Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most other games don't get close to this masterpiece!
Having read a recent interview with one of the game designers from this game's developer YAGER and the statement, that the low and disappointing sales of the game would prohibit YAGER from ever even considering a sequel compel me to write this review more than two years after the game's release.
Spec Ops – the Line is a 3rd person anti-war shooter with plenty...
Published 5 months ago by Kevin Berne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome
It was full of action but I felt it was a bit like the film Perfect storm at the end,very strange as well will not be playing it again.
Published 6 months ago by leonard john curtis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most other games don't get close to this masterpiece!, 22 July 2014
By 
Kevin Berne (Nussloch , Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
Having read a recent interview with one of the game designers from this game's developer YAGER and the statement, that the low and disappointing sales of the game would prohibit YAGER from ever even considering a sequel compel me to write this review more than two years after the game's release.
Spec Ops – the Line is a 3rd person anti-war shooter with plenty of style and action that in fact managed to impress me in ways that only the Metal Gear series had before, and that in itself is a huge compliment. The game's storyline is absolute powerful, haunting and deeply meaningful, the whole tone/vibration of the setting in postapocalyptic Dubai is groundbreakingly executed. Both the visual/artistic style and art and the sound/music pull the player deep inside the terrible events the game portrays. The game as well as it's characters feel absolutely genuine and real and I have rarely found playing a game as impactful as having completed Spec Ops – The Line multiple times. While many critics and players critisized some of the rather „casual“ gameplay mechanics I on the contrary found that very aspect of not having to study the control scheme that extensively to be rather accessible and polished. I am a hardore gamer and by no means a casual gamer by the way, but I believe gameplay should be accesible without multiple hours of getting into it.
Summing it up and referencing aspects of the aforementioned interview with one of the game's producers obviously video gamers seem to prefer simple and in fact rather idiotic stories that add nothing to the gameplay experience itself because they are rather perceived as a waste of time anyway. I know I will always love and cherish this game and measure future games to its standard just because it broke the conventional formula as well as the fourth wall and held a mirror to my face as a videogamer: it made me think about myself and my actions within the game's context and it showed me the ugly side of war and human conflict without lecturing me or providing easy answers for me to swallow. I am proud to own this game and very few games can claim to have a similar impact on a player willing to not just be entertained by a game but to actually get a meaningful experience out of playing it. Thanks YAGER, I guess in the future that aspect of videogaming will have to be handled by Kojima productions and their intensely genius Metal Gear series that explores similar aspects of the human cost of war alone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable shooter with a powerful story., 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this game free with my PS Plus subscription. It terms of the game as a shooter it nothing special you just clear through the enemies like any CoD game. Where this game is truly special is the story, the game forces you to make difficult moral decisions of war (I made a few wrong ones). I have genuinely sat there looking at the screen with the game paused thinking about what I had done which is something I don't recall doing with any other game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game...more than meets the eye, 16 Jun 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an awesome games that has been a great game for me to play as I have had about 6 months away from gaming. In the opening 20-30 minutes there is little to differentiate it from other generic shooters, but give it patience and you will be rewarded with a cracking story line. My only gripe is that the camera control is a little schlonky and could be improved (such as in the outstanding GTA4). I found that the action is a little OTT at times but the storyline is a deep and interesting narrative that borrows heavily from Apocalypse Now and Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness. This is a refreshing change from the balls-out shooters that have been churned out from Activision and I wouldn't mind playing this game again in a few months time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality 3rd person, story-driven shooter, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Pankow27 (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
Go to any search engine on-line and type in "PS3 - most underrated games" and I can almost guarantee you that Spec-Ops: The Line will be on most people's lists. Reviewers in general didn't rate this game too highly and there's one main reason for that. The multi-player is rubbish. The single-player campaign however is great - unfortunately nowadays, the on-line modes always overshadow the main game and account, in my opinion, for way too heavy a percentage of the game's final score. Great game? graphics? story? fun? enjoyable? cool, sounds like an 8/10, but wait, the on-line multi-player is a bit poor so let's give the whole thing 5/10 instead.

Spec Ops: The Line is a 3rd person shooter as the title of this review suggests. It will be familiar to those of you who have played Gears of War, Binary Domain or Vanquish for example, as the control mechanics are very similar. The graphics are very nice, depicting a post sand storm-ravaged Dubai where the game takes place. There are some small frame rate issues after cut-scenes as well as the textures needing a moment to sharpen up, but this doesn't ruin the experience.

People have compared the story to Joseph Conrad's, "Heart of Darkness" (of which there is a film, Apocalypse Now) and they are more or less right with this one. 3 soldiers (American of course...) are sent into Dubai to search for survivors of the tragic sand storm. What begins as a simple in and out turns into a long (and very violent) struggle to discover the truth of what happened to the previous US military mission into the city, which takes the player on a story of surprises, twists and shocks.

Overall positives (+) and negatives (-) then:

+ Great story
+ Great graphics overall
+ Great single-player campaign (6-8 hours to complete first play through)
+ Great dialogue/voice acting
+ Fun and satisfying to play
+ Intense fast-paced action

- Poor on-line multi-player
- Small frame rate/texture issues during gameplay
- The classic "why do my squad members keep dying and I have to run through a hail of bullets to revive them" issue
- Sometimes getting in and out of cover positions can be tricky and clunky

Overall, 8/10 from me. Very fun and intuitive gameplay mixed with a gripping storyline. The game is very much intended for adults (lots of violence, bad language and disturbing scenes of war) so if you're thinking of buying this as a gift for someone, bear that in mind.

Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spec Ops: The Line, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
Brilliant. However this game is NOT meant to be fun, It's Harsh and Brutal story is reflected through a fantastic script and becomes so immersive that opportunities arise where you must decide What the right thing to do and the better thing to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great single player experience, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
Just played through this one and I gotta say its an interesting take on the third person shooter. Gameplay consists mostly of killing enemies, with some variation, i.e mounting heavy machineguns, grenade launchers etc. And there is a gameplay segment involving white phosphorous.....

Controls, feel of the weopons and all that is good. If you take away the story you would have an little above avarage 3rd person shooter. But the story gives everything another layer so to speak. The game have a bit eerie and Apocalypse now like atmsophere.

Havent tried the multiplayer much, seems to be quite generic but OK.

If you want to play a third person shooter with a very high body count and an interesting story on top of that, this game is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Completed it, liked it., 12 Feb 2013
By 
K. Dennis "gamer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
Overall SO:TL is like a cross between Apocalypse Now and Gears of War, third person over the shoulder action all the way in a future disaster struck Dubai setting, as the main character gets ever closer to the col. Kurtz like main enemy though increasingly crazy surroundings. This game is full of surprises and solid gunplay and is worth a go if you like that style and can stomach the gruesome violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
It was full of action but I felt it was a bit like the film Perfect storm at the end,very strange as well will not be playing it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most under-rated 'Flop' ever., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
Just buy it, this game is not what it seems. Oh, you thought this game would be like that? Well, it isn't. BUY THIS GAME. I was absolutely shocked by the surprise it gave me. Cheaper then a Freddo and is on Par with most of the more popular games. Great story. Argh, I'm going to be quiet so you just buy it. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) (Video Game)
Excellent game set in Dubai. The story line and action is everything you want from a team style shoot and blow up game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spec Ops: The Line (PS3)
Spec Ops: The Line (PS3) by 2K Games (PlayStation 3)
£17.73
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews