Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a delightful rite of passage...
Having spent 55 years dreading the big Six-0, decided to be a big boy and embrace it with open arms. So, hired a cinema and cafe-bar for the evening and invited 50 or so friends and family to come and share my Desert Island Mystery Film... The title, 'Whatever Works' more or less sums up my philosophy and, if not the greatest movie ever made, it certainly proved a real...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by Kevin Chandler

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Epigraph for Woody Allen : Whatever Works
This is vintage Woody Allen...and as the title of this review states; its Allens take on his own life, supremely delivered by Larry David. Yes, it's funny , especially the cynical monologues that are shot as first person narratives; Allen's bleak, clever, misanthropic take on humanity and our strange predilections, are truth serum for some and deal breakers for...
Published on 24 July 2011 by Samarees Sword


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a delightful rite of passage..., 7 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Having spent 55 years dreading the big Six-0, decided to be a big boy and embrace it with open arms. So, hired a cinema and cafe-bar for the evening and invited 50 or so friends and family to come and share my Desert Island Mystery Film... The title, 'Whatever Works' more or less sums up my philosophy and, if not the greatest movie ever made, it certainly proved a real delight with us all. Larry David is brilliant as Boris, hitting just the right balance between despair, misery, cynicism and the grudging generosity to give life another chance. One for the middle aged and older, methinks, probably wasted on the young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 11 Dec 2010
By 
R. Altman "Raphael Altman" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
this is not everyone's cup of tea - the underlying philosophy of
futility with comfort is presented bluntly and unflinchingly. if you
resonate with the philosophy and the general tenor of woody Allen's
matured take on life, then it's a non-stop chuckle from start to
finish. despite the fundamentally bleak view of human life (and humanity) it still finds and retrieves a positive way out (as summarised in the title).

not sure why Allen offered the part to David instead of just doing it himself - in any event, both do their job brilliantly. very simply done, the craft is sharp and scintillating - a diamond. possibly helps if you're close to Allen's and David's current age bracket too.

as for negative comments in certain quarters about it being 'unnatural' - yes, it's art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watching a Suicidal Genius in New York., 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I'm a big Woody Allen fan and I always hope his new films are going to be as good as his classics and this one almost is. Whatever Works most closely resembles Manhatten, Mighty Aphrodite and Anything Else but is fast moving, funny and different enough to not really notice the similarities so much. Larry David is fantastic as an even more grumpy and depressed character than how he is in Curb Your Enthusiasm, but is still very likeable and entertaining throughout the movie. The rest of the cast are also very good especially Evan Rachel Wood, Patricia Clarkson and Ed Begley Junior. Michael Mckean is sadly underused but you do get some scenes with future Superman Henry Cavill.
Of Woody Allens more recent films I'd give Small Time Crooks 4 out of 5, Curse of the Jade Scorpion 4 out of 5, Anything Else 4 out of 5, Melinda and Melinda 3 out of 5, Matchpoint 3 out of 5, Scoop 4.5 out of 5, Cassandara's Dream 1 out of 5, Vicky Christina Barcelona 2 out of 5, and Whatever Works 4.2 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 23 Dec 2011
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I am already a fan of Woody Allen's films, so was hoping that I would like this film and I wasn't disappointed. Larry David filled Woody's shoes very well in the role of Boris. The script was, as usual verbose, funny and thoughtful. It was hard to disagree with much that came out of Boris' mouth and like another reviewer said, if you watch it again you find bits that you didn't notice first time round. I've watched it twice now and would happily watch it again and again. Probably also more suited to the 40 plus age group who can emphathise a bit more with Boris' points of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever Works works!, 12 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a real return to form by Woody Allen - his funniest film in some time. The development of the situation is slightly strained at times but Woody Allen exploits it all with a very amusing script. Excellently acted by the two principals, I would recommend this to any film fan regardless of whether you are an admirer of Woody Allen or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie works, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Richard Hood (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is classic Woody Allen with the extra bonuses of Larry David, Quantum mechanics and even a 'menage a trois'. For me, this is perfection.

Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I seriously enjoyed this film - it was definitely Laugh Out Loud Funny. It was the little things that made it. Once again it was fun to hang out with Woody Allen in a darkened room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 Dec 2010
By 
K. T. Sims "Kayts" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Quite simply amazing. A little gem of a film, the performance from David is perfect and the dry wit is irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Standard, 25 April 2011
By 
C. T. Ballard (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The film will apopeal to all Woody Allen afficianados as it contains the usual mix of off beat characters, woody allen one liners, enjoyable scenary and a reliable though admittedly predictable plot.

But that is Woody Allen and why we love him.( or otherwise, but then you won't buy the film anyway.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars whatever works, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. R. F. A. Berger (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
It's become fashionable to deride the later Woody Allen movies and some reviews slated this film, but I thought it was very enjoyable, with the sort of clever plot twists which have made Woody Allen's films so original. Perhaps it is slightly eclectic, in that it uses many of the older routines from other Woody Allen movies, but Larry David is good, though I am no fan of his acting on the whole. The theme of the older man and the younger woman is also not new but put together in a memorably original way. The photography and visual qualities of the film are excellent as is the acting. Once again I think Woody Allen is at his best in a New York setting, his British attempt such as Match Point falling well sort of this standard.
This is a film I would happily sit through again and confirms my view that Woody Allen is one of the most original and distinguished film makers alive today, that is if you enjoy films of ideas and complex human relationships rather than stereotypes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever Works [DVD] [2010]
Whatever Works [DVD] [2010] by Woody Allen (DVD - 2010)
£28.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews