
On the discount day (Black friday?) this popped up at £6.99 - cheaper than preowned with good reviews and so I bought it as an 'extra'....and I am so glad I did!
It is far and away her favourite....
The first game she played was Nintendogs - for about 30 mins - and then Lets draw for another 30 mins - same for My Sims animals - she said all 3 were boring...
then she played with My Sims which she liked....and finally out of boredom she tried Superscribblenauts...and now I am struggling to drag her away from it ...
She is good at English and enjoys reading anyway...but the thing she loves most is the craziness of it -(I'm riding on a rainbow coloured monkey - now with wings -so it can fly ....) - if it is educational she doesn't realise it!
Maybe if I hadn't got it she would have been forced to play the other games more ..but at less than the price of preowned games it is an absolute bargain...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS)
Super Scribblenauts (Nintendo DS) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Nintendo DS)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews