Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retelling NOT a Remake
Although hated or disliked by most I personally feel that this film was of a high standard. It is the only film I have seen at the cinema 3 times!
Like my title says it needs to be remembered that unlike Psycho etc they didn't just update the film and remake the original they took the story and made it new.
Yes on the downside the digital work could have been...
Published 5 months ago by A.M.E

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nightmare that has issues!
A Nightmare on Elm Street * * *
New Line Cinema
1000121780 (UK edition)
RT 01:45

`One, two, Freddy's coming for you, three, four, he's at your door' - and so on. Newline brings back one of the cinema's biggest villains in this latest remake. Now, for someone who has seen every one of Mr. Krueger's films over the years, this had to be good. The...
Published on 7 April 2011 by Mr. R. C. Thewlis


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retelling NOT a Remake, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although hated or disliked by most I personally feel that this film was of a high standard. It is the only film I have seen at the cinema 3 times!
Like my title says it needs to be remembered that unlike Psycho etc they didn't just update the film and remake the original they took the story and made it new.
Yes on the downside the digital work could have been better and made the overall edge of Freddy a little less scary but with the character they went much darker and even the 'quips' seemed more threatening than the original dark humour. Mr.Haley plays a great villain and is scary in a different way to Mr.Englund that is for definite!
With plenty of doffs of the hat (see start of movie and the sheep run across the screen etc) to the original they certainly kept the strange dream feel alive whilst bringing in modern thinking of sleep and dreams.
The characters weren't that well fleshed out and there was no real empathy towards them which again was a problem for many but then really how much was there in the original?
Making Freddy a child molester upset a lot of people too even though this was how the original was initially intending to take the character!! Along with this many have felt that the basic story was changed too much, well I say change can be good.
Whilst in the cinema I saw a younger generation come in and for the first time in a long time actually JUMP at scenes and almost hide behind their hands like the days of old. In a society where Horror movies have had to become more extreme with desensitisation it was good to see the classic scares being given an update and actually work where so many modern films fail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nightmare that has issues!, 7 April 2011
By 
Mr. R. C. Thewlis (Matlock, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Nightmare on Elm Street [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A Nightmare on Elm Street * * *
New Line Cinema
1000121780 (UK edition)
RT 01:45

`One, two, Freddy's coming for you, three, four, he's at your door' - and so on. Newline brings back one of the cinema's biggest villains in this latest remake. Now, for someone who has seen every one of Mr. Krueger's films over the years, this had to be good. The new cast sounded promising, with Jackie Earle Haley playing Freddy, Kyle Gallner as Quentin Smith, Rooney Mara as Nancy Holbrook, Katie Cassidy as Kris Fowles, Thomas Dekker as Jesse Braun, Kellan Lutz as Dean Russell, Clancy Brown as Headmaster Alan Smith and Connie Britton as Dr. Gwen Holbrook.

The format this time takes us back to the originals roots, with teenagers terrorised in their dreams by Mr Krueger the moment they fall asleep. As anyone who has seen a Freddy film knows, death follows quite sharply afterwards, and indeed in this one after just 10 minutes. With the teenagers deeply troubled and the adults not believing them, Nancy begins to suspect that not all is what it seems. When her mother and the headmaster become evasive about her questioning of past events, it's up to her, Quentin and Jesse to unravel what's happening and to try and save them from Freddy.

As with any Freddy film, the mood is captured perfectly. From the initial diner set up, with a lovely switch in lighting, Dean is about to meet his maker. It's a credit to the director Samuel Bayer and his cinematographer that they convey just the right amount of tension for major shock value, and they deliver in spades.

What is interesting this time is the back-story of Freddy himself, which for most of the previous films they only skated over. This explains in quite graphic detail of whom and how Freddy came into being and what the parents may ultimately be responsible for. This all sounds pretty good so far; however, this film has one big problem.

Jackie Earle Haley is a top name actor and as Rorschach in Watchmen he was utterly spellbinding. However, in this, whilst the acting is there, the makeup on Freddy doesn't seem to work. This is despite it being more accurate for a burns victim! Now, unlike Robert Englund, who had a little humour in his portrayal, Haley plays this dead straight. This is far nastier than some previous versions and takes a different slant on Freddy, which in some ways doesn't work. For the most part, the acting and nastiness win through, however there is something lacking from the performance and this is a problem when it's your main character!

Special mention must go to Kyle Gallner and Rooney Mara as they act their socks off in this, Gallner really evoking someone fighting sleep and not knowing who's after him and Mara portraying a haunted Nancy who does seem to know, but can't put a face to the horror.

The music by Steve Jablonski cleverly utilises the original themes from the first Nightmare by Charles Bernstein. Mixing this with his talents, what we have here is a score that has a class touch. From the main titles, we have that theme chilling the soul. Add in the creepiness on the diner, a fast pulsating beat as Jesse makes his run, a fast percussive run as Quentin sees how Freddy was dealt with. A very competent effort.

The special effects are well done and it's nice to see some computer trickery used to frightening effect, especially with the final shot, which wasn't expected at all. The short 13-minute extra basically delves into the re-creation of the Freddy franchise and into his roots, plus talks with the cast and director.

What we have here is a remake that brings new ideas but sadly lacks something in the delivery. If you have never seen a Nightmare, you may quite enjoy it. If like me, on the other hand, who has seen a lot, it's enjoyable but flawed, because the main character isn't quite realised enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'FALL ASLEEP' - 'AND YOU'LL DIE', 2 Sep 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Re-makes do often have a problem especially as in this case, it's of a true 'Horror' classic.
Well, they have delibertly tried to make it somewhat different but have not captured the genius that 'Wes Craven' brought to the screen way back when, the original did i feel have a greater sense of tension and shock built in along with a 'tongue in cheek' delivery.
This film doesn't quite capture the same atmosphere, yet it does have one or two 'jump out of your seat' moments, along with some brief spells of tension.
Watch it ? ---yes you'll enjoy it more if you don't try to compare it with the original 'Robert Englund' version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 22 Oct 2010
People need to stop comparing this to the original. Just think of it as a modern day Freddy movie. I loved it. I love all the Elm Street movies, and this wasn't a let down. I love how they've included something from each elm street film as a wink/nod to the fans. Great movie and lots of jumps scares and shocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can I have my money back please?, 13 Dec 2011
This review is from: A Nightmare on Elm Street [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I will be blunt. I hated the remake of A Nightmare on Elm Street.

The redesign of Freddy's appearance doesn't sit too well with me. I had heard that the crew were going to make Freddy scary again. This really didn't materialise. I'd actually prefer Robert Englund in the role of Freddy using the original make-up that has made the character a classic.

The `witty' one-liners that Krueger comes out with are just terrible and had me cringing at multiple points during the movie, "how's this for a wet dream?" springs to mind. Uttered when Nancy is running down a hall and the floor turns to some kind of tar-like substance. Other cringe-worthy one-liners include "I'm your boyfriend now", "your mouth says no but your body says yeeeeessssssss" and "I'm your nightmare". Truthfully, most of them are taken from the previous films, but they really don't age well at all.

On a more positive note, the re-tooling of Freddy's background was an effective alteration. In the original, Freddy is a child murderer, but in this "reimagining" he is a child molester. This helps significantly in making him more evil and really pushes you more towards hating the man. Rooney Mara is also specifically notable as her fantastic portrayal of Nancy brings the rating of the film up a little.

Nevertheless, this isn't enough to save this abysmal remake. Awful CGI (the blood Nancy falls out of in a dream), poor story progression and ineffective plot twists, not to mention the various obvious plot-holes and mistakes altogether with the fact that it's just not scary make this very so-so indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as i thought it'd be!, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The original Nightmare On Elm Street is a horror classic. The sequels were fun but not as good with perhaps the exception of the very undderrated New Nightmare and the less said about the dreafull Freddy vs Jason the better and i watched this with low expectations but while not exactly a horror classic, this is actually a fairly decent remake! This takes itself very seriously, ditching most of the jokes that threatened to turn Freddy Kreuger, one of cinema's all time great horror villains into a joke himself. Jackie Earl Haley is excellent as Freddy himself turning in a very menacing and quite scary performance and you get to see the origin of Freddy himself. Unfortunately the kids in the lead with the exception of Rooney Mara, the new Nancy, are very wooden, and it's hard to see any of those turning into the new Johnny Depp in years to come. As i said this is no horror classic, but it is a creepy and enjoyable horror film in it's own right. I was excpecting much worse!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch (and then an eBay listing)., 22 April 2014
This review is from: A Nightmare on Elm Street [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Quite a pedestrian remake with the only originality being lifted from the original.
Unlike some remakes (Halloween,Hills,Dawn,Carrie or Black Xmas,which for offered something new for me) this doesn't inspire repeated viewings.
It has no characterisation,therefore the deaths don't have any impact.However it is quite entertaining and the new Freddy is pretty effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Charisma, 6 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Nightmare on Elm Street [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I can remember after watching the original back in the day, I was scared to go to sleep after in case I had nightmares. This had the opposite effect: I started falling asleep whilst watching.

On the surface, it's a fairly decent modern "popcorn" horror (with slightly above average backstory and acting for this type of film). There is nothing really wrong with it, other than the fact it is pretty dull compared to the original. Freddy is decently acted, but has little presence or charisma (which Robert Englund brought to the role in spades). I just couldn't get involved in it. It made me wonder, whether the first film would have been fairly generic also if it had had someone less magnetic playing Freddy.

It's well made and glossy. The teens are fairly well acted for this type of film. Other than a couple of moments of realistic gore, the effects are fairly low-key and nothing amazing.

Something to wait for and watch on TV or the internet rather than buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not a very good actor Jack Earle Haley, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
According to a few people they said it was very gory but to me it wasnt that gory, the actor of Freddy Krueger was very boring this is the first time watching A Nightmare On Elm Street Film and to me it wasnt that bad of a film and now i have ordered a whole box set of A Nightmare On Elm Street 1-7 Blu-Ray and a lot of people have been saying that is so much better than this so I'm so excited to watch the old films and also I'm hoping that the actor will be a lot better than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good take on a classic horror film, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Nightmare on Elm Street [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Any fans of the original Nightmare on Elm street series will enjoy this as it is pretty faithful to the original, although updated to modern times. the actual killings seemed to me a little to gory and over the top-aiming more for sudden shocks rather than subtle terror in a manner reminiscent of youtube 'screamer' videos. However the film did show a more human side to Freddy Kreuger and the origin they showed for him is a quite a bit better thought out than 'some psychos raped a nun and now here's a dream-dwelling demon, wooo'. Overall a good film which, for those who haven't seen the original films, also holds up well as a good modern horror film. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Nightmare on Elm Street [DVD] [2010]
A Nightmare on Elm Street [DVD] [2010] by Samuel Bayer (DVD - 2010)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews