Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

44
3.5 out of 5 stars
Bulletstorm (PC DVD)
Platform: PCEdition: StandardChange
Price:£6.83+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 5 July 2011
Just a handy bit of advice.
I contacted EA customer support after getting stuck at the verification screen (after having installed the game). After an hour of waiting on the live chat service, they told me to "press enter" on the verification screen. The game then immediately verified and proceeded to play.
Also, the game is very enjoyable in my opinion.
Hope this helps!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on 28 February 2011
I've just completed this game, so am writing the review based on the entire single player campaign. I haven't tried multiplayer so won't be commenting on that.

Lets get the nasty bit out of the way first. This game requires Games for Windows Live. I had a mare getting that up to date a couple of months ago when I was playing Bioshock 2. Consequently, I didn't have any trouble this time around. However, I see from other reviews that it has been an issue for some people. All I can suggest is that before you install the game, make sure your system is up to date, then be prepared for a couple of reboots as GFWL sorts itself out. Theres nothing complicated about the process. It is just time consuming.

Anyway, now that that is out of the way, what is the game itself like? Imagine you are in the movie of a Marvel Comic Book, and you won't be far wrong. The dialog is cheesy as heck, and everything is completely OTT, however there is an underlying story that pulls you along nicely. You play the part of a wronged merc, out for revenge. You are stuck on a planet which used to be an adventure playground for the rich but which has become overrun by savages and mutants. All this is explained as the story progresses. You soon get some enhancements that bizarrely monitor your actions, and award you points depending on how you kill your foes. At first this seems a tad unbelievable, even if you have totally immersed yourself in the game world. However, it all gets explained when you get to about Act four, from memory. (There are seven acts in total, in a game that lasts approx 10 hours).

So, this skillshot system is immediately appealing, and immense fun. However, it soon gets quite boring. Had I written this review after the first act, I would have given this three stars at best, as the novelty soon wheres a bit thin. As you progress into the game though, you get access to more weapons, and some of these are a treat. You have a sniper rifle, and get this, you get to steer the bullet as it flies towards the target! How cool is that? Each weapon has two modes of firing. In the case of the sniper rifle, the charged up version goes one step further. Once you have shot somebody, you get to move that body around (all in slowtime) before letting it detonate, hopefully killing other baddies. So you can look through your scopes, spot a group of grunts, and fire a charge shot at the leader. Once hit, you can send the corpse above the others, and explode it, killing them too, for bonus points.

Oh yes, bonus points. These are awarded for a variety of reasons. Obviously you get points for killing people creatively (so drag somebody towards you, kick them away and shoot them midair into a cactus for mega points, etc), but you also get points for killing newsbots, certain actions, and there are reflex bonuses where if you respond to the "Hold Right Mouse Button" quickly enough, you get points. And what do points make? Well, not quite prizes, but they allow you to get more ammo, and upgrade the capacity of your weapons.

Health is a simple affair. If you get shot too much, hide until you recover. There are no health packs to worry about. In some games this would be a downer. However, in this game it fits. This game is all about having mindless fun.

Once you have enough weapons to give you a bit of choice in proceedings, the game settles to a very enjoyable gore fest. Because though you have eight weapons to choose from, you can only carry three at a time. You shouldn't stick to just three weapons though, as each weapon has its own unique methods of getting bonus points. This encourages to try everything at least once. An example of this is once again the sniper rifle. I loved using this, however, as a result I got very few bonus points for killing with it (familiarity breeding contempt I guess).

As I said before, the game itself is about ten hours long. This is fairly short, but seems to be getting to be the norm rather than the exception these days. There is a lot to do in that ten hours though. A lot of it is derived from old games, however there are enough novelties to keep you interested, should you make it past the first act. For instance, at one point you get to control a life sized rocket shooting dinosaur robot, having previously been chased by it through a model city. Boring? Not a bit of it.

Once you have finished the game, you can reply sections (as Echoes) and this adds to the game, as now you have definate target scores to achieve. (Eg, clear the level in four minutes etc). There is multiplayer too, but I haven't bothered with that yet.

Graphics and sound are good without being awesome. The good news here is that you won't need a ninja PC to run it. The bad news is that you won't be able to use it to show off your ninja PC if you have one, as there is nothing spectacular. However, given the comic book theme, photorealism is not a requirement. The game is also pretty stable. I only had one crash while playing it. It minimises to desktop should you need to use the PC for something else, and restores without throwing a hissy fit.

All in all, this is a great game. I won't give it five stars, partly because it is short, and partly because it uses GFWL. Were it available on budget it would earn an easy five stars. So if you are reading this in a year's time then go for it without question. If you are reading it as a possible new release purchase, then I would say buy it unless you are on a budget. The price will definately drop soon (this always happens these days) and the fun elements of this game will still be fun in a month's time.

Good dirty fun!

++++ EDIT +++++

Somebody asked for the specs. Here they are:

Minimum:

OS: Windows XP (SP3), Windows Vista (SP2), or Windows 7
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo, AMD Athlon X2, or equivalent, running at 1.6 GHz or greater
Memory: 1.5GB
Hard Disk Space: 9 GB available
Video Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 256 MB of VRAM; NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS, ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro 256 MB, or greater
Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 16-bit
DirectX®: DirectX 9.0c
Network: Internet (TCP/IP) connection

Recommended:

OS: Windows Vista (SP2), or Windows 7
Processor: QuadCore 2.0 GHz
Memory: 2 GB
Video Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 512MB of VRAM; NVIDIA GeForce GTX260, or ATI Radeon 4870
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 April 2013
I haven't actually played this through, so I'm only reviewing the installation - and it's a doozy!

A lot of people buying this are going to install, then have the Games for Windows Live refuse to register it because it found a 'corrupt file'. This is extremely common - perhaps it affects every Win 7 installation.

Here's what I did to get it to work on Win 7.

Don't install to Program File (x86) - create your own folder, directly in the C Drive,

Then DON'T use the usual installation - open the game folder, and use Game.msi ,

Then DON'T open the game using the usual .exe file, use zpd.exe, found in Binaries/Win 32/Zpd,

Then, if you are lucky, and already have a Games for Windows Live identity (I did for Bioshock), the game will open!

If you don't already have a GFWL identity - I pity you!

Hope this helps - it worked for me, and I was on the verge of returning the game. I didn't invent these moves, I compiled them from various forums, and found when used together, they worked.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 February 2011
Although there seems to be a long dry-spell of notable FPS games, this game offers little more than a mirage of novelty and coolness.

THE GAME TO TEST ANTI DEJA-VU MEDICATION WITH.
BULLETSTORM throws a number of tricks at you so it is no small feat that it ends up feeling like a one-trick pony.
- Kicking everything that moves? Haven't we done that in every single Duke Nukem?
- Leashing in your enemies into the air in slow-motion and then shooting them? No, not an original idea either: it flashed me back to Max Payne's BulletTime crossed with the grappling arm in Bionic Commando. And you might want to earn all the killing combos but you 've done a dozen, you 've done them all. It gets old much sooner than I would expect.
- Creative sKillShot points redeemed for equipment? Dynamic cover system? Someone thought no one has ever played The Club or Gears of War? Honestly?
If you play this game make sure you are not in the control group. It is not the placebo you need because this game will induce serious...previous-gaming sessions regression.

YOU EAT WITH THAT MOUTH?
Not only I am no prude but I will go as far as stating that I don't trust men who do not swear now and then. So I don't usually mind some fresh language in my games. After all, the second time you get sniped at from afar, "frigging" and "darn" just do not cut it, do they?
However, when a game (or a movie) uses four-letter words it better not do so to cover up a lack of effort or creativity; just because the writers could not come up with a smart retort this does not mean they should resort to cheap shots. Imaginatively combined at times, yes, but still cheap.

WHY GET STUCK IN THE HOTEL? VISIT STYGIA'S BEAUTIFUL OUTDOORS!
The new Unreal engine will not be out before 2012 so this runs on the old one - and it cannot hide its age. With the exception of the guns, the textures on both players and furnishings can do no favors to a brand new game. On the other hand, this must be the game that has the most impressive dynamic lighting, something that makes the very original external environments truly shine.

THE GUY ON THE COVER? STUMPING ON OUR CUSTOMER RIGHTS.
The game comes with mandatory OnLine Activation (which, yes, means the game never actually becomes yours to keep, no matter the hefty price tag) and mandatory GFWL Account LogIn. After activating your copy, you can play Single Player OffLine by creating an OffLine GFWL Profile - but most of us know how good THAT works by now.

I don't know about a storm but it sure seems to hit the fan sooner than later.
My advice: the price will drop fast. Wait for it to reach single digits.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 3 June 2013
This game is a bit like Dr Who.. lots of (needless) running around, plenty of action, interesting characters, compulsory reading up on the internet - although in Bullet Storm's case it's working out how to load & keep it running stable, but ultimately the ending is a bit of an anticlimax.

I need to get the compulsory Windows Live moan out of the way. My solution was to uninstall Bullet Storm & WL. Re-install WL, then Bullet Storm and ignore the Bullet Storm update if offered me. This allowed me to play the game to the end with the odd crashing here and there - usually when reloading after dying. As it's fairly easy to play most of the game without dying then this wasn't a major issue.

The graphics on the planet you explore are pretty spectacular, and there are a couple of real 'wow' moments in the game that I didn't think my PC was capable of. The action is varied with a few nice off piste moments that kept things interesting - remote control Godzilla ]:o) The sound & voice acting is pretty good - you can make you own mind up about the swearing & scripting, probably not one to play when your granny is visiting.

The last level was a bit disappointing. Not sure if they ran out of time or money but it seemed to end without a big final shootout, and the very final scene didn't even have any video .. just a blank screen & audio!?! I've seen a YouTube video of the same ending so it wasn't just my PC. Anyway, no big deal, it didn't detract from my enjoyed of playing the game and I would highly recommend you giving this a go.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 4 March 2011
Bulletstorm is an incredible and successful attempt at making something fun and original within the genre that has been dominated by pseudo realistic military shooters clones. BS does not take itself too seriously, opting instead to supply fun and exhilarating action non-stop.

You play as Grayson Hunt - an ex-spec-ops agent and now a space pirate with alcohol problems. Gray is on a quest for vengeance and redemption and when an opportunity rises he directs his spaceship crew to torpedo through a huge opposing vesel hosting Gray's arch-nemesis and ex-superior in command - General Sarano. I will not be spoiling the story, suffice is to say that it is fairly original and not as cliche as most other shooters out there.

After the game's intense opening, you find yourself crashed on a planet hosting to a lush world and a futuristic resort city. But something has gone terribly wrong and instead of enjoying your stay, you fight for your life and escape chance against many of the planet's savage inhabitants.

The main gameplay aspect of Bulletstorm and the one that makes it unique is the skillshot system. How many times have you played other shooters and killed bad guys in some special? How many times you felt you did great and never got any acknowledgement from the game? This time around, BS will keep a close track of your performance and reward your ingenuity when it comes to killing enemies with points that can then be spent on upgrades to score even more points. An array of interesting weapons - each will powerful alternative fire mode, a kick, a slide and an energy leash will help you setup the most incredible and funny situations to dispose of the baddies.

Bottom line: Bulletstorm is a fun game, original and fresh in the world dominated by stagnant CoD clones. After having played it, going back to any other shooter feels like a downgrade, a step back. Fully recommended to anyone who wants to relax, have fun and get rewarded for doing well in game.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 29 December 2011
This is an old school shooter. Plain and simple. You have a selection of really inventive weapons (the Flail Gun!), environment you can use and many enemies to dissect. And all of that is one of the most beautiful settings I've seen in years. Yes, the characters are simple and a bit corny, yes it's not deep or ambitious. But it's so much fun I don't care.

Despite game's console origin, graphics are great and sound is decent. You do get, however, console simplifications. Like the fact your character can't jump (not unless it's context enabled like vaulting over obstacles etc.). You can't walk off a cliff either. The world is full of invisible walls.
The world is also full of things you can use to crush, blow up and impale your enemies with. And that coupled with skillshot system is just great! It's so much fun and since you can do different tricks with different weapons it doesn't get boring.
And the game encourages you to use them because the more points you have the more ammo you can buy.

One thing I really hated about the game is Games For Windows Live. It's so annoying and half the time it doesn't work as it should. It makes multiplayer a chore (unlike Steam). I just hate it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 May 2011
if you want some undifficulty action super fun game, if you want a game in that you haven't to think about the way or what you have to do, if you want a game in which you only must shoot and destroy and laugh and have fun than buy BULLETSTORM. It's all what you need!!!!!

I like it.

A very lucky gamer from Germany.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 11 May 2011
Really enjoyed the single player on this good fun if a little short, its not too complicated just a good blast. Like the addition of the leash which adds a different aspect to this game compared to other fps. The language can be a bit suspect but take it light heartedly and enjoy it as it adds character, if you spliced duke nukem with gears of war your not far off with this game.

The skill kills are addictive as you want to try and get them all , i did like the vertigo and pin cushion but each to their own.

Multiplayer bit dissapointing as there is only one type to choose from and after the tenth go can be repepative. Its just you and three other guys going against the computer AI.

Graphically it looks great and you dont need a ninja system to run it smoothly. At £15 a pop its worth a go.Single player 4 stars, multiplayer 3 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 8 April 2013
I actually played this game on the xbox 360 when it first came out but recently got a new gaming PC and wanted to try it again with the graphics maxed out and for a smoother experience. So far I have not been disappointed. The game is really over the top, with a lot of gore content and ridiculous language but that is what makes the game quite enjoyable. The idea of the game is to play will 'skill kills', were you have to try and defeat enemies in as inventive (and painful) a way as possible.
Yes this game does require games for windows live, but despite the hate it gets (which I understand) I don't mind so much as it doesn't get in the way for me plus i get more achievements for my xbox account.
The game runs perfectly on an Nvidia GTX 660 TI. 5/5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD)
Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) by Kalypso Media (Windows Vista / XP)
£4.10

Crysis 3 (PC DVD)
Crysis 3 (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£7.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.