Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space 2: Scared yet?
Electronic Arts second sci-fi horror game has arrived, even more tense and frightening than the first installment.

Isaac Clarke's journey continues with him waking up from a coma on a massive space station called "The Sprawl". As well as the constant threat from the Necromorphs, Isaac must also has to battle against the station's govenrment and visions of his...
Published on 8 Feb. 2011 by R. Jones

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DDSS
The first game scared me half to death. Was on the edge of my seat the entire time I played it. The second game is very much like the first and for me that was a bit of a disappointment. Nothing really new here at all, even the layout of a few of the levels seemed strangely familiar. I knew what to expect lumbering down those dark corridors with Issac's limited...
Published on 15 July 2011 by Korbo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space 2: Scared yet?, 8 Feb. 2011
By 
R. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Electronic Arts second sci-fi horror game has arrived, even more tense and frightening than the first installment.

Isaac Clarke's journey continues with him waking up from a coma on a massive space station called "The Sprawl". As well as the constant threat from the Necromorphs, Isaac must also has to battle against the station's govenrment and visions of his dead girlfriend. Outnumbered and haunted he has to incover the truth of the Marker.

The gameplay is a third-person sci-fi shooter. You are able to wield many furistic weapons to help you fight the Necromorphs ranging from the iconic Plasma Cutter to the Javelin Gun and even the Flamethrower. There is a lot of variety to the ways you can defeat your eneimes, disember the limbs so eneimies cannot walk or stick them to the wall with the Javelin Gun's spears. Also there are loads of different types of Necropmorphs to encounter and fight, from small explosive Necromoprh babies to huge powerful Brutes. All have they're own unique attacks and weaknesses which need to be learnt in order to survive.

Dead Space 2 also includes puzzles to overcome, for example you will often have to hack a computer system or even arrange solar panels. Each puzzle will test your brain but are fairly easy to figure out. The puzzles are very good for holding back the tension and nail biting atmosphere.

The visuals of the game are fantastic. The textures are done perfectly and it all looks so real even for a futuristic game. The way the licks flicker and shadows are generated are presented very well. The graphics of the Necromorphs are also brilliant and look more terrifying than ever.

Dead Space is famous for its horror and tense atmosphere. In the second game, none of these feelings are lost. Expect to jump at many scenes and be genuinly scared either by a Necropmorph jumping out from the pitch black or a sudden horrifying vision of Isaac's mind.

As well as a gripping single player campaign a multiplayer mode is included. In multiplayer you can play as either engineers or the Necromorphs themselves. You must work cooperatively to complete objectives or to hunt down the humans. This provides a fair amount of play after the single player story and with ranks to progress through you can find your self putting a decnt amout of hours into the multiplayer. Howvever, the multiplayer is not a ground breaking achievement.

Overall Dead Space 2 is one of the best or the best survival horror game to date. With a Gripping story, fantastic visuals and great gameplay this will be one of the best games of 2011 without a doubt. Just remember in space no one can hear you scream.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 31 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
If you played the first then no doubt you were scared by it! I played it in a dark room with surround sound on with three of my friends and it had us all screaming! So the new installment had things to live up to!

And it does, the scares are still very much there. There has also been some slight tweaking of the gameplay, so it alot more fluid but still clunky in some way, adding to the experience. The way videos intergrate seemlessly into gameplay is a nice feature!

I would deffinatley reccomend getting this game, then playing it from behind the sofa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scaringly great, 19 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is my first review so bare with me.
I played Dead Space and I loved it, the isolation of space, the random noises scaring you, the story, and of course the inhuman enemies. So when I knew that Dead Space 2 was coming I got very excited and scared at the same time. This new Dead Space could turn out to be a great game or it could be a uptaded copy of the first. I'm glad to say that it is not only great as it is phenomenal.

Story wise is very good, changing the setting from the Ishimura to a new location, introducing new characters, adds more depth to the story and more plot twists that poor Isaac will have to deal with while trying to survive another necromorph invasion. But I'll put here a little spoiler. Don't forget about the Ishimura when playing this game.(Wink)

The sound is trully amazing, they took the best that Dead Space had to offer and added the sounds of a space stacion that was full of people and left in a hurry leaving things running and operating by themselves that really adds to the loneliness of the character and to the envolving surroundings. The sounds of the necromorphs was also uptaded, while keeping the original sounds for the original necromorphs the new ones have distintive sounds to them and it's easy to identify them. And yes the way that use music to indicate that enemies are present is still there so you will alwways know they are there although it does not help you find them specially when you are being stalked by one of the new necromorphs, just a heads up(Wink)

Graphicaly it's awsome, The new suits, weapons, locations and enemies are a great improvement on the fisrt game. Also the game is more bright now due to not being inside the hull of a ship but on a space station with great windows that show saturn in the distance. It's wonderfull to be able to walk around a mall and see the shops as you are dismembering your enemies.

Gameplay is also great. You maintain the same gameplay as the first game but the great improvement comes when you go to Zero-G. In the first game you would point your gun at surfaces and jump to them. In this one you can actually fly and control Isaac through boosters in the boots and shoulders of the suit.

Overall it's a great improvement on the first game, with all the new features, weapons, suits, enemies but still keeping with the feel of the first game. I recomend it higly buying this game and spending some terrifing hours trying to solve the problems and surviving the invasion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS2 is true to form and improved upon!!!, 6 Feb. 2011
By 
B. Cousins "The Eternal Noob" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Basically, this is a horror film with you as the star, progressing through the storyline. You are a technician aboard a ship that a horrible event has happened on and you are trying to find your way off. There is no choice, this game is excellent on the PS3, the graphics are good, from the detail of your character's suit to the enemies you face, the scenery is well done, with the lighting in certain areas making you jump at shadows. The game is also good in that it is not your average first person shooter, when attacking the baddies you have to think about where you shoot them, it is not just a case of shooting everyone in the face to kill first off. Also, with regards to the viewpoint of the character, it follows in the path of Resident Evil 4/5, so the camera is just over your shoulder allowing you to see the action going on. I did not find this view restrictive at all, just as I didn't on Resident Evil.
Along the way through the game you will pick up video and audio logs of the crew which will help you understand what has happened on the ship.
The atmosphere of the game is amazing, I was looking for a game to entrall me and shake me up, and I have gotten too used to strategy games where nothing surprises me. The baddies will attack you from unexpected directions at times, you think you may be safe hiding in a spot and then they are on you! You can collect credits along the way and when you happen upon a digital store you can buy the usual goods, ammo, weapons, health etc... The game also adds the element that you do not get access to every weapon as you go through the game, you need to find a schematic of it then download it at the store so the item can be purchased. I have been playing the game about 3-4 hours now and have unlocked only one weapon fully in that the shop supplied the weapon, I had to find the ammo schematic. There are also "nodes" which can be found/bought, and these can be used to get into certain rooms that need it to open the door, or you can use them to upgrade you suit or weapon at a "bench" where your character will upgrade the weapon himself (he is a technician after all). There are new weapons to find and use, so it is not the same as the first game, there are a few that you will recognise of course, it is not ALL new weapons!
Be wary of using all your nodes at once, they are very expensive to buy, this is the only tip I will give you while playing the game
The zero G room is great fun when you can hurl yourself around the room, not so much fun if you are being chased though, you need to think about where you position yourself so you can dispatch the baddie. And this is an imrovement on the first game in that you have jets in your suit now so you can fly through zero-gee.

The price is very good as you consider you are getting two aspect in this games, if you enjoy the shooter aspect of a game with a dark atmosphere, this is the game for you. There is also a new multiplayer aspect which is fun as you play one mode as the xenos then can play as human.

I would recommend buying the limited edition as you get Dead Space Extraction included for basically the same price!!

I would maybe recommend you play some of this with the lights on, it has already scared the begeebers outa me, hahahahah
The effect is great with the lights off and you have to listen out for the cries of the baddies so you can gauge where they may be charging from.
So.....what are you waiting for? Buy this game now!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fear is in the mind, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
STORY
You play as War, one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse. For Eons you have intervened and
kept a truce between the forces of Heaven and Hell. In the present day, angels and demons fall to Earth and the final apocalyptic battle begins. You arrive on Earth amidst the chaos; realising that the other horsemen have not arrived and that the Seventh Seal of peace has not been broken. It's up to you to restore the balance and find the one who's responsible for this treachery.

War may not be the most compelling horseman, but there is a fearsome presence about him. From its inception, the premise is intriguing but it is in the telling of the tale that the game falters —
it can be hard to figure out exactly what is going on at times, although the overall structure of the game is simple enough.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D
At a first glance this game may lack the wow factor when it comes to laying eyes on the visuals for the first time, but rest assured, the scope of this game will blow your socks off. The world has quite frankly gone to s***, cities are dusty ruins, highways lead to nowhere and giant wastelands house all kinds of scum. The art direction is both imaginative and gothic, large cathedrals loom into the sky, satanic markings fill the world and gladiator arenas welcome the bravest of warriors.

War’s character model is chunky and lovingly decorated with plenty of armour; the sheer size of his hands would make you think twice about shaking hands with the dude. The forces of heaven and hell are highly distinguished in their ranks of appearances; exaggerated character models add another level of fantasy to the experience (no, not that kind!). The stand out character design is awarded to War’s horse Ruin, the legendary flaming steed. Animations are extremely smooth, combat flows well in full motion, the odd occasional slowdown can happen, but it isn’t a game breaking issue. Sound design is a strong aspect; the imaginative weapons have their own distinct quirky noises. The soundtrack performs well to convey the eternal struggle between heaven and hell.

Darksider’s knows how to create an immersive world, but the polish isn’t always there to back up its cause. Low-res textures weren’t common attributes, but some became glaringly obvious.

GAMEPLAY
Chaos eater is very much an appropriate name for War’s ultimate sword, which brings forth ridiculous amounts of carnage and destruction. The chaos eater’s attacks are mapped to one attack button and a secondary melee weapon is mapped to another button, which allows War to utilise a mixture of light and heavy attacks. Combat can be handled in two ways, either by using a free flow approach or by specifically targeting a single enemy for a more accurate assault. Projectile weapons are both deadly and a means to solve mind bending puzzles. War can expect to come across a powerful revolver, a large throwing glaive, and a giant blow horn? Scratch that one! The magic attacks are very fun to use, turn War’s body into fortified stone or summon raging spikes from the earth to impale enemies. Fallen enemies will release different coloured orbs for the player to absorb, these consist of health, magic and enemy souls.

Darksiders employs a context sensitive moments to present cinematic finishers, whilst these manoeuvres aren’t as stylish as Kratos’ bloodthirsty ways, they still pack a hefty sword swinging i punch. When War really gets pissed off, you can activate his Chaos mode, which will turn the anti-hero into a huge flaming berserker and completely go battle crazy. It’s very important to collect as many souls as you can, which can be used as currency to upgrade your inventory items. The weapons upgrade system is extremely deep, allowing players to purchase new weapons, learn new attacks, add new magic-based abilities and acquire valuable healing items. The structure of the gameplay may seem linear, but the vastness and scale of the world allows us to spread our wings a little further. The world is split into various sectors, each with its own unique look and inhabitants. The demon lord Samael will instruct you to retrieve the beating hearts of defeated powerful hell beasts, but this will be done in a manner by which you will travel in different directions from a central point.

Players are also allowed to visit previous levels; which is a great way of acquiring special items or accounting for any missed exploration. Hacking and slashing your way through countless enemies would become a little tiresome; therefore War can use his traversal skills to navigate environments by swimming, climbing, tight lining and swinging across distant gaps. And, if that wasn‘t enough, War can summon Ruin to really let the carnage loose, the blazing steed radically increases War’s attack power and roars with great speed across most surfaces. The boss battles are a strong aspect of the design; they require brute strength and environmental manipulation to overcome.

As much as I loved the combat, I felt the ratio between projectile melee weapons wasn’t favourable. A few more weapons could have really spiced up the gameplay and given players more combo options. Puzzles are becoming heavily featured in many action titles, but Darksiders adds way too many into the mix, which severely disrupts the pacing of both the story and gameplay.

OVERALL
Darksiders is a good title, but the problem is that it takes so many existing elements from many current and past generation games. The story is simplistic, but does well to bring its protagonist into the spotlight. The graphics may not have your hardware overheating, but they present the world in a very lively and diverse manner. The gameplay is engaging and downright fun, but needs a little more individuality in order to express itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love sci-fi you'll love this game, 12 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Amazing! From the initial set-up to the emotionally-draining ending this is a superb game. I've been playing games for nearly 30 years now and this is the first time that I've ever been compelled to write a review. You do need to have played the first game to get the most out of the in-jokes and the continuing storyline but its not imperative. The game has been derided for being too much of the same and not having a more expansive roster of monsters and weaponry but I feel that the atmosphere, characterisation & challenging gameplay more than make up for a perceived lack of originality. Remember; shoot the limbs!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as its predecessor, 24 April 2011
By 
L. Evans "leeevans11" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
For fans of Dead Space this game is just as good. For those that havent played the series but enjoy a good scare get this! Im half way through and play in the dark on the edge of my seat, not a game to relax with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil in space, 27 Oct. 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I am never going into space. Never! I know it's unlikely that we will see commercial space travel in my lifetime (or at all if Einstein's theory of relativity is airtight), but in order to retreat from the horror of this game I just might run away to an island and live a life of coconuts and loincloths. Dead Space 2 ain't no tourist brochure for Outer Space.

Having never played the first game I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to keep up with the story, but thankfully there is a 'previously on Dead Space' option on the main menu. You play as Issac Clarke, an engineer who wakes up on a colony on Titan to discover that a disgusting biological accident called the Necromorphs have taken over. On his way to safety he also fights against the Unitologists, a cult who worship 'The Marker', a faux religious artifact that is actually a man-made weapon that turns human DNA to sludge. The resulting Necromorphs (terrifying monsters made from re-animated human corpses) spread the chaos as Issac flees through the disintegrating colony while hallucinating his dead girlfriend as a demonic ghost.

The dread in Dead Space 2 is overwhelming. It is honestly the most frightening game I have played since Condemned 2 (PS3). If you have a home cinema you can scare yourself to death by playing this at night, with the lights off, and sound turned all the way up. Every breath, every gasp, every distant rumble will make the hairs on arm stand on end, and some of the stingers (quite clever ones too) will cause your heart to stop beating.

The gameplay is the over-shoulder, run-and-gun type you've seen in Resident Evils 4 and 5. I suppose it is a survival horror too, but the environments get repetitive and it goes on for a bit too long. There are 59 trophies (8 of them DLC) of which I managed to win 51%. Multiple play-throughs are required for the platinum but I appreciate my sanity too much to fight to the end more than once.

I need to play something cute and happy to take the edge of now. Dead Space 2 is not for those of a nervous disposition.

Graphics A
Sound A
Gameplay B+
Lasting Appeal B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not up to its predecessor, yet a fantastic game!, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
Kevin Berne (Nussloch , Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
While DS2 is a fantastic survival horror game, I still prefer DS1 due to several aspects. First, the mood of DS1 was far superior, Titan station just can't compete with the Ishimura. Furthermore, the art direction of the game and thus the whole look is inferior to DS1 not in terms of polygons but from a design standpoint. The game itself relies far too much on darkness and disorientation for my personal taste. The gameplay itself is somewhat improved, but unfair parts are now much more common with hordes of enemies pummeling the player and the whole experience becoming more of a repetetive task than before. The soundtrack is worse than that of DS1, if that is even possible. Story sequences are now more detailed and cinematic, yet the sense of urgency that DS1 provided is somehow less palpable. All in all, DS1 was almst impossible to top, and that is exactly what happend. DS2 is a really fantastic game that fails to surpass its incredible predecessor. 4.5 stars, a sure thing to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary as hell!!!, 8 Sept. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Anybody who played the first game will know just how scary to expect the second in the series, definately a must......... you will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Space 2 (PS3)
Dead Space 2 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£13.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews