Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars161
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2011
As has been suggested by the trailer, this film follows the often calamitous and frequently hilarious "other guys" Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell. This is a very good comedy and is well worth a watch.

The film begins with a brilliant cameo appearance from Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson, which introduces the comparatively dull main characters. There are excellent performances all around; from the performances of the leads to excellent supporting roles by Steve Coogan and Eva Mendes - everyone contributes to the film.

The one criticism that I would have is that amongst the many moments that will have you laughing out loud, there are a few awkward jokes that frankly feel forced and completely unfunny. Fortunately for Ferrell, his goofy demeanour and acting style allows him to remain funny when these situations arise; Mark Wahlberg on the other hand looks like the only person laughing at the joke they've just cracked.

I also admire the fact that the film, despite its comedy, attempts to tackle a serious and relevant issue in today's society - that of unscrupulous investors and bankers (a point that is hammered home with some interesting facts at the end credits).

This is a very funny film, with several very funny moments delivered by a series of excellent comedic acting performances. There will be the occasional "funny situation" that has you cringing, but bear with it and you'll be laughing again in no time!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Will Ferrell finds himself a stable job as an accountant for the Police in The Other Guys where he teams up with stressed out cop Mark wahlberg. The back story to Ferrells character is so funny I don't want to spoil it here, it's one of Ferrells best moments. The Other Guys is brilliant for so many reasons, but ultimately the main reason is that it's totally hilarious. Will Ferrell has been in so many funny films now he must be just about beating comedy greats such as Steve Martin, Jim Carrey, and Bill Murry, and thank god Ferrell hasn't gone the family film route yet. This film stands as one of Ferrells best along side Step Brothers, Anchorman and Old School.
Also watching this film reminds you how great Michael Keaton is when given a good funny role. I'd love it if he was given a leading role in comedy films again like he did in the 80's and 90's with Nightshift, Beetlejuice, The Dream Team and Multiplicity. Maybe the next Ferrell film could star Keaton alongside him in some zany comedy, that would be amazing.
The Rock and Samuel L.Jackson are also superb in this film, it is insanely funny what they do. It's sick that it's so funny. There's also a very cool Ice T voice over that works brilliantly. Normally I hate voice over narration in films yet it works the way Ice T delivers it. Eva Mendes is also good casting and truly hot playing Ferrells wife in some funny scenes with Wahlberg drooling over her. It's good to see Steve Coogan get a good part in an American film and not only appearing briefly (as he did in Tropic Thunder before having an explosive exit).
This DVD is a shorter cut(12 rating) than the Blu-Ray edition(15 edition) with some altered scenes. I have seen both versions and can say that over all the shorter version is probaly the better watch as the pace is quicker. I found this was also true of Walk Hard where I found the shorter cut better, yet I prefered the longer cut of Step Brothers.
If you're a Ferrell fan and loved his previous movies going right back to Night at the Roxbury then you'll definately want to see The Other Guys.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Very funny buddy buddy film. Mark Wahlberg shows a real flair for comedy as the stressed out policeman ,aching to do some real police work.
He is partnered with Will Ferrel who is a nerdy desk bound cop with a unusual ability to attract extremely hot young women and still be unaware that he has the power to do so-which drives Wahlberg crazy.Nice performance from Michael Keaton, reminding the viewer that he has a great comedy talent.Add Samuel L Jackson and 'The Rock' Johnson into the mix ,for a outrageously funny male chauvinistic performance and you can't go wrong with this truly entertaining film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
The big labowski is a film often quoted as a comedy classic. Well other guys...blows that film and many many others away no problem!...insanely funny it says on the box, well for once what is written to sell a film is 100 per cent spot on. Breathtaking car chases, which is so so tied old hat on millions of films,is fresh and for me jaw dropping in an over the top rework which sits with an amazing cast and script. Along with other reviews welcome back michael keaton. We love you! Will ferrell and mark wahlberg...thankyou...i could have been sat with my family watching x factor! The look at me watch my lips...we nailed you all...walnut britain!''''''''', as will lost himself in an early car chase would say....america!,,,,,the other guys..a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
I first watched this movie on a USA to UK flight, and even though the aeroplane environment meant that I was uncomfortably squeezed into a boxy seat and could hardly hear some parts of the film I STILL found it very funny! Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are an unusual pair to team up but it works; good to see Wahlberg doing some comedy. Also Micheal Keaton does a great turn as the Police Captain. A great parody of buddy cop movies!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I dont remember adding this to my lovefilm list but one day it turned up.

i think mark Wahlberg is a legend, but i dont like will ferrell. However this film actually was funny and a surprise hit. In no way memorable but for a cheap quick hit - you cant beat it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This movie was recommended to me recently, and despite being disappointed by the last four or five Will Ferrell starring outings I've seen I thought I'd give it a go. It starts off as a high-octane cop thriller set in New York, however once this somewhat misleading opening pans out, what's left is a frankly bizarre offbeat comedy, whereby Ferrell and extremely angry partner become embroiled in the dodgy dealings of Steve Coogan's foppish businessman. Suffice to say it's a mediocre affair with a couple of laugh-out-loud moments and some unsatisfying cameos from the likes of Michael Keaton, Eva Mendes, Samuel L Jackson and Dwayne Johnson.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 August 2013
Sometimes a `comedy' film boasts a whole host of A-list comedic actors and ends up not being particularly funny at all. Now, `The Other Guys' may have veteran comedian Will Ferrell as top billing, but Mark Wahlberg is an unlikely partner for an out-and-out comedy film.

But then The Other Guys isn't really a comedy. The humour is strange and not that obvious, let alone appreciated by all. I've seen plenty of reviews where people claim not to have laughed once. I, on the other hand, couldn't seem to stop laughing all the way through. However, like I say, this isn't really a comedy. It's only slightly less serious than the Lethal Weapon films. It's really a buddy-cop movie with shoot-outs, car chases and double-crossing that just so happens to be quite amusing as an off-shoot.

Ferrell and Wahlberg play off each other well and the supporting stars all have their moments, too. It's hard to say what the target audience is, as the film encompasses so many genres. I guess it's a bit of a shot in the dark as to whether you'll enjoy it or not. But, if you're generally into Will Ferrell movies, or you're in the mood for an action/thriller/cop movie/comedy then give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Will Ferrel and Mark Walberg are such a brilliant team in the film, it still makes me laugh out loud every time I watch it. if you are a fan of either of these two it is worth a watch. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
Incredibly funny movie. Ferrell at his best, marky marky - funky bunch but actually doing comedy well and Mendez being hot and funny. All round bonus movie. Highly recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)