Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Moments and Shocking Clarity.
I wouldn't consider myself one of these Dario Argento buffs, raving about colour and chiarascuro BUT......
.......he does grows on you. The more you watch, the more you want. Not just the films, but the characters and the collection of bizarre moments and shocking clarity too.
I started off thinking the whole 'Italian horror genre' thing was overrated. I got...
Published on 17 July 2004 by marcusmuck

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably Argento's best and good example of 'giallo' but flawed
Don't worry - no spoilers!

I originally saw this movie many years ago in a Paris art-house cinema under its French title of 'Les Frissons de l'Angoisse' (shivers of agony) and, whilst not making a huge impression, did get under my skin a bit and stuck in my mind. I waited a long time to see it again. Luckily the digital Horror channel showed what I believe to...
Published on 10 Oct 2010 by Cartimand


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Moments and Shocking Clarity., 17 July 2004
This review is from: Profondo Rosso [DVD] (DVD)
I wouldn't consider myself one of these Dario Argento buffs, raving about colour and chiarascuro BUT......
.......he does grows on you. The more you watch, the more you want. Not just the films, but the characters and the collection of bizarre moments and shocking clarity too.
I started off thinking the whole 'Italian horror genre' thing was overrated. I got Suspiria on a whim and before I knew it I'd bought and watched Profondo Rosso too.
Its that Argento never seems to play straight.
There are moments of brilliance, style, suspense with genuine oddness but then some real rubbish: cheesy 70's dialogue and awful dubbing - but you can forgive all that and at least the music's not as intrusive as it was in Suspiria.
The editing from one scene to another is very abrupt too. Does he do this deliberately? Or is it a question of taste?
Every time you pin him down he confounds you- like he says on the DVD commentary- he tries to conjure up a dream with twists and turns.
I mean, fancy having slapstick farce in the middle of a very disturbing hacker movie?
The film gets more intruiging as it goes on. Same storyline as a million others but it's the ways its done. Visually splendid, with stunning scenery/sets, framing and his shot selection is second to none.
The opening shot which is in fact part of the credits is VERY disturbing. Don't miss it!
Well worth watching and never boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Profoundly good, 1 Jun 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a minor classic from director Dario Argento. An excellent thriller with horror elements thrown in that make the current wave of 'torture porn' movies look decidely second rate (which most of them are).

In the leading role David Hemmings plays a pianist who witnesses a murder and starts investigating them himself. Now why he would do this I don't know, but once you allow for this artistic licence, the film moves by with great pace. Full of atmosphere, tension, odd camera angles as well as the trademark roving camera for which Argento is well know. You can still also detect the influence of Hitchcock in this film. But Argento has moved things on to a different level.

Listen out for the music score by the Italian prog rock group Goblin. They worked with Argento on a regular basis and their pounding music scores added a little extra to Argento's films.

This disc contains 2 versions of the film. An English version which runs to 100mins and an Italian version that is 123mins. My advice is to watch the Italian version as this is in widescreen. The English version is panned and scanned. However your view on this will be affected by your attitude to subtitles and dubbing in films. In the English version of course David Hemmings isn't dubbed and there are no subtitles.

Argento is most famous for Suspira, which I was never a huge fan of. Buy this and 'The Bird with the crystal plumage' and in my view you'll own his two best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a wider audience, 26 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Profondo Rosso [DVD] (DVD)
Profondo Rosso is widely held to be Dario Argento's best film. It is also held by some to be fairly dull, with the inventive death scenes few and far between.
In my opinion, the second view is a mistake. The whole film is saturated with a menacing atmosphere, and almost every moment is a delight. Do you think the scenes of David Hemmings investigating the derelict house are boring? Look again. Visually it's wonderful. Do you think the scenes between Hemmings and his co-star, Daria Nicolodi, are unnecessary? On the contrary, they're integral, going a long way to dispel the accusation that Argento is sexist and also being a pleasant suprise in the not-usually-woman-friendly giallo tradition. (oh, and the scenes of the pair in Nicolodi's car are priceless...)
Argento can do more than just portray death, and it is also this quality that turns his film 'Tenebrae' into a small masterpiece. On the other hand, when Profondo Rosso (his very large masterpiece) deals out death, we again come up trumps, particularly with the last two murders. And who can forget the prelude to the psychic's murder, as the camera roams about the killer's possessions of knives, marbles, crudely drawn figures with massive bleeding?
Thus, it gets five out of five from me. One more thing before I sign off- Gabriele Lavia plays the unluckiest wretch ever to grace a giallo. I can't tell you why without massive spoilers, but just as you think it couldn't get worse...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profondo Rosso - a must own movie, 7 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. G. Williamson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For fans of the genre's thriller, mystery, and horror, this is a movie that their collections should NOT be without. Profondo Rosso (a.k.a. Deep Red) is one of Dario Argento's greatest works and it rightly deserves its spot in the IMDB top 50 horror movies of all time.
The movie's plot sees an American freelance pianist named Marcus Daily witness the murder of a famed female parapsychologist, who also happens to be his neighbour. Following what Marcus witnesses he becomes obsessed with the murder to the point that he decides to figure it out who the killer is himself. Little does he know however that by doing so he will put both his and his friends lives at risk as the killer (who is extremely brutal when it comes to murdering their victims) soon turns their attention to Marcus.
Within the movie there are many scenes that you are unlikely to forget, for instance the table of objects scenes which are accompanyed by a catchy goblin music score, or the mechanical dummy's appearance, or the movie's climax etc.
Profondo Rosso is a movie that is guaranteed to keep you gripped from beginning to end with its unforgettable story, superb matching soundtrack by Goblin (their movie debut I believe), great acting performances and amazing directing by Argento.
I would also like to suggest that instead of purchasing this edition of the DVD that you instead go for the Dario Argento Ultimate Collection (also from Amazon). The reason being is because for just around £3.00 extra (at the time of writing) you get the same DVD except with five other Argento movies, these being The Bird with the Crystal Plumage, Cat O'Nine Tails, Demons, Demons 2, and Phenomena. This suggestion may however only apply to those who don't own the majority of those movies already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably Argento's best and good example of 'giallo' but flawed, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Don't worry - no spoilers!

I originally saw this movie many years ago in a Paris art-house cinema under its French title of 'Les Frissons de l'Angoisse' (shivers of agony) and, whilst not making a huge impression, did get under my skin a bit and stuck in my mind. I waited a long time to see it again. Luckily the digital Horror channel showed what I believe to be the uncut version a few nights back and gave me the opportunity to exorcise the ghost and assess whether it really is the masterpiece that some believe. So, for what it's worth, here are my musings on Deep Red/Profondo Rosso/Les Frissons de l'Angoisse.

The genre known as 'giallo' (Italian for yellow) spawned a great many movies based on trashy and highly melodramatic murder/mystery novels, so named because they apparently used to be cheaply bound with yellow covers. They sound quite similar to what used to be known as 'Penny Dreadfuls' in England. Put Argento, with his penchant for eccentric direction, in charge of such source material and the result could have been cringe-worthy car-crash material at its worst. Well it has to be said that some of the dialogue is pretty dreadful and far from convincing. In particular the conceit of Hemmings often talking to himself in order to explain a plot development, was both unrealistic and insulted the intelligence of the average viewer. Furthermore, between the admittedly impressively gory killings, there is much superfluous dialogue and action that does little or nothing to advance the plot. I could certainly forgive the elements of humour (verging on slapstick in places!) that contrast effectively with the horrors to come, but what was unforgivable was an explicit and pretty damn vile scene of animal torture (the spiked lizard, which has been cut from some versions of the film), which is utterly gratuitous and will certainly diminish any decent person's enjoyment of the film.

The plot is reasonably coherent (for an Argento!) and everything falls into place pretty well at the moment of the grand denouement. You will probably even wish to rewind to watch for clues you may have missed. One clue is very blatant and careful use of the DVD pause button will reveal whodunit early on (OK I promised no spoilers, so I'll say no more). As for the music, it's rather incongruous and intrusive. Apparently Argento wanted Pink Floyd, but had to make do with some Italian band called Goblin, who produce an almost note-for-note rip-off of the latter stages of Tubular Bells first movement! Did Oldfield ever sue?

To summarise, this is a reasonable example of the giallo genre and is certainly a far more accomplished movie than the ponderous Bird With The Crystal Plumage or the ridiculously trashy Suspiria. There are a few truly inventive death scenes contained herein though and the overall atmosphere is maintained at quite an unsettling level. But Psycho it ain't! It's far too long with much tedium between the high points and the cheesy (and frequently poorly dubbed) dialogue will grate, as will the derivative and intrusive music. Also a star knocked off for the animal torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great film, 18 Sep 2007
This is one great film. It's a whodunnit that gets better and better every time you watch it. even once you know whodunnit its great fun to watch the clever story unfold. its packed with great violent murders, each treated with incredible style and accompanied by a fabulous score by the prog rock group Goblin. Deep Red is a great piece of cinema and if you are interested, the best introduction to Italian horror and its king Dario Argento. Next stop Suspiria. you have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argento at his chilling best, 13 Jun 2002
By 
MISS S MARSDEN (BELFAST, DOWN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Profondo Rosso [DVD] (DVD)
I watched 'Profondo Rosso' for the first time during my year abroad in Italy. I don't normally enjoy horror films,to me they're just senseless, tasteless gore, but my friend Paola practically nailed me to the sofa and said WATCH THIS! So I did. I was pleasantly surprised, well, I can't say pleasantly, I was 21 at the time and I had nightmares for weeks! Argento has such an inate talent for not only scaring the hell out of you but messing with your mind, and that to me is the most scary of horrors. My favourite scene - without giving too much away - was the one involving the bird....this film gave me the creeps and stayed with me when I wanted it to go away like another film, 'Don't Look Now', incidentally set in the foggy sidestreets of Venice. Watch it and experience a real Argento trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 2 Feb 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is a gem of a horror movie with its many moods and dimensions. The feeling of terror starts early when a clairvoyant giving a demonstration suddenly experiences a panic attack and lets out that there's a murderer in the audience. From then on, the terror takes many forms as we see glimpses of the past in an old house with a sealed room. The eerie children's singing and beautiful photography contribute towards making this more than just another horror flick. A true art movie (without being self-consciously so) but don't underestimate the sense of menace and doom that is maintained throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another glowing review..., 9 Jan 2011
For me this is Argento's best film, and probably my favourite horror film ever. It was actually much more creepy the second time I saw it (at night, alone), so much so that I had to wait until my partner returned home 3 hours later before I could go to bed. The soundtrack by Goblin, which first time round I thought detracted from the supense, is absolutely top class. Unlike other Argento films, there is a coherent and dramatic plot, and it doesn't contain weird 'arty' shots just for art's sake, although it is visually stunning. Daria Nicolodi easily steals the show as Gianna the journalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argento's best!, 6 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion this is Argento's best film.
It successfully straddles both the giallo and horror genres combining the two into an intriguing, creepy film.
Normally I would have bought the Arrow Video release as I like the packaging and poster that comes with their releases but sadly their transfer cannot hold a candle to this one, the Blue Underground version (which is region free and will play on any Blu Ray player in the UK).

The disc contains both the English and the longer Italian version of the film in a pristine quality. For a film shot in 1975 "Deep Red" has never looked better than it has on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Red [Blu-ray] [1975] [2010][Region Free]
Deep Red [Blu-ray] [1975] [2010][Region Free] by Dario Argento (Blu-ray - 2011)
£15.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews