Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
278
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 October 2010
The Sorcerer's Apprentice is a daft but fun and extremely enjoyable family fantasy movie. Nicolas Cage and Alfred Molina are very over the top, in fact they both seem to be having a competetion of who can out ham each other. Molina wins, he's practically twirling his moustache as the villain, but looks like he's having fun making the movie as does Nicolas Cage who seems to be on a comeback this year. Special effects are very good, and there's a fun sequence that pays as a homage to Disney's Fantasia involving some brooms. Jay Baruchel is good in the title role, coming across kind of like Shia Lebeouf did in the first Transformers film. I'd like to see a sequel to this film as the film is left open for the possibility of one. The whole family should enjoy this. While it's not exactly the most original movie you'll ever see, if you like Harry Potter movies and enjoyed Percy Jackson And The Lightning Thief then you should enjoy this.
11 comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
This movie has it all---magic, mythical creatures, great special effects, a captivating tale, romance, as well as the quintessential Disney charm. If you're going in thinking you'll be seeing Mickey Mouse, clear your mind. This is live action and filled with Disney magic. Nicholas Cage delivers a fantastic performance as Balthazar Blake, a sorcerer personally trained by Merlin. Balthazar has spent the last millenium seeking for the one person that is capable of riding the world of the evil Morgana and her threat of overtaking the world with her undead minions. His quest leads him to a normal, everyday (Bless you Disney) geek, Dave Stutler(Jay Baruchel). Dave's a whiz kid that comprehends physics with a skill that makes me want to be his study partner in class, and is more than a little klutzy. Goodness, watching him in his office made me want my own Tesla Coil!

When our unlikely pair meet in 2000, poor 10 year old Dave accidently breaks open a coveted nesting doll that contains the evil persona of Maxim Horvath (Alfred Molina). How much more can a man be described as evil when his human body forms from a mass of slithering cockroaches? Ten years later, Horvath is seeking to destroy Dave, discovering he is the one individual capable of bringing an end to any plans of world domination.

The battle of good vs. evil is on but, first, Dave has to learn how to perform the magic that remains hidden deep within him. Reluctant, falling in love, and lacking self-confidence, Dave is a darling that makes the viewer laugh, groan in commiseration, and clap with glee when he succeeds. Balthazar is the teacher that makes one shake their head, wondering where he gathers so much patience with what appears to be a hopeless case. Harvath is slick, disgusting, but delivers an age-old charm that makes your skin crawl.

Overall, this is a good family movie. It's a bit too in-depth for the younger set, but those between the ages of 10-16 will find it enjoyable. Our audience clapped with enjoyment and laughed with the characters throughout the movie, as only true Disney fans will do. I enjoyed it, as did the kids, enjoying the clean family fun and magic that Disney always delivers. Remember to stay for the ending credits, producer Jerry Bruckheimer and director Jon Turteltaub are notorious for those little teasers they place at the end of the flick.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2010
The Sorcerer's Apprentice is a glorious romp of a movie.

The plot, such as it is, is pretty straightforward. Merlin has a fantastic battle against Morgana and imprisons her in a magical doll. His apprentice Balthazar has to search across the ages for Merlin's descendant who is the only one who can finally defeat Morgana and save the world.

The story moves on to contemporary New York where we meet Dave, the unlikely physics nerd who just might be our saviour.

Balthazar and Dave are pursued by Horvath another apprentice who has gone over to the dark side.

And that's about it really. It is a very entertaining action adventure with great special effects set against the Manhattan scenery. The performances are excellent. Alfred Molina makes a great villain. Normally I'm not a Nicholas Cage fan but in this instance his wild eyed manic approach is actually perfect for the part.

The action is great and the myth making does not intrude too much. There is also some nice comedy, particularly a lovely scene which is a pastiche or homage to the Sorcerer's Apprentice sequence from Fantasia.

This film is excellent for all of the family, but could be a wee bit scary for very small children. There is nothing very original here (the influence of Harry Potter, Indiana Jones and even the Sword in the Stone being all too apparent) but this is a couple of hours of good old fashioned excellent entertainment.
11 comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 December 2010
The Sorcerer's Apprentice is just a really nice fun for all the family movie, a mixture of magic & science. The film follows the opening storyline setting of Merlin and his 3 apprentices, of whom best friends Balthazar Blake (Nicolas Cage -Con Air) & Maxim Horvath (Alfred Molina -Spider-Man 2) are divided by a love feud between each other in the shape of the 3rd apprentice, Veronica (Monica Bellucci -Malena). However Maxim Horvath cannot win Veronica's heart from Balthazar Blake, so thus he turns against Merlin & joins forces with the evil Morgana (Alice Krige -Star Trek First Contact) to defeat Merlin & Blake in order to have Veronica by force.

However in the ensuing battle, Merlin is slain & Blake alongside Veronica manage to defeat Maxim & Morgana by trapping Morgana inside Veronicas body, and the both of them togher bound inside an object(a Russian doll?). The only way Blake can free Veronica & finally slay Morgana(who wants to take over the World) is to find another gifted Sorcerer's Apprentice & train them for battle. Now, after 1000 years of searching around the World, the Sorcerer's Apprentice purely by chance, stumbles across Blakes path at long, long last!

That is what the story is all about, and has now moved on to a modern day New York. I really enjoyed the imaginative idea's used in combination with the magic, many memorbale set pieces, and Disney fans who enjoyed Fantasia will love the scene where Dave uses his magic to get the mops etc... to clean with, like Mickey Mouse. All the actors did a very god job in they're respective roles, of note Nicolas Cage managed to control the crazy inside him enough to give a solid tongue in cheek yet serious, Con Air, style performance which suited well(he looked in great shape too). While Alfred Molina reprised one of his his usual evil villian roles to a tee. New to me was Jay Baruchel (How To Train Your Dragon), who plays the Sorcerer's Apprentice of the title, Dave, and does a good job as a bumbling student who lacks confidence after an unfortunate incidnet in his early life. Although he does sound a little like Adam Sandler on hellium in places, it's quirky though & i liked it, as it suited the character's flaws perfectly.

In conclusion, the story, acting & special effects all rolled into one, manage to bring this film to life as an highly enjoyable fantasy film. The music is upbeat too, so if you are looking for a film to sit down with the whole family & watch these upcoming Holidays, The Sorcerer's Apprentice, is right on the money for all ages. Highly reccomended.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
Nicholas cage is back on form!! It's been years in the coming but after years over over animated, manic characters it was great to see him play a controlled character to great effect. His apprentice, Dave, was like a skinny Ross Geller without much of the comic charm, I can't help feeling his affections would have made his love interest run a mile in real life.

The story was cliché'd, there was never any doubt how it was going to end, and `Dave' the hero seemed a little to old to convince, probably to justify his knowledge of Physics.

That said the movie was well paced, imaginative, packed with excellent effects/scenes and utterly engaging performances. The scene with the Chinese dragon was particularly strong. Took children from 5 - 12 and all thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Well I think that the 2010 Disney film of The Sorcerer's Apprentice is OK. Firstly I think that the American actor
Nicolas Cage did a good performance as the character of Balthazar Blake. Secondly I wasn't entirely sure that the actor
Jay Barchuel could perform the standards of practicing the elements of magic. It was OK for him to do on screen but
I didn't like it that much. However I think that the actor Alfred Molina did a fantastic performance as Maxim Horvath. It is because that I think that he has created a beautiful talent in other films such as the Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time and in Spider Man Two as Doc Ock. So those are just my overall opinions on this particular film. Thank you Amazon.co.uk. Three stars all round!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2014
Nicolas Cage plays his somewhat usual role in this film but he does it very well. I like fantasy films but only when they are well made, which this is. It held my attention all the way through and was very entertaining. That is what I want out of a film and that is what I got. If you want something with deep meaningful content then look for another film. If you want a well made fantasy film that is good fun then you will enjoy this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
It's a lot of fun, makes me want to see the original film again. Knowing the original made this version even more enjoyable. Main drawback is the "apprentice" actor, not in the same class with the others. Which would be OK if there had been some character development as his powers developed, but it was a disappointment that he remained the nerd (very necessary to the story) that he was at the beginning. But I would recommend this version to anyone who likes this sort of fantasy movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Brilliant version of the Sorcerers Apprentice with a lovely nod to the Disney animation that we know and love. Nicolas Cage is brilliant and everyone else takes the standard from him. Funny and magical, a great film for all ages, especially if you like the Harry Potter style of magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
The trailers did it again for me (as well as Nicholas Cage being in the lead roll) but I was a bit dissappointed in this production. As always, Nicholas Cage was great although a little different from his usual rolls he pulled it off being Merlins ambassador charged in finding the next generation of Sourcerers. Jay Baruchel (who) was hopeless and unconvincing as the apprentice, though as a nerd, great. He just didn't cut it for me, however his girlfriend (Teresa Palmer) added the much needed glamour to the film while Alfred Molina as ever played the villan brilliantly although where did they find his sidekick? He just wasn't needed and was for me merely an annoying intrusion to the storyline whose scenes should have been filed on the cutting room floor. All in all a reasonable film to sit through baring the annoyances but not one I would rush to watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse