Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works in 2D no probs :)
Thought it would be worth leaving a review to say I've just tested this 3D disc on my PS3 connected to standard 2D HDTV and it works perfectly fine, including all features. Picture and sound are lovely too :)
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Mr. R. Lamb

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the series, if you're a horror fan
Alice travels to a beach where she believes survivors are, when she gets there she finds Claire Redfield who has lost her memory, but nobody else. They later fly past an abandoned prison surrounded by zombies, they amazingly manage to land the plane on the roof and join a group of survivors that coincidently contains Claire's brother, Chris. They have to find a way to get...
Published on 25 July 2011 by West25


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the series, if you're a horror fan, 25 July 2011
Alice travels to a beach where she believes survivors are, when she gets there she finds Claire Redfield who has lost her memory, but nobody else. They later fly past an abandoned prison surrounded by zombies, they amazingly manage to land the plane on the roof and join a group of survivors that coincidently contains Claire's brother, Chris. They have to find a way to get from the prison to a ship called Arcadia, where more survivors are supposed to be.

The plot for this film is very thin, and seems to lose touch even further from the games on which they're based. The acting is decent from most, but Shawn Roberts seems horribly miscast as Wesker, I think he thought he was playing Agent Smith from The Matrix. Whilst I mention The Matrix, this film has far too many Matrix style fight scenes. Wesker is able to dodge bullets in slow motion, yet he gets hit by a flying knife which moves much slower. I just found it a little strange.

The film has so many slow motion scenes, Michael Bay would be proud, it's that bad that the slow motion probably adds at least ten minutes to the run time. The opening fifteen minutes is a massively over the top action sequence, it's a million miles away from the gritty realism the first film went for. Just after the ludicrous first fifteen minutes, Alice is given an injection that makes her a regular human again. I was really glad they did this, but they seem to forget about it and within no time she's superhuman again. Many of the zombies have evolved, much in the way the vampires did in Blade 2 and they look very similar. There's a creature in this that would be right at home in a Silent Hill game, but it looked cool and I didn't mind it. My main disappointment was that this film loses all of the horror element of the games and earlier movies, this is just a full blown action film with some zombies thrown in.

Wentworth Miller plays Chris Redfield who first appears as a prisoner, he even says "I know a way out of here". I'm not sure if this was a purposeful nod to his Prison Break character Michael Schofield or not, but it got a chuckle from me. Paul W.S. Anderson is more than capable of making a really good horror film, he directed the outstanding Event Horizon. I was hoping he'd direct this film much closer to the first film, as he returned as director having stepped down for the previous two.

As a horror film, Resident Evil: Afterlife is absolutely terrible. As a brainless, summer blockbuster action film it's actually pretty good. I think it's a shame that the action has all but taken over from the horror, and I really hope that the fifth film gets back to the horror, but from the way this film ends it doesn't seem possible. The picture and sound quality on the Blu-ray is superb, and is definitely worth getting instead of the DVD. There's plenty of extras on the disc, including a commentary, featurettes, deleted scenes, outtakes and more. It had a $60,000,000 budget, so the effects are ambitious and work well most of the time, but I'd rather have a solid script over big action scenes anyday.

Resident Evil: Afterlife is not a terrible film, but it is the worst of the series so far if you're more into horror like I am. It's probably the best so far if you're after action. Milla Jovovich is made to look quite attractive again in this, they somehow managed to make her look very ordinary in Extinction. The quality of the Blu-ray which boasts excellent picture and sound means this product is worth three stars. Well worth adding to the Blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works in 2D no probs :), 7 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. Lamb "Rich" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thought it would be worth leaving a review to say I've just tested this 3D disc on my PS3 connected to standard 2D HDTV and it works perfectly fine, including all features. Picture and sound are lovely too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Public 3d Release Yet, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In Resident Evil Afterlife we continue the revenge of Alice against the evil bio-weapon manufacturer The Umbrella Corporation. A company whose accident has turned most all of the worlds population into zombies. As Alice notes in the prologue - the T-Virus took hold and killed the world - only it didn't stay dead. The films short 97 minutes see Alice travel to Tokyo, Alaska and Los Angeles - and despite the lack of budget the apocalypse looks pretty good.

Shot with the James Cameron Fusion Camera system we find that they have been used to good effect. Thankfully they producers avoided the temptation to poke you in the eye (mostly.) A lot of the time you don't notice anything special the film just has more depth. In the action though they have clearly taken care and in 3d they look especially good. In the tried and tested way of summer blockbusters there is little in the way of plot; beyond trying to destroy what remains of Umbrella; so the film relies on the action to carry the plot forward. Its lightweight and but sometimes that is all you need for entertainment; though Zombieland is still my favorite of the genre.

The Blu Ray comes with a fair selection of bonus features with the directors commentary being particularly interesting and there are the usual making of's and outtakes features. There is also a very early trailer for the next CGI Film Resident Evil: Damnation. Its the Best 3d blu-ray I have seen; and second only to avatar in terms of its presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
3D is well done (not the same as in the cinema but thats because its a different 3D filter)

3D and 2D versions

Behind the scenes

For 3D you WILL need nvidia 3D hardware including a pair of glasses and IR reciever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 3D movie so far!!!, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Tonnee (Burlington, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this movie especially in 3D. That's what makes this movie so special. The reason why i bought through Amazon UK is that in Canada they only give the ENGLISH AUDIO Dolby Digital and give the french audio DTS MA. This for me was unacceptable. 80% of the population in Canada speak English.So when i checked out Amazon UK and found that there version has the English DTS MA audio track and was region free for me that was a done deal. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Video - Audio - Subtitles, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Video: 1080p HD - 16x9 - 2.35:1

Audio: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1: English, Italian, Spanish; Dolby Digital 5.1: Catalan; Dolby Surround: English audio descriptive

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Italian, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Hindi, Norwegian, Polish, European Portuguese, Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milla Jojovich and Ali Larter . Beautiful leading ladies!, 15 Sep 2012
By 
PB Boston (Boston, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a shame that folks call a movie drivel. Reviews are so personal and subjective. A good objective review is so much more helpful.
I surmise that many men folks and probably more than a handul of ladies enjoy watching the beautiful , sexy Milla and Ali acting and projecting themselves onscreen for our enjoyment. ex Prison Break, Lost actors etc are very appealing and visually enjoyable, and raise the movie above the average. I really enjoyed the titillation at the end, the trepidation of how Alice and team will react / resist / survive the endless stream of futuristic aircraft & troops heading their way. .... Enjoyable escapism, fabulous digital effects / so seemless that you don't actually realise they come ' out ' of a programme. Did it meet my expectations? A resounding Yes! All power to the teams of digitally skilled, dedicated employees who patiently and earnestly design, expand and graphically bring to life the stunning images that this genre of 'digital' movies bring to our senses to savor and enjoy. The 'settings' followed on well from the previous movies. The story made great sense, a very satisfying scene when the baddy got his come-uppance. And after all is said and done, movies are for our "entertainment" ; to liven some otherwise dull, boring times and for a few (escapist) hours these actors, producers, directors and unseen talents provided a mesmerizing spectacle to enjoy! Keep on with the series and I anticipate enough satisfied audiences will 'finance' more sequels,especially in 3D - a fabulous cinema experience to relive in home comfort after the Big screen Cinema 3D experience to whet our appetites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just love it!!, 16 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a total fan of the Resident Evil films anyway, so to be able to enjoy one in 3D was just pure joy for me.
I know you dont exactly have to put your brain in gear when watching these, but for pure entertainment and thrills, well I just love it.
3D effects were amazing. Gotta love Milla Jovovich and Ali Larter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Fest, showcase for 3D!, 13 Sep 2011
Excellent if you like zombie movies! The story is not very orignal... but who cares! The effects and cinematography are amazing, and some of the more natural scenes are just beautifully real in 3D. Great for showing off your 3D telly,but be prepared for hack'n'slash on a big scale. Similar in places to "the Matrix", and perhaps a little cheesy to some, but I love it! Aren't many movies I'd watch 3 times in 2 weeks(With different friends), but I did with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can not stop wanting more, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Resident Evil - Afterlife (DVD)
loved all of these, seen before so I think this is just brilliant. makes a great change as plenty of action and thrills that you have to watch out for.
brilliant acting. glad I do not have to cross her. just a pity they did this horrible thing to such a beautiful lady, and a figure to die for, well a lot did lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil: Afterlife [DVD] [2011]
Resident Evil: Afterlife [DVD] [2011] by Paul W. S. Anderson (DVD - 2011)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews