Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


167 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and realistic
Of course we have no real way of knowing what the fourteenth century was really like but in this film set in the time of the Black Death director Christopher Smith portrays a grim land stalked by plague and an evangelistic Christianity that is entirely believable. Eddie Redmayne plays Osmund; a novice monk, who has already been tempted by the sins of the flesh and is in...
Published on 22 Aug 2010 by PJ Rankine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
it was ok
Published 7 days ago by mary


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pagan bashing propaganda, 17 Oct 2010
By 
R. M. Burrage "RandyRos" (Norfolk, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
It looked to be a good film. Started off well, being more historically accurate than other films (eg. using oxen to pull carts because horses were expensive then).

But I was more than annoyed by the Christian heavy Pagan-bashing it involved. Again, probably historically accurate, but do we REALLY need to be putting into people's heads that Pagan's can bring back the dead (a trick, as it turns out, as we all know!), and should be purged from the land?

I, as a Pagan, find this very offensive! Most people are ignorant of the true Religion of Pagans, and films like this just reinforce the negative stereotypes of Pagans and practitioners of Wicca, that our Christian officials like to uphold.

It contained some very good acting and it was a good storyline, but it certainly wasn't as shocking and horror filled as the trailers make out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow, it's amazing....they got funding for this, 23 Sep 2011
By 
K. Neale (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sean Bean, known for action roles (some with a bit of character depth) was one of the reasons for chosing this film, that and I like medieval films.
The sleeve of the Blu-day looks like it will be an action fest, but is rather a thwarted love story and strength of character of the innocents.
Very slow, few battle scenes (and these are of the 'waving a sword around' type instead of properly researched, choregraphed clashes. The story initially shows promise before dwindling to two-dimensional characters; a quasi-hippy community (patronising) before dealing with some 'witchcaft' plot.
Avoid this. It's really rather pants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic!!!!!!!!!, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This film is the absolute most pathetic, rubbish, boring movie I have ever watched, and i've watched Homeboy. Yes this is worse than Homeboy, and that is the only achievement that this film achieves. Nothing happens from start to finish. The most regret I have ever had after purchasing a film. In other words avoid this one like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead from the start, even Bean cannot save this poor tale., 6 May 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A disappointingly ungraphic, low rate British tale. There is little action, wooden amateur acting and a painfully dull story within this. Sean Bean does his best to lead a lagging horse of a b-film, with his usual on screen presence, but this film fails to be anything but EXTREMELY poor and pointless.

Robin Hood, Centurion, Solomon Kane, and more are all better, similar ilk Movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cast and crew have fun, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The story is the let down here. You are anticipating proceedings to kick off when the travelling band get to their destination, and confront the evil necromancers with the arse-splitting machine et al - but what we get is a damp squib. The group fall for the "poisoned wine" routine and the film just doesn't get going after that.

I was confused by the young priest expecting to rendezvous in the forest with a girl - how was that arranged between them without a mobile phone?

The extras show the filmakers had fun making the film - just wish it came across the other side of the camera lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid . . ., 17 Oct 2010
By 
R. D. MCKONE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Not for the faint-hearted, suicidal or manically depressed. Anyone in any of those categories could well be tipped over the edge by this load of brooding, depressing, negatively charged codswallop. Nothing convincing at all in this would-be epic, no heroism, just a bleak portrayal of good failing to triumph over evil. I can't even be persuaded to to call it realistic, if that's what the intention was. The violence is simply gratuitous if graphic, but totally fails to impress. Avoid like the . . .
Come back Sharpe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont bother, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
an appropiate title, it died of death for me, there seemed to be no start and no end. dont know why sean bean bothered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hated it, 5 July 2012
By 
R. Howlett "Squaccy" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Sean Bean...why?! WHY?!

That's all I really have to say. I'm amazed Sean bean put his name to this film. It was bleak, gruesome, with obscure story lines and twists. Was way worse than the synopsis let on, so I was completely grossed out by the end of it. Thinking of selling my copy asap because I hate it so much!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but puts Pagans in a bad light, 11 Jan 2012
By 
L. Topp "toppuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I watched this last night and it was quite an interesting story. The only thing that spoiled it was that the people in the village were portrayed as evil. I am Pagan and we are not like that at all (not nowadays anyway). We worship the old ways including nature and believe in a peaceful life. Anyway I would watch this again, also the word 'piss off' I don't think came about until the latter 20th century.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Black Death [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
looked forward to a good film with Sean Bean with some history thrown in.
What a let down. Rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Death [DVD] [2010]
Black Death [DVD] [2010] by Christopher Smith (DVD - 2010)
2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews