Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars121
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.07+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2011
inFAMOUS 2 is an amazing game, amazing enough in fact to push me to make my first ever review.

If you like sandbox games, comics or anything vaguely to do with super powers you'll enjoy this game.

Some people are annoyed at the new Cole voice actor, personally I prefer it, makes him less like the Christian Bale Batman and more a believable human being.

A slight criticism with the original inFAMOUS was that mixing up the powers didn't seem to happen much, I'd just spam the normal bolt, inFAMOUS 2 shakes the gameplay up a lot meaning things don't get stale.

The whole morality thing is much better integrated in this game too, choices are generally a bit more subtle and realistic rather than pantomime good vs evil.

So in short - awesome game, stop reading now and buy it, gogogo!
22 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
Infamous 1 was the first game I got with my ps3. I loved it and beat it several times, finding all the dead drops and completing all the side missions.

When I heard there was a sequel in the making, I was immediately excited. It was hyped up and up, and then eventually it came out. I got it straight away and beat it in a week. Was the hype justified?

Yes. Yes it definitely was.

There are several improvements that stand it head and shoulders above its predecessor. The first thing you will notice when you boot up the game is the graphics. The developers stated they wished to try and emulate the likes of uncharted in terms of visuals and it clearly stands out. Everything, from Cole's scarred and troubled face to Zeke's overwhelming beer belly have been perfectly represented in a way that was just not present in the original.

The next point is powers. You start the game with the core powers of infamous 1 and build them up from there. But the way in which you build up your powers is extremely innovative and works well. For instance, to get a certain grenade or bolt power you may have to perform certain stunts such as blast five people off a roof at once, kill three people while hanging from a building etc. This makes you want to try out these stunts, which increases experimentation and encourages you to use your environment to your advantage. Also, the powers are much better this time around in that a) there are many more powers, b) these powers branch a lot more which c) depends on whether you are playing through it good/evil (and d) encourages a second play-through playing with the opposite karma)and e) these branches create new unique powers that have their own pros/cons and force you to use each power depending on the situation. This almost makes it strategic.

The last point I want to make is the story. I found that infamous 2's story was stronger than the first, and I LOVED the first game's story. The comic book style cutscenes have been retained, which is great. However, the point I wish to put across is that, depending your morality, the game will end in very different ways, which are DEFINITELY unexpected endings (even more so than the first!). This feels like a bonus to the player, rewarding him for buying the game.

In conclusion, I would recommend this game to anyone. However, what I would say is play the first game before, as the game assumes that you have played it. Also, you get bonuses if you have done so.

Infamous 2 is a rare breed. It is a sequel that expands and solidifies every aspect of its predecessor's gameplay, graphics and story, while making itself an excellent game in its own right. Like Uncharted, this game is essential to every ps3 owner. Buy it!!!
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2012
Really hard to fault this game, it excels in every area. Enjoyed it from the moment I stuck it in the console, to the moment I platinum-ed it...

The game is off-line, but there are online DLC missions in the game to play too.

If you have yet to play this, then you have missed out. If you don't have a PS3 yet (why not?), then this game is surely one more reason to get one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
One of the best games I have ever played. if you are a fan of action or open world games, this is a must buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
inFinitely better than it's predecessor, but is that enough to make it a great game, or does it fall short on expectations?

Sucker Punch builds on a hugely popular franchise in some ways, but goes in a completely different direction in others. It takes pieces from the first game, some which make the game better, but it also leaves behind some key aspects which made inFamous the great game that it was. So all things considered, do the changes, or lack of them make this a successful sequel? I think so.

The game opens with main protagonist, or antagonist depending on how you play the game, Cole McGrath bidding farewell to Empire City, the location of the first game. He is travelling to New Marais with his best friend Zeke and NSA Operative Lucy Kuo, in an attempt to acquire new powers, to take down The Beast. Just before they depart, The Beast reveals himself, giving us our first look at it, attacking Empire City. Feeling he owes something to the city, Cole returns to face the mysterious creature, and after an eagerly awaited battle between the two, Cole's powers are drained.

He gave it his all, blowing half of The Beast's face off, but it wasn't enough, as The Beast regenerated, and is now heading towards Cole, towards Empire City. Knowing The Beast has bet him once, Cole is determined to get stronger, but will he be able to wield enough power to destroy the colossal being? You'll have to find out for yourself, but don't worry, all this action takes place in the first 10 minutes of the game, so I haven't spoiled anything. Pretty good opener eh?

From there Cole travels around New Marais, collecting Blast Cores to give him new powers, thus making him stronger. All of this happens as the Beast is making his way down the coast, and you can see his progress any time you pause the game, a feature which I liked. inFamous 2 has much more powers available to use than the first game, which could get messy, but Sucker Punch combated this with an easy to access power menu. With the tap of a button you can change the powers available to Cole, to suit the many different situations you will find yourself in.

When I first picked up the game I will admit that I was nervous for a while, wondering if they had kept one of my favourite things about inFamous. I am of course talking about the cartoon cutscenes, and to my delight, I am able to tell you that they return in the sequel. I loved these cutscenes for many reasons. The tense music, creative art style, and narrative voice of Cole all mixed together made a unique atmosphere, one which i greatly appreciated. Whenever I had done something significant, I would place my controller down, get comfortable, and watch the brilliance unfold. I am glad to say that they are even better in inFamous 2, making the overall experience that bit more enjoyable.

Other features were brought from the first game, such as the side missions, and my favourite collectibles, blast shards. There are 3 types of side missions in the game, good, evil and neutral. The neutral ones can be carried out no matter what karma choice you take. However, if you play a good side mission, it's bad counterpart will be locked out, and vice versa. They put a unique twist into some of the missions, letting you team with Kuo or Nix, depending on which choice you make. This freshens things up and gives the player a chance to experience gameplay with one of the two. I feel that Kuo and Nix are excellent additions to the game, as they offer different powers, and have completely different attitudes on life. Kuo fields ice powers, and will plan every action around the safety of others. The extravagant Nix has fire powers, and will often act without any considerations for innocent people. These two completely different sidekicks if you will make cutscenes entertaining, and often you will have to choose sides. They embody the karma system, making choices more difficult, as most players will want to experience gameplay with both characters.

All of that said, side missions can often be repetitive, and may get boring as you will often be tasked with defeating a large group of enemies, or following someone back to a base. In small doses missions are fun, and they offer the player a chance to make an area enemy free, but there are just too many, and since they unlock powers, you might feel as if you have to do them all, which becomes a grind.

Earlier I mentioned blast shards, which are and I quote "highly charged pieces of earth" , found all over New Marais. As you collect them you will unlock more battery cores, making you even stronger. If you played the first game, you will know how difficult it was to find all 350 of them. inFamous 2 includes 305 collectible blast shards, which may seen a daunting task, but it will be significantly easier if you have completed all of the side missions. I don't want to spoil anything, so you can figure it out for yourself, but let me say this, it won't be a tough challenge to get them all.

Something which changes hugely from the original game is the design of Cole. Not only does he look different, he also sounds different. Is this a positive thing? Yes and no. I liked the appearance of the original Cole, and in general I don't like games changing the design of their characters, but they could have made him look much worse. However, I am a fan of how Cole sounds in the game, as he actually speaks with emotion, unlike the first game.

Someone else who has a whole lot of emotion is Zeke, the only returning character from inFamous, except Cole of course. I feel that his return is a positive thing, and he proves his worth straight away, by inventing the amp, Cole's newest weapon. The amp changes melee combat entirely, making it more interesting, as well as more effective, especially against the game's newest enemy, the Corrupted. These creatures were once citizens of New Marais, but have been mutated, and now dwell in the swamps. They come in many different forms, the most common of which being Swamp monsters. There is also the Ravager, Hive Lord, Devourer and Behemoth, which are bosses, and given their own health bar. At first they are a breath of fresh air, but after a while, fighting them will seem repetitive.

Another force Cole will face during the game is know as The Militia, lead by Joseph Bertrand III. The Militia is dedicated to the elimination of Conduits, and has taken over New Marais. Bertrand is one of my favourite characters in the game, and he is involved in many of the main plot twists. There is another group of enemies Cole will fight during the course of the game, but you will find that out for yourself half way through.

I wouldn't be reviewing the game properly if I didn't address the karma system, graphics and of course the gameplay. The game is looking better than ever, and how Sucker Punch made New Marais look is a credit to them. The gameplay is very much like the first one, if it isn't broke don't fix it. Cole is easy to control, and after a few minutes with the game you will be flying over the streets of New Marais, knowing you have mastered the controls. Cole handles excellently, and you can feel his strength throughout the game.

Finally, the karma system, one of the main selling points of the game. This system will drastically change how the game is played, from simple choices to stopping a mugging or not, to huge game changing decisions. If you choose to play the hero, your powers will be blue, but if you choose to play through the game as the bad guy, your powers will be red. The game has two very different endings based on karma, giving you every reason to play through the game again, making different decisions, and getting a different experience.
This gives the game huge replay value, as to see everything you must play through at least two time.

All in all I think inFamous 2 takes an excellent game, and for the most part improves it. Due to this I feel that inFamous 2 is a must have for any Playstation 3 owner, and is one of the strongest games of the year.

Conor Leen
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
Firstly, I'll split this review up into three sections; gameplay, a short story and ambience section and pros/cons. Also, this is a spoiler free review.

GAMEPLAY
Very much like the first game; heavy on the shooting lightning, with decent platforming bits. As before, a good/ evil Cole gain different powers, lending to a different style of play. Tweaks have been added, such as your standard bolts now are now 'homing' to a certain extent, making the game slightly easier. However, the new power such as that of ice and fire really spice the combat up. The new 'amp' melee weapon is cool at first, but soon you realise you are just using a club.
As before, there are side missions; neutral ones, but also Good/Evil side missions. There is more variety to the side missions (thank goodness!), and on top there are random Good/ evil events, such as randomly 'silencing' a street performer. Also, the bosses are better than those of the original, and the scale of the world is much better. Finally, you carry on with your karma from the previous game, and your actions from Empire city are noted throughout. NB The user generated content shows promise, but at the moment very few good levels have been published, but this adds longegivity to the game, like LittleBigPlanet 2's online levels.

STORY/AMBIENCE
The story is as good as the original, starting off with rather annoying destruction of a certain city, but it's replacement, New Marais, is bliss to the eyes and ears. Good and evil are personified by two sidekicks, and you often have to help one or the other. The environments are very varied, lending to sustained interest. Furthermore, the graphics are a vast improvement over the original, if shy of amazing. Does anyone remember Cole sqeaking as he moved in the first? Well, if you do, that's gone too. The soundtrack is up to scratch, when heard (not amazing), but unfortunately Cole's voice actor has changed.

PROS
+Better graphics
+Improved Combat-many new moves
+Satisfying platforming
+Better setting (variety)
+Good Story- bring karma over from InFamous

CONS
-Different voice actor for Cole
-Melee combat still not great

To summarise, I couldn't recommend this to everyone, but if you played the original, like super hero games or like blowing stuff up, or are interested by anything mentioned above, this game is well worth a try- one of PS3's best.
55 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
I got this game a few weeks ago and im absolutely loving it.

For my first play through, i chose to go down the Good Karma path. Cole has all the same powers as the ones in the first game in addition to a load more in this one, all of them look spectacular especially when you purchase the upgraded versions.

New powers include Ice Rockets, Ice Grenades, A homing missile that allows you to fire it up into the air then you quickly fire a second shot where you want it to go! often with hilarious consequences. Theres an ice blast ability that launches you up into the air from the ground, saving you the faff of having to clamber up lampposts etc. Theres a power that allows to launch high into the air off of cars, similar to the ice blast ability, you can also throw vehicles and large objects about by making them levitate and aiming at whatever you want to fire them at, there are a few occasions when you need to picj up cars and throw them at attack helicopters. There are different types of "blasts", a rapid fire one, a heavy hitting artility one, a precision one (as well as the sniper one), and one that splits of into 3 different projectiles for maximum damage, there are so many powers it nuts! and they are just the positive Karma ones! i still havent unlocked the Negative Karma ones as the most powerful abilities are "Karma Locked".

The boss battles are epic and the huge creatures you have fight are amazing, without spoiling anything, theres a bit in the game where you have to escape hanging off the back of an attack helicopter whilst a huge monster is chasing after you through the streets, its ace.

It took me about 20 hours to finish the game and that was pretty much non stop, not much messing about and just cracking on with the positive karmas missions, so ive still got the evil karma path to look forward to. About an hour into the game you finally get to a point where the "User Generated Content" becomes availble, it took me by surprise when i first saw it pop up with some type of terms and conditions thing that i had to agree to, it was to use the UGC function sensibly.

What the UGC option allows you to do is create missions of your own, this new function is amazing and looks as though it is the same tools that the developers use, the only thing stopping your imagination is the mission content limit, one of the missions i created had 67 enemies in it, so that gives you an idea of the amount of enemies you can include in your own missions.

I have spent hours and hours making my own missions and as ive got my head around the more complicated stuff such as "object modifiers" and switches, im able to make more elaborate and complex missions. The mission developer is very easy to use and in the bottom left of the screen the three dimensional "objects" that you connect together show you what the outcome of those connections will be, its hard to explain without you having a good mess about with it. Sucker Punch give numerous mission templates for you to use as examples so that you can slowly build up your knowledge and experience at a pace that isnt overwhelming. Some teach you how to modify the reactions of enemies when they move into particular areas, their hostility etc. You can mess about with the hit points of characters even maing them god like, refilling Coles energy and health bar every 0.1 second so that he never runs out of energy and cant die etc. You can create missions briefs, set targets and way points and even get characters to lead cole to areas or force characters to move along pre-determined paths. You can also create timers and countdowns too.

Im absolutely obsessed with the User Generated Content tool!

You can filter the types of UGS you want to play such as Parkour, Race, Battle, kill em' all, assasination, defend etc, the list goes on and you can search for keywords. The seacrh and filter options work really well. The UGS missions appear as green markers on the map that you can walk to and when you get close enough you can see whatever the mission involves, objectives etc, these are typed up by yourself when you are creating the mission.

I could talk all day just about how quality the UGC tool is! Some missions ive made are as followed:

"A hectic race across the city against a load of ice men" (search for "hectic race")
"Shennanigans of an XP seeking nut case" (this would probably come up by just searching for "Shennanigans" lol)
"A leap of faith with a twist = daisy cutter nuke!" (search for "daisy cutter")
"Cloudy with a chance of Ice Men"

Theres a few others but i cant remember their names. If you do already have this game and are reading this, check out "A hectic race across the city against a load of ice men", ive spent well of 10 hours making it and id just like peoples opinions of it :) If you do have a look for it, please rate high and favourite!

I hope people have found this review useful, infamous 2 is an amazing game and actually looks better than the first, if that is even possible!

Thanks

Billy
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
STORY
In the months following the events of the previous game, Cole and his friend Zeke head to New Marais City and prepare to face the Beast. Cole sets about locating Dr. Wolfe and finding out more about a new device known as a Ray Field Inhibitor (RFI), which will subtract the powers of the Beast and make him easier to take down. This all sounds so easy, but there is a deadly militia group in control of New Marais and they see Cole as a ‘demon'.

The story goes a lot deeper this time; Cole isn’t bound by any emotional ties and truly feels the weight of his responsibility upon his shoulders. The biggest change towards Cole’s character was using a different voice actor; at first it seemed out of place, but to my surprise it works well. Zeke is not the annoying character that we knew him to be in the previous game, it’s quite the opposite and he is amongst the strongest support characters.

GRAPHICS & SOUND
I loved the ‘evil’ design of Cole, as your karma become more evil, then this will heavily reflect upon Cole’s appearance. The facial animation work has also seen a much-improved overhaul, the lip-syncing looks believable and this adds to the strength of the performances. The Beast is also very impressive in design too, completely engulfing the screen and presenting a powerful image of destruction. New Marais sprawls across two islands, there are residential, industrial, entertainment and suburban areas. The-entire map is more varied this time and feels fresh, which wasn’t the case for Empire City.

The illustrated cutscenes make a very welcome return; they were definitely one of the highlights from the previous game and look just as lovingly crafted here. Cole has many powers at his disposal and they all look fantastic in action. The updated game engine allows for sharper design and vivid colour. The stronger ‘ionic’ powers are breathtaking in motion, tearing through all obstacles and providing truly destructive gameplay. Sound design is strong, Cole’s powers roar with ferocity, explosions ring through the air every few seconds and set-piece moments provide some truly explosive effects.

Cole does occasionally produce some very jerky animations, this especially happens when looking at points of interest. His movements stutter about and there is no fluidity as he turns or walks. This also may be a minor criticism, but as you walk past random talking civilians, their mouths are clearly shut and not animated.

GAMEPLAY
Let’s start with the karmic choices; this will determine which path you will take from start to finish. it you want to take the righteous path, then it’s wise not to harm any civilians during missions; heal any wounded folk and choose ‘good’ missions. If you want to be an evil bastard, then do the opposite of all that is good, harm protesters, steal blast shards and attack the police. There are two endings to unlock, so sure you’ll want to play through the game twice and see how the outcomes differ. It is worth two play-throughs, not only are the endings different, so are the good and evil powers. Cole will begin with his standard bolt attack; from there you can upgrade your bolt attack, unlock different shock grenade types etc. The blast cores unlock some tasty powers along the way too, the Kinetic Pulse, and Ionic powers are my top picks. The Kinetic Pulse allows Cole to pick up objects/cars with kinetic energy and fling them in a devastating fashion. The Ionic powers are great fun to use, unleashing an electric tornado or a deadly blast wave of ice will surely have the bad guys running for the hills.

During the game you will have the chance to absorb new powers from fellow conduits. You may think that all of these powers will be at your disposal simultaneously, this is far from the case and you will have to juggle the various types of powers you acquire. You may think it will become tedious to keep changing your options, I believe it’s a healthy way to keep your combat fresh and tailor the experience to your needs. Gameplay largely consists of missions to acquire more blast cores, though there are some ‘on-rails’ sequences that certainly put your skills to the test.

The side missions are slightly more varied this time, however, a feeling of repetition creeps in after you’ve completed your 40th 50th one. Using grind rails and your static thrusters are great ways of getting about, though there are some additional powers that really put the fun into your travel. Tired of climbing up buildings? No problem, latch onto an electrical pipe and shoot up in a flash. It’s a great way to keep moving, especially when tracking down runaway fools. Enemies become smarter as you progress; they also have powers to put you to the ultimate test. There are also some larger enemy types. they have health bars of their own and are not very easy to put down. You can unleash ionic vortexes, throw cars with the kinetic pulse and unleash a barrage of shock grenades everywhere.

The melee combat is still unsatisfying, the animations don’t feel fluid and Cole seems to be sliding around as he attempts to hit an enemy. There are large enemy types to kick the s*** out of, but these are repetitive affairs and quickly lose their charm. The developers have crafted this wonderfully immersive game, it’s sad to see that it is lacking in scope and epic boss battles.

USER GENERATED CONTENT
Sucker Punch has us gamers the power to design our own missions. The control interface is very similar to that of LittleBigPlanet, there are template options available that help you slip into your creative role with greater ease. There are different types of mission constructs available, these can range from setting up races, taking on waves of enemies or completing objectives to reach a specific target. You can be very meticulous as to how you design your mission, this can be done by creating mini stories and incorporating certain characters into the overall design.

OVERALL
Infamous 2 improves upon its predecessor in many ways, the presentation is fantastic, gameplay is extremely satisfying and the graphics have received plenty of polish and detail. Cole has grown stronger as a character too, I had some reservations concerning his change of voice, but these were quickly shot down and did nothing to ruin my enjoyment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
Whilst it was brilliant in most aspects, there were a few problems that plagued the original Infamous and stopped it becoming the classic that it could have been. Infamous 2, on the other hand, promised all the polish and improvements that we had been looking for.

The story continues as you playing Cole McGrath, a courier-turned-superhero who was affected in a blast which allowed him to gain electrical superpowers. This time you're in New Marais, a city in southern Texas, with Cole having being taken there by an NSA (National Security Agency) agent named Lucy Kuo. The point of this is to make Cole strong enough to be able to defeat The Beast, an incredible powerful Conduit (someone who has superhuman abilities) who is on a rampage across America and is going to eventually wipe out humanity if he isn't stopped.

The drawback that all of you may have sussed out by now is that the story isn't very friendly to newer players. Someone who hasn't played Infamous 1 (which, if you haven't, I really suggest you do) will have a harder time keeping up with the story and might not find it as engrossing.

Presentation-wise the difference is incredible. The textures, anti-aliasing and the entire look of the game have been much improved from Infamous 1. Characters, buildings and the lip-syncing have all been refined and the whole look and feel is far better.
The voice-acting is quite a bit better, too, and all of them do a great job. In addition, the sound is just as good as the first, and is very well done.

The story should take about 15-20 hours, and in addition to the story missions, you are able to take over districts by doing side missions, most of which are neutral but some also offer Good and Evil karma choice. The same goes for the story missions, and your choice of Good and Evil karma choices ultimately affects the ending, character development as well as which additional powers you're able to unlock with the experience that you earn along the way.

Things to do on the side include collecting blast shards to increase your energy storage, (which allows for powerful attacks), finding dead drops, (which are audio recordings that give more a back story) and doing user-created missions, as well as being able to create your own custom missions. All of this is great, and unlike other games that tend to over-do it, this keeps it's additional content just enough to keep you satisfied; best of all, it stops the game, as well as it's trophies, from feeling like a chore.

The experience that you earn from killing enemies, doing missions and so on can also be used to unlock powers. The amount of powers available have been expanded, and in addition to unlocking them via exp, some also require you to do specific stunts in the game to be able to unlock and use them, as well as some needing you to do a certain number of side missions. This works quite well as it forces you to experiment within the game and see more of it, which is a lot more enjoyable than it sounds.

The free roaming and climbing, which is arguably the main thing that you'll be doing for most of the game, is stunning. Being able to climb just about everything as well as being able to experiment different methods of getting about with powers and such is tonnes of fun and really defines how great the game is.

Excluding that the story might be hard to follow for newcomers; the only downside is that there are still a few bugs. There were a few times when enemies would just stand there and ignored all the explosions and such around them. Some might also argue that lack of multiplayer was a let down, but personally that isn't much of a downside for a game like this.

Overall, Infamous 2 offers a great sequel to Infamous 1. Fans of the original and other gamers alike will no doubt enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
very good game much improved from the first one, although like most other people who played the first one was disappointed because you still cannot teleport still a very good game u have a amp to increase your melee abilities and you also get much more powers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£15.05

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)