Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film!
I first watched this movie on a USA to UK flight, and even though the aeroplane environment meant that I was uncomfortably squeezed into a boxy seat and could hardly hear some parts of the film I STILL found it very funny! Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are an unusual pair to team up but it works; good to see Wahlberg doing some comedy. Also Micheal Keaton does a great...
Published on 14 April 2011 by Sati

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They should have called the other guys to write the script because this stinks.
I really am going to have to start taking viewer ratings with a pinch of salt when films like this get 4 stars overall and 8.2 on IMDB. It just awful.

It starts out unfunny, stays unfunny for about 30 mins (although there are attempts at humour), picks up and becomes funny for about 2 scenes and then is just awful for the next hour or so.

I like Will...
Published 13 months ago by The Truth


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They should have called the other guys to write the script because this stinks., 12 Aug 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I really am going to have to start taking viewer ratings with a pinch of salt when films like this get 4 stars overall and 8.2 on IMDB. It just awful.

It starts out unfunny, stays unfunny for about 30 mins (although there are attempts at humour), picks up and becomes funny for about 2 scenes and then is just awful for the next hour or so.

I like Will Ferrel. I even like Mark Wahlberg - but together - they just don't work. There is zero chemistry between them on screen and the jokes are weak, the story long, pointless and convoluted.

By the end I'd lost the will to watch it and just had it playing in the background. It just didn't work. I seriously thought about giving it 1 star but think a 2 star rating is probably more accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film!, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I first watched this movie on a USA to UK flight, and even though the aeroplane environment meant that I was uncomfortably squeezed into a boxy seat and could hardly hear some parts of the film I STILL found it very funny! Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are an unusual pair to team up but it works; good to see Wahlberg doing some comedy. Also Micheal Keaton does a great turn as the Police Captain. A great parody of buddy cop movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gator needs to chill!, 11 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Will Ferrell finds himself a stable job as an accountant for the Police in The Other Guys where he teams up with stressed out cop Mark wahlberg. The back story to Ferrells character is so funny I don't want to spoil it here, it's one of Ferrells best moments. The Other Guys is brilliant for so many reasons, but ultimately the main reason is that it's totally hilarious. Will Ferrell has been in so many funny films now he must be just about beating comedy greats such as Steve Martin, Jim Carrey, and Bill Murry, and thank god Ferrell hasn't gone the family film route yet. This film stands as one of Ferrells best along side Step Brothers, Anchorman and Old School.
Also watching this film reminds you how great Michael Keaton is when given a good funny role. I'd love it if he was given a leading role in comedy films again like he did in the 80's and 90's with Nightshift, Beetlejuice, The Dream Team and Multiplicity. Maybe the next Ferrell film could star Keaton alongside him in some zany comedy, that would be amazing.
The Rock and Samuel L.Jackson are also superb in this film, it is insanely funny what they do. It's sick that it's so funny. There's also a very cool Ice T voice over that works brilliantly. Normally I hate voice over narration in films yet it works the way Ice T delivers it. Eva Mendes is also good casting and truly hot playing Ferrells wife in some funny scenes with Wahlberg drooling over her. It's good to see Steve Coogan get a good part in an American film and not only appearing briefly (as he did in Tropic Thunder before having an explosive exit).
This DVD is a shorter cut(12 rating) than the Blu-Ray edition(15 edition) with some altered scenes. I have seen both versions and can say that over all the shorter version is probaly the better watch as the pace is quicker. I found this was also true of Walk Hard where I found the shorter cut better, yet I prefered the longer cut of Step Brothers.
If you're a Ferrell fan and loved his previous movies going right back to Night at the Roxbury then you'll definately want to see The Other Guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 April 2011
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This film is well worth a watch, it made me laugh from start to end, watch it people you won't be disappointed, unless you don't like Will Farrell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'IF YER' BREATHING YOU'LL ENJOY THIS', 27 Aug 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Must admit if someone had told me that i'd find 'Will Ferrell' and 'Mark Wahlberg' teaming up in a tongue-in-cheek movie 'funny' i'd have found the idea---funny, but i'd have been wrong, because, this film will have you splitting yer' sides with it's dead-pan humour.
The story starts with 'Danson' and 'Highhsmith' ( Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson' and Samuel l Jackson' ) grabbing all the glory as 'NYPD'S' super cops, when they become victims of their own invincibility, the precinct's cop-partners compete to be seen as their replacement 'heroes'
Among the suitors 'Allen Gamble' and 'Terry Hoitz' ( Will Ferrell' and 'Mark Wahlberg' ) probably the least likely to do so, however the two latch onto a 'big-time' crime operation, despite being warned off by their superiors, they just can't let it go......but do they realize what they are getting themselves into ?
Give this a whirl i'm betting you'll 'love it' ................enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn funny, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Incredibly funny movie. Ferrell at his best, marky marky - funky bunch but actually doing comedy well and Mendez being hot and funny. All round bonus movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a very funny film, 18 Mar 2011
By 
M. Kearney (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
As has been suggested by the trailer, this film follows the often calamitous and frequently hilarious "other guys" Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell. This is a very good comedy and is well worth a watch.

The film begins with a brilliant cameo appearance from Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson, which introduces the comparatively dull main characters. There are excellent performances all around; from the performances of the leads to excellent supporting roles by Steve Coogan and Eva Mendes - everyone contributes to the film.

The one criticism that I would have is that amongst the many moments that will have you laughing out loud, there are a few awkward jokes that frankly feel forced and completely unfunny. Fortunately for Ferrell, his goofy demeanour and acting style allows him to remain funny when these situations arise; Mark Wahlberg on the other hand looks like the only person laughing at the joke they've just cracked.

I also admire the fact that the film, despite its comedy, attempts to tackle a serious and relevant issue in today's society - that of unscrupulous investors and bankers (a point that is hammered home with some interesting facts at the end credits).

This is a very funny film, with several very funny moments delivered by a series of excellent comedic acting performances. There will be the occasional "funny situation" that has you cringing, but bear with it and you'll be laughing again in no time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is one of the best films ever - the opening is brilliant and unexpected (well the first time round!!!). Eva Mendes is awesome as Wills wife, with some great one liners all round. This film is a hoot from start to finish.
Buy it !!! I promise you will be quoting lines from it for ever!!!! As i do - "Aim for the bushes", I'm calling BS on that, I need an MRI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it's funny, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I wanted to have it.

Smart jokes and ads, nice action. The movie also gives some info about some financial scandals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Funny Guy's, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Set in New York City when two of the city top cops (Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson) die in the line of duty it falls to the Other Guys; pen pusher Will Ferrell and disgraced cop Mark Wahlberg to step up to the mark and prove their worth and investigate the dodgy business dealings of Billionaire Investor Steve Coogan.

The Other Guys is quite a strange film with a double identity of Comedy/Corporate Crime Satire (See the end credits which is basically a PowerPoint presentation of how fraudulent business schemes such as Hedge funds work).

The cast of the film is quite good with Will Ferrell and Steve Coogan with some good lines but the two stellar performances in the film are Mark Wahlberg playing the straight man role and his short fuse and explosive temper. The other is the legend that is Michael Keaton playing the police captain with some excellent one-liners and a penchant for quoting TLC songs.

The film is by no means highbrow comedy but it is a fun film and worth a watch for a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other Guys [DVD] [2011]
The Other Guys [DVD] [2011] by Adam McKay (DVD - 2011)
8.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews