Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest film I've seen in a while.
This film had me laughing out loud. Certain scenes were just genius! It is a fine example of taking an idea, pushing it to extremes and then taking even further!

The story is simple. Man wants promotion. Man gets chance of promotion and is invited to a special dinner with the boss where he has to impress - the catch is, that at this dinner you have to bring...
Published 21 months ago by The Truth

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Dog's Dinner
Jay Roach has done some quite enjoyable films, so, even though I really like the French original, I thought he would do a good job of producing an Americanized version of the Dinner. But no. The 'idiot' in the original is full of charm, an inadvertent wrecker, like Mr Bean. Steve Carell's 'schmuck', however, is charmless.

The pleasure in the French version is...
Published on 3 Sep 2010 by Graham Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest film I've seen in a while., 14 Oct 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
This film had me laughing out loud. Certain scenes were just genius! It is a fine example of taking an idea, pushing it to extremes and then taking even further!

The story is simple. Man wants promotion. Man gets chance of promotion and is invited to a special dinner with the boss where he has to impress - the catch is, that at this dinner you have to bring along an 'idiot' as entertainment.

Enter stage left Steve Carell, the walking disaster, who turns our Man's life (and everything else) upside down. Sounds rubbish, but it's totally hysterical.

The acting was by everyone was spot-on, with the supporting cast of nut-jobs putting in as great a performance and Steve Carell (who is of course excellent too) and the film's finalé was just hysterical.

The easily earns the title of "The Best Comedy I've Seen In A While" and I would happily watch it again. Laugh? I quite literally wet myself - but it's OK, it was with tears of laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :-) DVD, 31 May 2013
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with this plays great and didn't have to wait long for it to come so over all good very happy :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Dog's Dinner, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
Jay Roach has done some quite enjoyable films, so, even though I really like the French original, I thought he would do a good job of producing an Americanized version of the Dinner. But no. The 'idiot' in the original is full of charm, an inadvertent wrecker, like Mr Bean. Steve Carell's 'schmuck', however, is charmless.

The pleasure in the French version is watching the uptight executive's life unravel as his calculating plans go awry. In this film the executive (Paul Rudd) has been scripted to be sympathetic so the function of the 'idiot' as an anti-bourgeois provocateur is lost. What is left is a dog's dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid comedy, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
Dinner for Schmucks delivers exactly what you expect, a good comedic promise, an O.K. plot, and some laughs. It provides all these things, and gives you a good time. All the performances are great and really fit the characters. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dinner for Schmucks is a charming film, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Hilary G. May (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
Dinner for Schmucks is a charming film, from a book/play by the author of "The Birdcage" and it shares some features with that work. The story progresses in an unpredictable way, and the dinner at the end is the final climax, after a lot of scene-setting and information about the characters being laid out before the viewer. Steve Carell's character is child-like in his simplicity and Paul Rudd's character deals with him in a believable way, so they are both likeable. The film poses the question, "Who are the idiots here?" and it may seem that being rich and/or successful makes a person immune from that title. Some of the jokes are quite funny and some are a little obvious (even coarse). Don't expect too many "laugh out loud" moments. However, I watched this film twice (quite close together) and I enjoyed it as much the second time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I MADE YOU READ THIS, 22 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
The movie concept was great. In fact the dinner with the schmucks was very funny, I just wish there had been more of it. Rather than concentrate on what the title of the film would have us believe the movie is about, it takes its time to get there. The movie is about the relationship of Paul Rudd and various people including his gf, ex-gf and Steve Carell, the schmuck he has selected to take to a dinner filled with schmucks. This is a monthly event hosted by his boss.

Steve, our schmuck, uses dead mice to make menageries of his life and the history of mankind. He is really a nice guy, who through his stupidity messes up the life of Paul Rudd. The movie makers decided the movie needed a heart warming message that schmucks have feelings too, not thinking that the audience doesn't really care. I think making Paul Rudd attend multiple parties, building up to this one would have been better than the trek these writers took.

The movie was funny when it wasn't overly stupid. The reason why we laughed at those Pink Panther movies because there was a sense of possibility in all that stupidity. When you cross that line to no possibility, as this movie sometimes does, it becomes just stupid.

Listen carefully to Steve Carell's lines as he mixes up words. "After sex you curl up and assume a fecal position." Funny without fart jokes. While the humor is adult, I wouldn't classify it as overly crude. Three and a half stars for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing film, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
Carell, Rudd and Galifinakis can it get any better?! Very funny film, if you like Anchorman you will probably like this too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few laughs, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
Dinner For Schmucks is a bit of a disappointment. It has a great cast and some very funny ideas but it gets lost somewhere along the way in its attempts to portray the characters as likeable. Both leads are very capable of being funny but because the filmmakers decided to make Paul Rudd's character likeable it means that Steve Carell's character becomes irritating because he's constantly scuppering the hopes of a genuinely nice guy. It also means that Rudd's character has no arc and no real lesson to learn. He starts off as a nice guy and carries on that way. It's not all bad though, there are some great belly laughs in this film. The blind guy is a hoot and the story is rich with great characters and cameos. It's definitely worth a watch but it really could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very silly film indeed, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
This film is stupid and I love it. It is really left of centre field. I love the offbeat characters that inhabit Dinner For Schmuks. I am not a huge Steve Carell fan but this I have to say is brilliant. Silly humour and some real pathos. Don't expect anything to make much sense, just sit back and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] (DVD)
A fun and entertaining movie. A great cast who will have you holding your sides with laughter during certain scenes. Have already watched it twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dinner for Schmucks [DVD]
Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] by Jay Roach (DVD - 2011)
3.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews