Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last pure brilliance.
This CD is definetly worthy of your time. Brilliant enery with fantastic vocals and guitar. Pay particular attention to track three, Alcartaz, just real unmanufactored talent. Absolutely love it.
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by Mrs W

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I should Have Listened to the othere reviews
I really brought this album because of my mild obsession with Liverpool bands and family trees.

The Sound of Guns - Drummer Simon Finley - Formally in the band Freemaker and session drumer for Echo and the Bunnymen. Mates of Mile Kane (Rascals/ Little Flames/ Shadow Puppets) and the Coral/Zutons..........

I saw this band a couple of year back a...
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by P. Frizelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last pure brilliance., 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
This CD is definetly worthy of your time. Brilliant enery with fantastic vocals and guitar. Pay particular attention to track three, Alcartaz, just real unmanufactored talent. Absolutely love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars catchy but nothing new, 5 Aug 2010
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
Some really catchy anthems. Seen this band live and thats where they're best, but the album is definitely worth getting with about 6 of the songs always getting stuck in my head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Came From Fire.. Immense British Indie Rock, 2 July 2010
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
What Came From Fire.

The debut album from Liverpools Sound of Guns, has been a year in the making. I have watched this band develop over the last 12 months, performing to ever growing numbers of fans who instantly get it. As soon as you hear the live performance you are hooked,Either by Andy Metcalfs incredible Voice and persona on Stage or the thumping beats driving the tracks forward polished off with incredible guitar riffs, from a group of artits who were born to play together.

Sound of Guns seem to have mastered their craft in a very short period, not sticking to the safety net of other Liverpool bands who still think to be successful you have to follow the Liverpool formula of jangly acoustic guitars. Sound of Guns blow the cobwebs off the stereotypical Liverpool Sound delivering something that will have you chanting along after your first listen.

The Album was produced by Chris Potter who famously delivered the fantastic Verve Album Urban Hymms, you can hear the skills of this mans craft on the last track "it starts with End", this would not sit out of place on a Verve best of, showing you the diversity from Sound of Guns.

Highlights of the album for me are Collisons, with its sing along chanting, Bullets in the Bloodstream, and My White Noise, will be stuck in your heads for the whole of the summer.

What Came from fire, deserves to played to the masses, the band has earned great acclaim form many sources NME XFM, and BBC Zane Lowe. They have already performed at Glastonbury and this year they will be gracing Leeds and Reading festivals.

If you like the Enemy, The Rifles, KOL, early Oasis and Cast, then you love What Came From Fire.

It grabs you picks you up and doesnt let go from the very first track, it will blow your ears off, make your head bob off and when you think it cant get any better it will gently sooth you with 106( still the words) and it will up you down gently with "it starts with an end" What Came from fire is a great debut album, and Sound of guns are certainly one to watch..

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
Excellent album by a not very well known band. Went to see the band live last year and they were amazing. A definate must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound foundations, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
Echoing the thoughts of a fellow reviewer who also felt the negativity expressed by the one star review was unjustified, thought I'd chuck my own opinion into the mix.

It's a cracking album. Really is. For a band so early into their career to have crafted such polished and sparkling songs is pretty exceptional. I have to admit that although I have a reasonably broad musical palette, I am usually drawn towards heavier material - hence the driving, anguished sound of 'Architects' was what really sparked my interest. That's not to say the less pounding material is not of similar calibre; The coruscating, hook laden gems, 'Elementary Of Youth' and 'Collisions' keep the quality levels commendably high, whilst the more anthemic '106(Still The Words)' and Starts With An End add a splash of welcome grandeur without detracting from the bands overall sound. The guitar work across the board is tight and gifted without ever becoming overpowering and the vocals drip with honesty from first note to last.

Having heard/read the comparisons of the band to such established acts as U2, The Verve and Cast, it's certainly fair to say that echoes of such artists can definitely be heard throughout the album (perhaps unsurprisingly with the latter, considering Sound Of Guns Liverpudlian roots), without the band ever sounding like copyists of any specific artist or band.

In an age where everybody has the option to pour scorn and vitriol on bands through the internet, it's encouraging to know that there are still groups of lads prepared to do things the right way; hone their craft and work the live circuit hard in order to get some recognition. Sound Of Guns have all the right ingredients to move up in both terms of the public conciousness and recognition from their peers. Remember, this is their début album and should be judged as such. Whilst there may be greater things to come, this will do very, very nicely for now. In a musical world dominated by manufactured drivel generated by the cultural nadir that is Saturday night television, Sound of Guns stand tall and proud. Get in at the ground level, because finding the answer to What Came From Fire is a hugely worthwhile undertaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally..........., 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Came from Fire (MP3 Download)
Well, I have been looking for a modern band that I can really get into for some time now, they all seem to be quite predictable and samey, but this album blew me away. The whole feel is very powerful with some great vocals and tunes to go with it. I am a fan of some 80's bands and this sound is far from being 80's, but it has that 'stadium' feel to it in places that I just love. Finally, something new...ish, that I can get excited about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
Great band & great album.
I saw these guys playing The Academy in Dublin. There were only a handfull of people there.
They are selling out in the UK. Where are all the fans in Ireland. They don't know what they're missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic record, 3 Sep 2010
Amazing lyrics gets better the more you listen .........atmospheric and hooks you in bit by bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRUELY AMAZING, 3 Aug 2010
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
My First Review.

I wouldn't normally bother reviewing a purchase but I became really angry having read the review which gave this album one star. Everything in that review is rubbish, negative and frankly untrue.

Having just seen them at Kendal Calling, I was blown away. Brought along by a friend (I hadn't even heard of them), I was mesmerised by their powerful guitar rifts and pumpin' sound (you can quote me on that). When the lead singer jumped into the crowd I was worried that the tent was going to take off!! (I couldn't imagine the lead singer of the Editors doing that). At the end their set they looked genuinely moved by the crowds reaction, quite the opposite of the picture which the one star reviewer seems intent on painting.

Sorry rant over......

***BUY BUY BUY***

You'll be glad to have this album in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Buy Buy, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Came From Fire (Audio CD)
Excellent CD ...Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Came From Fire
What Came From Fire by Sound of Guns (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews