Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great dancing, decent rest-of-the-movie, but terrible 3D
This British movie provides a high-energy tale of dance, ambition and romance, avoiding the usual grime-and-gloom (or gangsters) that UK films seem to specialise in. However, they saw fit to try to film it in old fashioned 3D, which is diabolically bad. My review ignores the 3D disk you get, because it's little better than a tea coaster, and concentrates on the 2D...
Published on 8 Nov 2010 by M. Hepworth

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Red-green 3D, not active shutter
While Amazon has since updated the description, the Blu ray is red/green 3D, not active shutter. This really needs to be mentioned far more prominently.
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Howard Rothstein


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great dancing, decent rest-of-the-movie, but terrible 3D, 8 Nov 2010
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [DVD] (DVD)
This British movie provides a high-energy tale of dance, ambition and romance, avoiding the usual grime-and-gloom (or gangsters) that UK films seem to specialise in. However, they saw fit to try to film it in old fashioned 3D, which is diabolically bad. My review ignores the 3D disk you get, because it's little better than a tea coaster, and concentrates on the 2D.

Carly is the sassy girl in Britain's second best street dance crew, led by her boyfriend Jay. The best are "The Surge" (played by genuine group Flawless; Diversity also appear at one point). They hope to take top spot at the upcoming finals, but Jay announces he's leaving for "a break". Carly tries to carry on, but starts to make a mess of it, losing rehearsal space and half her crew. At this point she meets ballet teacher Helena (played by veteran actress Charlotte Rampling), who offers her a deal: free rehearsal space, provided she takes on five of her milksop ballet students and shows them the passion of streetdance.

From there you have a by-the-numbers tale of the two sides not getting on, then slowly accepting each other, some personal romance and betrayal, and finally the big showdown at the finals. The fact is that the plot is decent but not great - but that's not the strength of the film. It's real brilliance is the dancing, and luckily there's plenty of it. I have very little time for urban music and/or dance, but I was impressed by the high octane dance sequences. There's a stand-out sequence with Carly's new crew confronting The Surge in a club dance-fight, and the final show where their street/ballet fusion has to win over a hostile crowd is spectacular.

A word on the PG certificate: there are two "morning after" scenes where it's clear to an adult that Carly and Jay have been sleeping together, with Carly in underwear etc, but nothing explicit; and also a few particularly British swearwords (milder than F- or S-), so it might not be suitable for younger children.

This film has been enjoyed by several pre-teen girls, who loved the dancing, and liked the romance plot. For adults, it probably won't bear repeated viewing, but I've seen it 2.5 times by now and I've not got totally fed up yet, which is praise indeed by my standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Red-green 3D, not active shutter, 1 Mar 2011
By 
Howard Rothstein (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
While Amazon has since updated the description, the Blu ray is red/green 3D, not active shutter. This really needs to be mentioned far more prominently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends what your looking for!, 14 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [DVD] (DVD)
If you want a movie with great dancing routines which will keep you gripped and saying "Did you see that move? WOW!" Then this is the movie for you, high quality dancing and dance moves
If you want a movie with great acting and great story line .. this isn't the movie for you ... when l was watching this l felt like l had seen the story line a million times before and the acting wasn't that amazing .. these people are dancers not actors.
Worth a watch though and l enjoyed it because of the dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2d version 5 3d version minus 5, 9 April 2013
By 
Sd Sandover (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as thought was 3d had problems with it thought was 3d blue ray player playing up as just bought ended calling lg customer support to ask what was wrong with blu ray playing and they told me disc was faulty not a true 3d copy but 2d version ex so buy normal Blueray and it will blow u away so check before u buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any wannabe Street Dancers!, 2 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StreetDance [DVD] (DVD)
My little boy aged 8 absolutely loves this, he watches it over and over again and copies all the moves :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film isn't what I expected, despite not actually watching the 3D version, I felt drawn in.

I feel this is a great teaser for the street dance scene, although I imagine that those in the scene may feel let down or misrepresented as is often the case with movies.

I loved the twist in the middle, something didn't seem quite right which led me to expect it, but great all the same. (I'm not going to spoil it with details)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH 3D!!!, 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For Blu Ray the 3D is rubbish, the cover is bordering on misrepresentation for what you would expect with blu ray 3D!!!!! Just wish I had read the reviews before buying, already had the dvd in 3D, we got a proper 3D TV and 3D blu ray so thought it would be amazing to watch in proper 3D, unfortunately we were very disappointed as the blu ray version was no different or better from the dvd and you still had to wear the mickey mouse glasses!! Luckily it didn't cost too much and it has taught me a valuable lesson to check reviews and make sure it highlights that a 3D TV and blu ray is needed to view the film!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a true 3D Blu-ray, 29 Jan 2011
By 
BecR (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I brought this DVD expecting it to be suitable for my 3D TV - the Blu-ray comes with a 2D disk and a 3D disk however, the 3D disk is for playing on normal DVD players and wearing the old fashioned green and red cardboard glasses (4 pairs supplied) so the quality isn't great.
The film itself is okay, good soundtrack and great dancing, there's also plenty of cameos that'll have you guessing which reality TV show you recognise the person from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars streetdance 3d, 20 Jan 2011
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
the dvd is not full 3d effects, i have a 3d tv and dvd player, with active 3d glasses, the dvd looks better in paper glasses you get with it , and on a normal tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance movie, 3 Dec 2010
By 
D. Stewart (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: StreetDance 3D [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this at the cinema and couldn't wait for it to be released on DVD and pre-ordered it! Have watched time and time again - the dancing and choreography is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

StreetDance 3D [DVD]
StreetDance 3D [DVD] by Dania Pasquini (DVD - 2010)
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews