Customer Reviews


255 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very under rated
i think the problem many people had with this game is that they were mistaken about what the game was like, maybe expecting
more of a GTA kinda game. i remember looking forward to the release of this for ages and when i finally got it i wasn't disappointed. the story is great (topped off with a dramatic finale) and exploring crime scenes, hunting for clues and...
Published on 10 July 2012 by JoyOrbison

versus
43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasted Potential.
To start with this review, I need to state that the lower than average score isn't down to me wanting this to be a GTA game. In fact, the whole reason I bough this game is because of press waxing lyrical over how it breathed new life into the adventure genre. While L.A. Noire does have it's fun and interesting moments, it often feels like the game is holding you at arms...
Published on 24 Jun 2011 by Rick


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very under rated, 10 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
i think the problem many people had with this game is that they were mistaken about what the game was like, maybe expecting
more of a GTA kinda game. i remember looking forward to the release of this for ages and when i finally got it i wasn't disappointed. the story is great (topped off with a dramatic finale) and exploring crime scenes, hunting for clues and piecing together the mystery is a great change from the usual games that are thrown at us. You start at the bottom of the PD on patrol and work your way through traffic, vice, arson and homicide. there are many different crimes to solve and an over arcing story that feels like you're playing out a movie. a lot has been said about the facial recognition technology and while it is usually easy to see if a suspect is lying it still adds to the realism and gets you invested in the story. overall this is one of my fav games of all time and a must have for any gamers collection. i really hope they make a sequel to this and after seeing the ending it will be interesting to see which direction they go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LA Noire or LA Bore?, 15 July 2011
By 
G. Wheeler "Media Critic" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
LA Noire is the newest game from Rockstar who have an uncanny ability to turn games into gold after working their magic. Red Dead Redemption was a fantastic game and Grand Theft Auto speaks for itself in terms of quality. So after working seven years on LA Noire, the company obviously had a lot to live up to. So does LA Noire deliver? Well it does and it doesn't.

Set in the late 1940s and following war hero/LAPD star Cole Phelps after the war, the game plays out like a typical detective story as Cole works his way up the ranks in the police force. Starting at the very bottom, the feeling of progression is felt throughout with more complicated cases coming to the table as you progress through the four different areas of traffic, homicide, vice and arson.

Right from the off its clear that LA Noire is unlike any other game out there. The facial detail is astonishing and is clear to see even from the opening credits. The setting of LA is brilliantly realized and the detail put into the area and the buildings is excellent. The feeling of being pulled into the time and the crazy goings on is really felt here but never truly explored fully. What I mean by that is the one big downside to LA Noire.

The game is strictly linear and although there is opportunity to go off and explore, do street crimes (more on that later) and collect things the nagging feeling that you're supposed to be doing the cases is always felt. There's never a moment away from a case and the only deviation is when you're supposed to travel between crime scenes etc. and you venture off and explore. This is a real drawback as you can't fully get immersed into the world like other Rockstar games and I think personally the game could have been made less linear.

The cases themselves are excellent though and form the main bulk of the game. Every case is handled to perfection with a crime scene always the starting point and then as clues are found by wandering around the crime scene and pressing X, more locations and suspects are discovered. Being thorough is the key to this game and unlike other games not paying attention to the cut-scenes can actually hinder your experience.

The interviews in particular really boast the facial detail put into this game and you'll find yourself staring intently at the screen during the interviews to find the slightest little twitch or eye rolling to try and suss out a lie. Interviews are handled via three buttons to press. Triangle for a lie where you can pin hard evidence against what a person is saying that doesn't quite add up, X for the truth and Square for a doubt. This sounds simple enough but as the game gets going it becomes very difficult and really does challenge you.

The game is made slightly easier by the inclusion of some goodies including 'Intuition Points'. These can be gained by going up a rank and gaining experience points via finding landmarks around the city, finding collectables, finishing street crimes or getting questions right in interviews. These 'Intuition Points' can then be saved up and used during crucial interview sessions to Ask the Community what they did via a percentage marker or removing one answer so its a 50/50 gamble. It's an excellent system and one that is well implemented.

The action is well spaced out and although Rockstar have been given a lot of stick for the lack of action by fans, its not an action game after all and I personally found the different emphasis refreshing and something a bit different and this needs to be addressed as its the one thing that many people have complained about in the game. It's a detective game at heart and the action comes second as it should do in a game like this.

The biggest problem with LA Noire, as seems to be the case with many Rockstar games, is the ending. Without spoiling too much, I found it to almost ruin the whole experience and the infamous "Oh...is that it?" as was the case in Red Dead Redemption and to an extent Grand Theft Auto, is even more evident here and the lack of exploration and continuation after the game has finished also hinders the experience.

Furthermore all the usual Rockstar bugs come into play here including buildings that pop into view as you drive past ruining the experience. It's not a deal-breaker but after numerous games with the same problems, its shocking that the errors are still in play here, especially after seven years of production on this game.

Overall though, LA Noire is a fantastic experience that breathes a breath of fresh air in the videogame market and delivers something fresh and different. The graphics are excellent and the facial design is the best seen in any game. The music and sound design are also very good and although the bugs are annoying and the ending is almost a dealbreaker, the rest of the game is sensational and one of the most unique experiences on PS3. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New cop on the beat, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
S T O R Y
You play as Cole Phelps a new cop walking the beat who has aspirations of climbing to the top in the L.A. police department. The march from promotion to promotion is a steady journey; though you‘ll meet many colourful and eccentric characters that 1940s L.A. has to offer. You are tasked with catching a serial killer and solving various other cases that all connect together in some shape or form,

Phelps can come across as a slightly one-dimensional character, there are flashback moments that help pad out his origins, but I feel these don’t relate well to present narrative settings. The city itself is another star of the show, it’s a time when people are rebuilding their lives after the war, but this is in contrast to sinister individuals who test the might of the police force.

GRAPHICS & SOUND
Motion Sean is the hot subject on the tip of the gaming world’s tongue. Team Bondi have created
truly revolutionary facial animation technology and the end result is phenomenal, the performances of characters are amazing and very life-like. It’s an amazing achievement when you consider this is running on the .n-game engine. The motion capture is excellent and many characters are animated impeccably well. There are tiny details scattered throughout the game, even when zooming in on objects the textures remain sharp and the resolution is just as crisp. L.A. Noire emphasises style and a strong dedication to try and recreate the 1940s as closely as it can.

Los Angeles is gorgeously detailed, the infrastructure has been designed in accordance with thousands of aerial photos being taken of LA. There is a tram system that runs through the heart of the city, a variety of stunningly detailed vehicles litter the streets, and pedestrians going about their daily lives. Some may find that the city may not seem alive or buzzing at a first glance. The lighting is fantastic, shadows are rendered realistically, and the day to night transitions are breathtaking. The soundtrack is impressive, the radio stations play some catchy tunes and the music during chase sequences is sure to get your heart pumping. The voice acting is very good and diverse; this is only complimented by excellent lip-syncing.

The facial animation work is extremely impressive, yet I felt the motion capture from the neck down seemed a little disjointed. Some of the movements would seem erratic and not very smooth in animation at all. The night time environments are rendered well, but some of the neighbourhoods can be pitch black.

GAMEPLAY
The formula is pretty straightforward, go to the crime scene, search for clues and evidence surrounding the body, acquire possible leads and suspects, track down the aforementioned suspects and question them to help your investigation. Investigating the crime scenes is very important and finding every possible piece of evidence is key in aiding the case. Driving to visit suspects or stopping by a location can be performed by yourself, or you can request your partner to drive you there, as this will get you there much quicker. Now we move onto the questioning/interrogating, this is about observing the suspect and deciding how heavily involved they may be to your case. It’s a fantastic gamepiay mechanic, you can believe what they say or shove evidence in their face if you think they might be trying to mislead you.

The murder cases increase in difficulty as the game progresses, you will begin to charge suspects with murder if you think they did it or choose between multiple suspects in order to bring the guilty participant to justice. The more questions you get correct, the more your rank will increase I and also allow you to amass intuition points. Intuition points can be used to help with difficult questions and make it easier to decide if a suspect is lying or telling the truth. Questioning suspects is far from the meat of what you’ll be doing, some suspects will try to run away and you’ll have to give chase on foot. Some suspects will jump into vehicles and make a speedy getaway, this is where you race after them and try to stop their escape. There is also hand-to-hand combat to experience, you may not be a boxer, but your fists are very capable of doing the talking.

The story missions are fun to play through but there are 40 side missions to also to sink your teeth into. These incorporate shootout gameplay sequences, whether tracking down deranged citizens or psychopathic criminals. Every side mission has its own individual story, the gameplay mechanics may not differ much between them, but they are wisely spread throughout the city. Completing as many side missions as possible is critical in increasing your rank and keeping the intuition points rolling in. More importantly, there is a manuscript of all the dialogue that takes place in each case. It’s very easy to miss a sentence from a suspect when questioning them, checking the manuscript will certainly save you the hassle of second guessing a motive. This game is very happy to remind you that it isn’t GTA, when you’ve solved a case it will tell you how much damage you’ve caused to property and vehicles.

The hand-to-hand combat isn’t particularly fun, nor is it exciting enough to want to do it again. The mechanics are far too simple and it can become tedious when having to button mash your way to success. The cover system is by no means perfect, it can feel very ‘sticky’, as if you are glued to the surface. A sense of repetition does begin to creep in when going from case to case. It does feel like a monotonous procedure to wrap things up.

OVERALL
LA. Noire is a highly polished package and very worthy of being in your gaming collection. The story is engrossing and the cases are woven together well. Phelps may not be the engaging antagonist that you hoped for, but there are an abundance of characters that add great substance to overall proceedings. Sure, the technology behind the game will be its main talking point, but that is in no way a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasted Potential., 24 Jun 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
To start with this review, I need to state that the lower than average score isn't down to me wanting this to be a GTA game. In fact, the whole reason I bough this game is because of press waxing lyrical over how it breathed new life into the adventure genre. While L.A. Noire does have it's fun and interesting moments, it often feels like the game is holding you at arms length rather than drawing you in like it should be.

Strange mechanics and a lack of variety really dampen the overall experience. The interview system is much more simplified than it was touted to be by the developers. Throughout the game, it was fairly obvious when a character is lying as they roll their eyes around like they've come loose in the socket. Frustratingly, the question branches sometimes defy logic. For example, (being careful not to give spoilers), say you need to prove that the suspect had a key item registered to them and you have come across evidence to back that up. When questioning them about this and seeing your chance to call them out, sometimes the subject will change completely meaning a different piece of evidence is needed, or there isn't actually a way to call them out. Other mechanics such as being able to pop off a warning shot or tackle a fleeing suspect are only present when the game wants them to be, giving the feeling of the action being overscripted.

That's not to say it's all bad, the facial capture work really does look great and the performances are generally very good. The main storyline is very intersting too. Although I must say, the game has probably one of the worst endings I've seen in such a story driven game. Driving is very responsive and theres a great variety of cars and the game world is well fleshed out, which makes the lack of any meatier side missions rather tragic. The game will take between 15-20 hours on your first play through depending on how well you do. It's also very easy, which is a mixed blessing as it actually detracts from the fun of the investigations in some cases.

So in summary, if you're looking for something interesting to play, I would reccomend giving this a try, just don't expect it to be as amazing as the majority of the hype will lead you to believe. I would recommend to rent or wait until the price comes down though as it doesn't hold much in the way of replay value. With a bit more freedom, more challenge, a bit more depth to game play and some tighter writing, this could have been a classic. As it stands, its merely an above average title which coasts along on its graphics tech a bit too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LA Noire- A Different Game, 19 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
After playing this game,I thought I should write my own review for the first time on here. Now, if you dont already know, LA Noire is a game developed by Team Bondi and Published by Rockstar Games. If you are expecting a open-world game like GTA IV, then look else where. this game is very linear with a short amount of side quests. but dont let that deter you, as this game will really become close to you.
You play as Cole Phelps, a lapd officer who has joined the police after the events of WW2. you quickly rise through the ranks after successfully solving cases and such. the story in this game is really amazing, and it becomes more tense in the second half of the game in my opinion. the cases are very interesting and could become stories within themselves (which actually is the case in the homicide desk). i would give the story a 9/10, as the actual ending might ruin the experience.
Gameplay wise, it is very different. you can investigate crime scenes for clues and evidence for the case, which eventually become integral with interrogations, where you can believe, doubt or accuse a person of lying with evidence, and might affect the case ranking. this may annoy people who want 100% first time, but it adds to the replay value of the game. the action sequences are good, but they are limited, and the shooting events are locked until you reach a scripted event. i would give the gameplay a 8/10, as it is great fun, but the action sequences are of too few a number

the game is amazing to look at, and you never feel out of place with the time setting of the game, as it all looks and feels realistic. 10/10 for graphics in my opinion

overall, i would say that this game should really be given a go at by anybody who is interested, as you wont be let down by this, thought perfectionists might be annoyed by the gameplay by a tiny amount. overall, i would give this game a 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
Awesome game all the way.
You can never get tired because of the different choices you have that can affect everything in the gameplay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets a bit repetitive, 29 Nov 2012
By 
B. Park (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
I'd probably still recommend this product. It's an interesting concept, and if you haven't seen it, it's worth a look.
It's very much like GTA, Bully, or Red Dead Redemption in playing style/controls. Much the same as Rockstar's other games.
The control is a bit annoying, in that when looking for clues, you wander past something and the controller vibrates. Hit X, and.. oh.. no you're not quite in -exactly- the right spot. I seem to find myself walking round in circles slowly trying to get in the exact bit to then hit X, and finally look at the clue.

It has a clever facial-recognition type system, where you have to guess if people are lying by the placement of their eyes, if they look distracted, etc. Clever stuff.
The game has interestingly rendered streets, cars, and people. I wouldn't call it 'nice' though. It's quite grey/dull. This is meant to add to the dullness of the 1940s, I imagine, but in some parts, you might as well be playing in black and white.
It's not as open-worldly as some of Rockstar's other games either. You can't go in as many places.
Every car you get in has the radio on (even police cars), and you don't seem to be able to turn the horrible AM-sounding old-style radio off, annoyingly, although it doesn't prevent you from having increasingly dull and seemingly-meaningless conversations with your various work partners.

The map is enormous and it takes a while to get anywhere. When you get a call on the radio that an officer needs help somewhere else (you don't have to take it), they are inevitably miles away from you, and driving back and forth down similar-looking streets is really quite boring. You can at least force your partner to drive, so you don't have the monotony of it. The thing they need help with is almost always someone with a gun robbing somewhere and then running off.
Thankfully, the police radio can be ignored and you don't have the constant interruptions by other characters, as you might with say, phone calls/texts on GTA4.

Earlier in the game, you get to look at things like car crashes, hit and runs, mini-fraud cases, but after a while, it seems to get quite repetitive. I got promoted to homicide, but it became tiresome having very similar cases. A woman murdered, in similar way to the last one. Solve that, another woman murdered, similar to last. Solve that? Yes - another similar murder. All women. No men get murdered in the 1940s from the looks of it. It's to highlight serial killers vs copycats, but it doesn't half get boring after a while looking at case after similar case.
And then when you get promoted to ad vice, first thing is 2 people dead (as part of a drug dealing case). Then after that, more dead people. I don't think I've had a case that didn't involve a body at the start, in quite a number of missions now.
I find myself longing for some car theft. Or burglary? A nice bit of arson, perhaps? Wasn't there anyone knocking off fake Nike trainers in the 1940s? Scam chain letters?
I'll probably persist with it, but this might not be a game I complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 Mar 2012
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
Now bearing in mind that Rockstar have produced the GTA games and my all time favourite, Red Dead Redemption, I had high hopes when I bought L.A.Noire. But I've finally reached the point where I don't care whether I finish the game or not and have started playing something else.

I have persevered, and made my way to 'Arson', but I just can't get excited enough to look forward to loading the game again. I won't go into any detail about the game fundamentals, there's enough reviews of that, so I'll just explain what has brought be to a state of complete apathy.

Firstly, the cases do appear initially to be quite involved and something to get your teeth into. However you soon realise that it really doesn't matter if you screw up. The worst that can happen is that you get to the end of a case and after questioning, charge the wrong suspect. However you are straight away given the opportunity to go back to the start of questioning until you get to the point where you can charge the right suspect. Since there are usually only 2 suspects, this isn't too difficult.

Secondly, where you do have to go back, you can't 'fast forward' through stuff which you've already gone through, so you have to ask the same old questions and listen to the same old answers again.

Lastly, the only real 'relief' comes from 'officer requests assistance' type radio messages. The problem is that these are often may miles away so if you want some light relief you have to drive all the way across L.A. which can take several minutes. 'Fast travel' is achieved by getting your partner to drive, however once you've answered one of these calls if you try to switch drivers the 'call' disappears so your only option is to take the scenic route across L.A.

The only other diversion seems a bit pointless to me. Dotted around the city are special cars that you can find. This isn't too difficult since their locations are marked on your map, and once you've found one you can use it. The downside to using them is that if you do have to cross the city, unless you want to spend ages negotiating the traffic you use your siren which isn't available for the specials.

Great graphics though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let-down, 20 Nov 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
While the much hyped L.A. Noire isn't a complete stinker, it is by no means a classic. The game is not without it's good points, the graphics look amazing and the attention to detail of the city's design gives it a really nice feel, while the sound-track is of the typically high standards you would expect from Rock-star games.

The gameplay itself is inititally interesting, but quickly gets very monotonous. Searching for clues doesn't require any significant skill, just run around the crime scene pressing X until the music stops and the constant presence of red herrings gets very frustrating. The questioning element is kind of fun, as you have to use a degree of intelligence to progress the interrogation, but you should be given game over if you don't get enough questions right. Instead the case continues on, so you bumble through the level regardless, without really knowing what's going on. Also, too many of the questions are vague, making it difficult for you to decide on an answer.

The remainder of the gameplay involves driving round (little difference in cars, other than speed) and running around, so no great shakes.

The story itself has some intense and fascinating moments (the homicide story, linked to the Black Dahlia murders is particulary strong) but the overall plotting is a bit weak and the ending is particularly dreary; partly because you really just don't care what happens to the flat, boring charachters.

I've played the game all the way through and while it was enjoyable I have no intention to replay the missions or do any of the side-missions. Now that it's cheaper, I'd reccomend buying a second hand copy for a quick run-through to see if it's your thing, but overall I don't feel like I got my money's worth buying this new when it first came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh the agony! But fairly good anyway..., 21 Oct 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok, so i picked up this game hoping for something new and original and i got it... kinda.
The enviroment is good and the story interesting, so definately a good buy if you're looking for something worth of your time, but of course no game is without flaw and this one certainly has them.
Pursuits, either by foot or car are a pain, as it is frequent to be stuck in the graphics. My car was stopped by a box that said "Fragile" and a chase on foot was lost as i stepped from one side to another of some stairs without beeing able to go down. Gunfights are also a pain for the same reason. Some tweeking on character control needed...
Questioning a witness/suspect might give you a couple of "WTF moments" as the Truth/Doubt/Lie system doesn't seem very reliable in what you'd like to say or the way you'd like to say it, and what actually comes out of your mouth. The facial expressions, which are both a pro and a con in this game, do not help sometimes in the correct way of questioning. (Also makes you wonder if some characters have constipation).
The way you play also influence the way you see the story, if you treat each case like a mission to be completed as soon as possible, they'll be over before you know it and without creating any kind of empathy towards the characters (main or otherwise), which might get you promoted quickly whithout even knowing the name of your partner...

Anyway, I would still buy if for original points but maybe hold on a bit until price drops...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L.A. Noire (PS3)
L.A. Noire (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews