Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Release for a very good Teen Vamp film.
After almost 2 decades (maybe more) I finally got round to watching Vamp again and was glad I did.

Well shot and doesn't look like it has dated wither Arrow give it a fine transfer and in Blu Ray it looks Great. I love the locations used in Downtown Los Angeles and the seedy back streets and neighbourhood in general, gives a great backdrop for the...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by I love New York

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Do not get stuck for the drinks
Not really sure what this movie is trying to be. Most people read the review before purchasing. However most reviews are misleading or waste time describing the technology used in the presentation.

Fraternity pledges looking to find a cushy environment decide it is easier to provide a hooker than to hand themselves. The recruit a local geek (Gedde Watanabe)...
Published 9 months ago by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Release for a very good Teen Vamp film., 4 Mar 2012
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vamp [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After almost 2 decades (maybe more) I finally got round to watching Vamp again and was glad I did.

Well shot and doesn't look like it has dated wither Arrow give it a fine transfer and in Blu Ray it looks Great. I love the locations used in Downtown Los Angeles and the seedy back streets and neighbourhood in general, gives a great backdrop for the storyline.

f you like films like Fright Night (original)and Salem's Lot (original) you should enjoy this film.

4 Stars for a good film and great extras from Arrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From kid's TV to DVD, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vamp [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
It's good to be able to get hold of a quality DVD of this after years of trying to catch it on TV. I first saw this as a youngster and while it hasn't stood the test of time perfectly, it's still an imaginative and original comedy horror caper.

Grace Jones, one suspects, was one of the central selling points for the film originally, but while she does a fine job (mostly non-speaking) of leading a coven of blood sucking harpies, it's other elements of the film that hold the attention. The set design and lighting are both imaginative. It might not be the only film from the 1980s to have used pink and green neon lights, but it's certainly a fine example of how to make the city by night even more alien and disorientating.

Following on from this, the way the neighbourhood around the After Dark club is set up as something of a world unto itself is a nice touch. The seedy hotel, the diner, the grungy street gangs who somewhat confusingly seem to be both vampires and in conflict with vampires at the same time... Taking this further, the vampires' backstory is mentioned in a scene towards the end of the film, although like the characters, is never really properly developed.

Still, the film has at least some kind of, er, logic to it. Vamp is mainly about visual style, and when you add in the fact that Keith Haring contributed to the look of some of the club scenes (Grace Jones' body paint), it's fair to say that this is a quintessential 80s horror film: All fangs and no knickers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitive 80s enjoyable sillyness, 2 April 2011
By 
Chris Salmon "Chris S" (Alfreton Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vamp [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ah Vamp. It's been a long wait for this typically mid-80s cheese fest to arrive on dvd, not least Blu Ray, in a presentation that befits its reverence in my house. And another great package from Arrow Video. If I won the lottery I'd create a company like Arrow that gleefully release films that obviously they enjoyed as teenagers and that deservedly merit release now amongst a bunch of conveyer belt bull that festers in over priced cineplexes the length and breadth of the country.
But Vamp. A collection of great special effects, decent acting, Dedee Pfeiffer, fast paced script and generally satisfying all through. Made at a time before every film had to have special effects made by some eastern european 20 year old sat at a computer knocking out scene after scene of brain dead and weightless rubbish taking direction from some talentless director in another country over the phone.
There's more invention in this film than a dozen recent alleged 'horror' films.

Not a great film by any stretch of the imagination but an enjoyable 90 odd minutes of daftness, amusement and proper fx scenes in a film that knows its audience and has fun in the process.
Silly but recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s classic belongs on the shelf next to Fright Night, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vamp [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Although not so well known now, this was a hit on video on New World in the mid 80s and will appeal to children of the VHS era and fans of 80s tongue in cheek, stylish horror. I love it and love movies from the decade. Some will call it cheesy or dated, but I don't see that - I love the neon lighting, cuddly cute Dedee Pfeiffer, the yuppies, the incidental music, the songs and OF COURSE the brilliant and sexy Grace Jones. She steals the show and reminds you of that sexy, sophisticated girl in Fright Night Part II (when oh when will we get it on Blu or even DVD???) or Marsha A Hunt in Howling II (another must own 80s classic).

Arrow have come up with the goods on this Blu-ray, looking fantastic and sounding great, the movie really shines and watching it again I forgot all about that eerie atmosphere it has in that deserted side of town! The extras are really good too. Buy!!!

I reckon this, Fright Night I & II (not that appaling remake), Howling II (and III), Demons 1 & 2, The Lost Boys and Doppleganger are great horror movies that define the era with the music video look, if anyone can think of any I missed let me know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slave to the Rythmn, 11 July 2012
This review is from: Vamp [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Grace Jones as vampire stripper Katrina is really the selling point for this mid-1980s Comedy Horror. Jones strikes a bizarre yet somehow appealing figure, and her natural elegance and fearsome demeanour make her perfect for such a role. Other than GJ, this remains a decent watch - Chris Makepeace and Robert Rusler are likeable leads and Deedee Pfeiffer provides energetic and visually appealing support as bubbly waitress Amaretto. Highly stylised, full of disorienting neon lighting, and with a well rendered seedy backdrop, Vamp is a typical slice of Eighties cinema in all its garish pulsating glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the upgrade., 22 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vamp [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In order to Join a fraternity Keith and Aj must find a stripper for the frat brothers, heading to the wrong side of town they discover a strip club called the after dark club where all is not what it seems, and the strippers are after more than just the cash in your wallett! Vamp is one of those long neglected eighties classics previously only available on the decent anchor bay us release, bought by horror fans like myself who first caught the movie on late night telly. Its very cheesy, sure but vamp is also very entertaining with some pretty good acting excellent cinematography and use of color and manages to mix horror and humour in exactly the right doses, and I cant help but think quentin tarantino and robert rodriguez took a look at this before making dusk till dawn. If you havent seen this film yet buy it!
The question is for fans, is it worth the upgrade to blu-ray? I have to admit even after the terriffic jobs done on city of the living dead, inferno et al I was still unconvinced, as the anchor bay disc looks fine on upscale through my phillips dvd player with HDMI. Well arrows version looks BETTER. The colors have never looked so vibrant, with the reds and greens looking far richer than in any dvd upscale. The picture is razor sharp with minor amounts of grain and the sound mix is fantastic, i'm ebaying my anchor bay disc!
Extras wise, as usual Arrow have laid it on to give the fans an excellent package.
*Audio commentary with star Robert rusler and critic callum waddell.
*Introduction by robert rusler.
*Vamp it up-Dedee pheiffer remembers the after dark club.
*Vamp stripped bare-an interview with robert wenk.
*back to the 80's, producing a campy cult classic.
*scrapbook of scares-richard wenk looks over his collection of vamp memorabilia.
*Behind the scenes rehersals.
*blooper reel
*dracula bites the big apple-short film by richard wenk.
*trailer.
*easter egg.
*Jay slater collectors booklet.

Phew! quite a lot then, and all very informative for those of us after bonus features. This is a great package for fans, and a film well worth checking out if you havent seen it already. For those of you unconvinced by the merits of blu-ray Arrow have put the film out on dvd as well Vamp [DVD] [1986] (and save yourself a fiver) Either way this is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80's Nostalgia, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Vamp [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Vamp is an 80's horror/comedy that hasn't exactly aged well...which is a good thing in my opinion. The retro clothes, corny dialogue, and wild hair are all on display to glorious effect! The story is simple (in the best 80's sense): 2 guys try to impress a fraternity by securing a stripper to perform at an upcoming frat party. They borrow a car from an eccentric "friend" and hit the road to find a strip club. They find it...and it turns out to be run by vampires. Nice.
Grace Jones, who I personally never really understood the appeal for, has a relatively small role (although, admittedly, it's a memorable one)in the film.
Robert Russler, who was a mainstay in many 80's movies...A Nightmare on Elm. St. 2: Freddy's Revenge & Weird Science come to mind...is also in this film.
The gore effects are nicely realized...at least for the time period and budget they were working with.
All in all, if you like 80's movies (horror or comedy), you should dig this.
The cherry on top is that Arrow has released a suprisingly loaded blu-ray. The film print was apparently kept in pretty good shape as the transfer looks outstanding for a film of this calibur.
Additionally, it's loaded with extras. Many of which are just as fun to watch as the film itself.
Not to mention that the packaging is pretty nice too. It folds out to show different versions of the theatrical poster and also houses a nice little write up about the film.
Between the film, the transfer, the extras, and the packaging...it's a great product and comes higly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 80's cult Vamp flick and another great effort by Arrow, 2 April 2014
By 
Mr. N. M. Hornby "nhornby" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vamp [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you've read my other reviews then you've probably cottoned on that the only Arrow releases I own are the ones that come in slip-cases, with this being no exception.

The packaging; Arrow shine through again with the packaging; although the reversible sleeve wasn't really to my taste on this one I can see and appreciate the effort that has gone into it. The booklet, as usual, is a decent read and comes accompanied with a reversible poster overall 7/10

Video quality; the video presentation on this is great with the original grain intact providing a nice amount of clarity. The colour levels looked good and there was no defects. 8.5/10

Audio; there is only one track provided with this release, which is disappointingly just mono, although the track itself was clear, crisp with no audible drops so overall I give the audio 7.5/10

Special Features; as usual Arrow do not skimp on the special features with director interviews, retrospective's, behind the scene footage, a theatrical trailer and an introduction to the film by star Robert Rustler.

The film itself is decent B-movie fun and I'd never seen the film until I purchased it(less than 5 on Amazon) and I enjoyed it although I expect its one of them film's which are appreciated more with each viewing. Good performances all round and Dedee Pfeiffer was a babe :P 7/10

This was a decent film made into a great release by Arrow and I can see why it has its cult status. Great Audio/Video and packaging makes this highly recommend for fans of 80's movies/horror and it was a real bargain at less than 5!!

If you enjoyed this, be sure to check out my other reviews :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value,classic film, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vamp [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
pleased to see this got a refurbish,had it on vhs from being a kid,better picture and sound quality,loads of extras,they don`t make movies like this anymore,twilight,fright night,lost boys-remakes.....load of cgi crap,the make up is great,vampires look evil,great soundtrack too,well worth buying,arrived sealed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Do not get stuck for the drinks, 13 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vamp [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not really sure what this movie is trying to be. Most people read the review before purchasing. However most reviews are misleading or waste time describing the technology used in the presentation.

Fraternity pledges looking to find a cushy environment decide it is easier to provide a hooker than to hand themselves. The recruit a local geek (Gedde Watanabe) with money to travel to the seamy side of town to procurer their quarry; however when they meet Katrina (Grace Jones) who is the quarry?

I only saw the Blu-ray so I cannot compare media. However this is not one of those movies that need any special media unless you are looking for something on Grace that I missed. Naturally voice over comments add another dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad556e58)

This product

Vamp [DVD] [1986]
Vamp [DVD] [1986] by Richard Wenk (DVD - 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews