Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those stuck at verification screen!
Just a handy bit of advice.
I contacted EA customer support after getting stuck at the verification screen (after having installed the game). After an hour of waiting on the live chat service, they told me to "press enter" on the verification screen. The game then immediately verified and proceeded to play.
Also, the game is very enjoyable in my opinion...
Published on 5 July 2011 by T. Khan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Installation Nightmare!
I haven't actually played this through, so I'm only reviewing the installation - and it's a doozy!

A lot of people buying this are going to install, then have the Games for Windows Live refuse to register it because it found a 'corrupt file'. This is extremely common - perhaps it affects every Win 7 installation.

Here's what I did to get it to work...
Published 15 months ago by Cooder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most original single player fps games for a long time., 6 May 2011
By 
T. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I played the demo on steam, and I knew immediately I should buy this game. Bulletstorm has an original fun story line, good voice acting, original gameplay, and is a breath of fresh air to the fps genre. It feels arcade like, but has a lot more depth than you would first suspect. This game does not take its self seriously though, so if you want a dark (metro 2033) game, then this is not it. If you want a game that makes you smile, and possibly laugh out loud, then you should buy it. It has very nice graphics, and a perfectly tuned game engine. The only thing they could of improved for me with this game, is if they had added a co-op campaign mode. I would, however, buy this game again tomorrow,if I didn't own this game already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most fun in ages, 4 April 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Doubtfire (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Just to get the downpoint out the way first... Yes as the other reviewers state the Games for Windows is designed as to not let you play the game. I read comments from those having problems and as I have an GFW account from my xbox I downloaded the client and signed in before I got the game as to get around the problems... I install the game and put my details in when it downloads an update and I feel all is going well. It then tells me it needs a reset to complete which is fine by me but here is the issue... To reset you need to get to the main option screen but you cant get in without signing in but if you sign in you get told you need to reset before playing and your stuck in a loop. Not the end of the world as a quick Alt+F4 forced it to close but its things like this which make buying a GFW compatible game a chore.
Anyway with the down point out the way this game is amazing. It flows so fast and rewards you for pushing different kills. The story is quite fun as well and keeps with the free flowing nature of the game. The odd boss or driving section (someone else driving while you shoot) is a welcome break to normal shooting. Quite a few different guns to choose from so you feel your playing the game how you want to alot of the time.
Sadly its fairly short for a game but I will start again on the harder mode as its fun to just pickup and play. The online gameplay is quite fun as well but works best when you know who you are playing with as 4 strangers all after the higest score just dosnt cut it after level 5-6 of the game.
All in all I cant wait for a sequel but just set aside a little while to get the game loaded. Alot easier if you own an xbox but not the end of the world signing up if you dont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Just a perfectly funny and gory game! It looks very nice on a fast computer, supports multi-core CPUs an requires a "Games for Windows Live"-account. Lots of blood, fun and action for a nice price, compared to german shops.. Delivery fast as always!

PS: Lieferung des Spiels und Funktion in Deutschland kein Problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows Live games on the PC? - Never again, 28 July 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The problem with this game is the installation torture caused by Windows Live.

The game is a poor port from XBOX and does not have the necessary interface corrections to allow Windows Live to be installed without resorting to CTL-ALT-DEL, bringing up task manager and shutting down the game twice during install.

How many PC gamers will go through this process without giving up? Was this ever tested on a PC before release?

It seems that the publishers are only interested in game consols. Too bad as I have friends who enjoy the game.

My advice would be to avoid Windows Live games on the PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars further to my original review, 25 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
As i hoped it was just a couple of bugs at the begining of the game, having played it for a couple of hours now, ive experienced no more bugs and had i have to say - Insane Fun - if you love shooters this is a must buy, and the function that makes this game better than any other is theres NO JUMPING woohoo, cant stand bunny hopping nubcakes.

The combo kill system is pretty awesome, has to be seen to believed.

Just buy it you'll see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watching Paint Dry is better than this, 12 Aug 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I think some of the other reviews nailed the reason to avoid this game, but here is my own bulletstorm..

-> Games For Windows Live.. Need i say any more?
-> Console depth.. everything is easy to do and dumbed down.
-> Linear gameplay, cannot go anywhere except one way.
-> Repetitive gameplay.. same thing over and over again.
-> Shallow plot.. filled with cheesy 'toughguy' voiceacting and 'meat-head' wisecracks on par with Duke Nukem Forever.
-> Tiring gimmicks.. Leash, kicks, kicking a path through rubble and sniper rounds that you can steer grow tiring very quickly and fuel your motivation to play something else.
-> Weapon 'upgrades' useless.. except for clip size everything else has no perceived value or effect.
-> Spend your hard earned cash on a different game.. these developers don't deserve your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only FPS game better than Bulletstorm can be Bulletstorm 2, 3 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Seriously, I was not expecting so much fun with this game. When I made the contract I was worried whether it is money well spent. So ... YES!
Graphically and sonically is simply very good, but the gaming experience is priceless. I did not play so well since the days of Duke Nukem.
I found a few bugs but compared to the last MoH and the last CoD is quite good.
For people who want to relax - absolutely a must have game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Games For Windows Live Broken for me, 26 Feb 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Just wasted 1hour plus trying to get the game operating through Windows Live (this is a requirement to play even for single player). No luck. Given up now, no Bulletstorm for me it seems. Registered, downloaded the patch, installed patch, rebooted (note you have to Ctrl Alt Del out of the program - they forgot to put a 'exit program' button on the start screen; oops). I seem to get stuck in an infinite loop where Windows Live wants me to register for Windows LIVE, which I try do, but then get sent to a dead internet address. Not working. Very poor.

Doubtless this post will get flamed by griefers saying stuff like 'yeah but the game is amazing when its working'. This is a review of the entire Bulletstorm package, of which 'Games For Windows Live' is a requirement. GFWL has a very pretty log in screen (if that floats your boat), but it didnt do it for me. At all.

0/10, defective product returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will not install. Save your money, 18 May 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bulletstorm (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Game seemed to install ok but would not play.
Called customer service 3 times. They have no answers,
but they are very good at wasting your time.

They make many millions from this game, but are too greedy to invest in training
their client support team properly in order to support their own software.
Garbage company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bulletstorm (PC DVD)
Bulletstorm (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 7 / Vista)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews