Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I never!
The title of this book is a real give away to both its tone and content. It's full of quirky and little known facts, delivered with a dry humor.

The book is split into sections in a variety of ways - the larger lakes get their own chapters, the smaller lakes are grouped by region and in some cases the chapters follow the flow of a river. Each person seems to...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Stewart M

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new
Definitely disappointing. Very little I didn't know already and too brief in description to be of much use. Its OK to buy if you are just finding out about the Lakes but not recommended for an existing Lakeland lover.
Published on 19 Aug 2010 by A. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I never!, 8 July 2010
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The title of this book is a real give away to both its tone and content. It's full of quirky and little known facts, delivered with a dry humor.

The book is split into sections in a variety of ways - the larger lakes get their own chapters, the smaller lakes are grouped by region and in some cases the chapters follow the flow of a river. Each person seems to have a different view of the Lakes, and this arrangement has as much merit as any other - although I am sure that that Wainwright would have said his system was the best!

This book contains such facts (or possibly factoids) as : the Cumberland Pencil produces 500,000 pencils a week, in the Middle Ages Whitehaven was the second largest port in western England, Walney Island is the model for Isle of Sodor and that Holy Trinity Church in Kendal is the widest church in England. Whether such knowledge would improve a visit to the Lakes is debatable - but they are all worthwhile snippets to be produced at the conversational hour of your deepest need!

The book is illustrated with some rather fine ink drawings which add greatly to the quality of the book. The final section contains a Gazetteer of places to visit that are open to the public. This section is organsied along ths same lines as the main part of the book.

I don't suppose that it was ever the author's intention that the book would be read from cover to cover in more of less one go, but I admit that's what I did. It's more likely to be used as a book to dip into when you happen to already be in one of the regions described. It could also be used to help plan visits to a number of places that are off the main stream tourist track if you wish to find the UK largest collection of owls or some examples of fine topiary!

This is a charming little book, recommended to those who wish to explore the Lakes a little more - you could already live there, be planning to visit or simply be missing a place that you love, but in this book you will find things that interest you.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lakes, 1 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sent this to a friend who enthused about the information contained in this book. Although she had lived in the Lake District for several years, she found the book very interesting and packed with detail. A good read and useful for pub quizes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great unusual gift, 11 Dec 2011
A great book from a whole series of them. Unusual facts and stories to appeal to all particularly those with an interest in history. Ideal for the person who has everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 19 Aug 2010
By 
A. Smith "Irritable of Cheshire" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely disappointing. Very little I didn't know already and too brief in description to be of much use. Its OK to buy if you are just finding out about the Lakes but not recommended for an existing Lakeland lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book which I gave to my dad for Christmas. He has really enjoyed reading it and finding out bits and pieces that he didn't already know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Gift!, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've bought this for my father for Father's Day - having had a quick look through I'm sure he'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buttermere is my favourite place ever, 13 Sep 2014
Big fans of the lake district being going there for years. Buttermere is my favourite place ever. On saying that the book was so very interesting it related information that we just did not know about. The story about the Fish Inn was amazing.
Well done, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Never Knew That About the Lake District., 3 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of information about the Lake Dirstict as you would expect from the title.
But to my mind there was much too much space devoted to details about the hills, walking and Wainwright.
There was not enough trivia about the towns, villages, lakes and in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Never Knew That About the Lake District
£5.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews