Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relentless
Although I can see how casting the `All American' Tom Cruise would have been a hook, given the storyline, casting Jolie has probably produced a far more interesting movie and she really has excelled herself, a great performance and creation of a very memorable character. The same can be said for the rest of the cast - all generally not quite given the credit they deserve...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by Movieman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars who is salt?
who is salt? well, she is a female Jason Bourne, that's who. And it is as good as the Bourne movies until the ending. It just stops. There is no ending. It has a beginning, a middle, and a stop. You are left feeling angry, like you have been sucked into a money making exercise. Now I have to wait another two years to be ripped off again by a movie that wont be as good...
Published 14 months ago by Neal


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angelina Jolie at her angriest, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. S. R. Reece "Topcat" (West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great quality movie in 5 to 1 sound surround... she's mean and lean in this one...take no notice of the stupid reviews about the film itself..it is what it is..an action movie... just sit back and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Recommended by a friend. I was sceptical as I am not a fan of Angelina. Good film with plenty of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really love this film, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Very surprised to see that this has 3.5 stars. It's a very entertaining and emotionally gripping film made possible by Jolie's excellent acting ability. May not be to some people's tastes, but this is one of those movies which manages to get you emotionally invested in the story. That's quite a feat in my book, as I often leave a movie theatre not even remembering the story, but this was different. Didn't want it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I didn't go to the cinema to see this so I took the chance and brought it not knowing if it was going to be good or not and Angelina Jolie Plays Evelyn Salt and everyone thinks she is a Russian spy who is going to kill the president of the United States but she isn't the one and there is a lot of action in this film and I thought the cast they chose for the film were excellent the acting was brilliant and the story was fun and Angelina Jolie was the best and the stunts were brilliant and I wouldn't mine a sequel aka Salt 2 and a Salt 3 but I had so much fun watching this film and I don't care about the negative reviews I don't care what the negative reviews say I really like this film and that's it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salt & Pepper, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I went to see this movie cold not knowing what to expect & i must say Salt is a very entertaining spy-thriller..Definitely worth 4-5 stars....Angelina Jolie's portrayal of Salt/Russian defective & Liev Shrieber's support acting are superb....This thriller has so many twists & turns one can't make any confident judgement on which side Salt is batting for....therefore the interest & intrigue never lets up...There's some great action sequences too...as well as the usual gratuitous violence....so all in all a very enjoyable 90+ mins spent :)) Highly recommended..!! PS:- The way the movie ended suggests possibility of a sequel...Maybe they'll call it Pepper..??...lol..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Action Film of 2010, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This film is pretty much action-packed from start to finish. I have never been a particular fan of Angelina Jolie, but this film has converted me. She is fantastic in this film. It is slightly predictable in places, but nevertheless great entertainment and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic gripping film, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Saw this film at the cinema and it was excellent. Reminds me a lot of the Bourne films as its full of action and you don't know who the real good/bad guys are and what is fully happening until right at the end.

If you like action films that have a bit of a twist to them then this is the film for you. Angelina is excellent as always and Liev Schreiber is fantastic. The story is hidden for a chunk of the film as you get drawn in not knowing which side Salt is actually on and what she is up to.

Fantastic film. I will be buying it as soon as it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, But A Few Comments About The Blu, 5 Jan 2011
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Salt [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Angelina Jolie stars as Evelyn Salt, a CIA agent who has survived capture in North Korea. She is sent back to the US, where she is met by an old Russian sleeper, who fesses up about Salt's past, which in turn causes more controversy about the CIA rather than Salt's life.

This is a great film, with action packed scenes from the word go, Salt's got it all, power, moves and most of all energy. The action is fast and doesn't really compromise, with chases, explosions and death defying attacks from security squads.

I quite enjoyed this first time at the cinema, as it was deeper than most films, and even though there's not much dialogue, what script it has is used sparingly, telling us what we need to know and why, without idle chit chat. Both Jolie and Schreiber carried this nicely, with a worthy performance from Daniel Olbrychski. The soundtrack was good too, but rather chiche for this style of film.

The Blu-Ray is good, with 3 editions of the film, extended, director's and theatrical cut, making this a worthy release. There are countless extras too, mainly documentaries about the film and intelligence authorities, and some BD extra stuff online too.

The one thing I was annoyed about was the audio description; although nicely presented by John Briscol, he did not translate the Russian every time it came on, he did bits, usually with the confession, but during some parts, when he's on the boat, it goes silent and leaves us having to guess, or see what it says. As someone with OK sight, I can handle it, but as this is meant for blind people this is not good enough, and will leave frustration.

Otherwise this is a fine presentation of this film, and worth getting, the colours are great, well transferred and the sound was well balanced - with a 25mb/s AVC stream and TrueHD sound. This made it as good as it was in the cinema, shame about the smaller screen.

Worth getting, it'll show off your system nicely, though I am sure we've not heard the end of Salt, I feel a sequel coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXTENDED CUT, 11 Dec 2010
By 
JF Rodriguez (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
For those of you who are interested, here are the major differences between the extended edition (aka Director's Cut with a runtime of 99:48) vs. the Theatrical Cut (with a runtime of 95:54). Note: SPOILERS follow below, so read at your own risk. There are a few major, significant differences between the two.

LAST WARNING: DO NOT READ IF YOU DON'T WANT PLOT DIFFERENCES REVEALED!!!

1) Evelyn Salt's opening interrogation scene in North Korea is longer and more brutal. The soldiers force a tube down her throat and subject her to more intense questioning, followed by several kicks to the abdomen.

2) Extended scene of Orlov training little kids who will be future sleeper agents. As the kids finish a race through the woods, Orlov asks which kid was first, and which was last, whipping the last kid with a riding crop.

3) Abduction of Michael (Salt's husband) by Orlov's thugs is shown.

4) Additional scene where Michael tells Salt about a new species of spider that he has discovered.

5) Childhood scene between Salt and Schnaider at Orlov's training camp.

6) Salt's husband is NOT shot in the unrated edition; rather, he is slowly drowned and Salt is forced to watch. Michael's death is much more harrowing in the unrated edition.

7) Salt kills Orlov with a broken bottle, and the stabbing is shown in more detail, rather than off-screen.

8) Salt's rampage through Orlov's freighter HQ is more graphic.

9) Gunfights depict more bullet holes and blood, but nothing overly gory.

10) Winter kills the president in the unrated edition, whereas in the theatrical cut, Winter only knocks him unconscious. I always thought the theatrical cut never made much sense, because the president would easily be able to identify Winter as the traitor.

11) At the end of the movie, there is a voiceover that subtly suggests that the vice president is actually one of Orlov's sleeper agents, setting the stage up for a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salt Is Fantastic!, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I was gripped from start to finsh with this film and before i watched it i dident know what to expect but i was hooked cant wait for Salt 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salt [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free]
Salt [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] by Phillip Noyce (Blu-ray - 2010)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews