Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Direction?
As a massive fan of all the previous Barbie DVDs I'm really disappointed by Mattel's decision to axe Kelly Sheridan as the voice of Barbie and their move away from the classic princess stories towards more modern and fashion oriented tales.

The film was still enjoyable but to me a modern day Barbie film (with loads of twitter/facebook references) can never...
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by Danielle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not ideal for younger Barbie Fans
My 4 year old twin daughters love everything Barbie, they got quite a few Barbie DVD's for Xmas this being one of them and although they watched it I would say its more suited for older children, my 2 much prefer 12 dancing princesses, the princess and the pauper and the diamond castle, but i'm sure as they get older they will want to watch a fashion fairytale more.
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by Freckles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Direction?, 24 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
As a massive fan of all the previous Barbie DVDs I'm really disappointed by Mattel's decision to axe Kelly Sheridan as the voice of Barbie and their move away from the classic princess stories towards more modern and fashion oriented tales.

The film was still enjoyable but to me a modern day Barbie film (with loads of twitter/facebook references) can never produce the same magical charm as a classic princess story and the warm fuzzy feeling at the end wasn't nearly as big as in previous offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
My 3year old loved it and one that i can still stay in the same room with, as Barbie in a mermaid tail i have seen enough of.
It has all a girl could want pink, glitter, fairies (sorry flairies), fashion, music and talking animals.
Very good as has most of the Barbie dvds.
Just dont think our dog want his name changed to Sparkle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not ideal for younger Barbie Fans, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
My 4 year old twin daughters love everything Barbie, they got quite a few Barbie DVD's for Xmas this being one of them and although they watched it I would say its more suited for older children, my 2 much prefer 12 dancing princesses, the princess and the pauper and the diamond castle, but i'm sure as they get older they will want to watch a fashion fairytale more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barbie goes "rom-com", 10 Oct 2010
By 
S Jones (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
and guess what - she's better than Jennifer Aniston. This film follows "A Mermaid Tale" and "Thumbelina" in being set in a modern environment but this one features a comedy sub-plot with Ken desparately trying to get back with Barbie but being frustrated at every turn. Like the two films above, its animation seems rougher, with the characters (especially Barbie herself) drawn more like Mattel's arch-rivals "Bratz". As other reviewers have noted, the actress voicing Barbie has been replaced, also a negative.

You can still play the "spot the character" game however: Eris (baddy in A Mermaid Tale) pops up as a shopper buying a dress; the truck drivers in Thumbelina are re-employed as taxi drivers; and the baddy from the Island Princess has a brief cameo at the beginning as a TV executive. Someone in the production team clearly had a bad experience with a girl called Raquel as the character who is Barbie's love rival in both this film and "The Barbie Diaries" is called this (and I think voiced by the same actress).

The bottom line - it's a decent entry into the Barbie canon, and if your young child has enjoyed any of the other Barbie films she will almost certainly love this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barbie fan, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Q. Diep "honest reply" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
I buy all Barbie DVD for my two girls who are aged 9yrs and 11yrs. Even at this age, they love watching Barbie. They were both looking forward to this DVD since it was advertised but I will be honest and say it was not a great as some of the other Barbie DVD that we owned.
There were far too much talking and not so much of action or excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars barbie is changing!, 18 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
the newest barbie film my children found enjoyable, barbie has been changing over the years, as my 7 year old says barbie is getting even more fashionable! this film definetly feels more grown up than previous ones, a good film though that girly girls will love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD for girls, my 10 year old daughter had this for her birthday and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion fantastic fun thats full of magic., 18 Sep 2010
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
My daughters copy of Barbie: A Fashion Fairytale came in the post today and it's more grown up then the other Barbie films but she enjoyed it just as much if not more then the other Barbie films. She is five years old and likes the music and all the fashion designer stuff throughout the movie. Barbie and her cute dog Sequin visit her Aunt in Paris where they must save her fashion shop from being shut down. There is alot of humour with Ken trying to find Barbie in Paris. Overall this is another big Barbie hit for my daughter and I expect other young girls who like Barbie too.

Bonus Features are as follows:

Outtakes
I Can Be...A Fashion Designer
Life Is A Fairytale - Music Video
The Ultimate Barbie Party
Mermaid Tale Music and Dance Video
Trailer Gallery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TOO MUCH PINK!, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
I canot belive this movie. It makes me run and get a sick bowl every time I watch it. I am NEVER EVER watching this again. It is just too much and by the time the fashion show bit comes on it gets too sparkly, too pink and histerical. Its such a shame just seeing alice's (shy fashion desighner) blue dress is turned pink by these pathetic "flairies. Fairies with flair!". I cant take it anymore!! Do not buy this for your daughter because honestly, It is absololute drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 3 girls love this film!, 6 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
I have 3 daughters between the ages of 3 and 6. They love all the Barbie movies and this one is no exception! They especially enjoy the humourous parts, music and the fashion show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD]
Barbie - A Fashion Fairytale [DVD] by William Lau (DVD - 2010)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews