Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film that inspired the Wacky Races
Watching this was a pure nostalgia trip for me as I can only remember watching it on tv when I was about 6 years old one Christmas time. I could only vaguely recollect one or two scenes of the film but it is a joy to own on dvd some 30 odd years later. Jack Lemmon, physically unrecognisable in this film because of the great job done by the make-up dept, plays the Dick...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Peter J. Chambers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so great, but not so bad either - but avoid the German DVD
Dedicated to Mr Laurel and Mr Hardy though actually closer in tone to silent Keystone comedies, Blake Edwards' epic comedy often mistakes expense for wit and is surprisingly short on real laughs but still manages to throw in enough entertainment value in its rather padded out running time to make an acceptable Sunday afternoon matinee. Unfortunately it's rather overplayed...
Published on 24 Jan 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Race, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Race (Jack Lemmon / Tony Curtis) (DVD)
This is a great movie! Very funny :)I really like Jack Lemon as an actor and his movies like "The Great Race" and "Some Like It Hot" as examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not exactly what i wanted, 31 May 2013
i did not realise that the cover was all in german, i dont speak german, otherwise i would not have brought it, it was lucky that theres an option where i can watch it in english.
the quality was still good and brought back old memories.
i think i'll buy my dvds at a shop, at least i will know what im buying!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the great race, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Jessie Campbell "catbluerome" (dorset , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
delivered very quickly and in a very good condition
i would recommend the company to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the good ones., 13 Sep 2009
By 
Ian Lundegard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have just received a dvd of the most enjoyable film 'The Great Race', and have been asked to review my purchase.

The usual effective amazon delivery of course, and I'm very happy to now own a copy of this very amusing film.

A great race it is indeed, with plenty to smile and and laugh at on the way.

Ian Lundegard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Race, 18 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic comedy film - Jack Lemmon's villian kept me laughing from beginning to end. The DVD also played on my Phillips DVD, despite worries about being the american format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simon's Great race Review, 4 Aug 2009
By 
S. Mortimer (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is very much a film of its time, slapstick, silly and throughly good fun; i prefer its sister film "Monte Carlo or Bust" that doesn't seem available in Region 2 DVD format, why?? but its a funny romp that makes me laugh out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Film requires a language button on the handset to change language, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD is a German import and according to the small label attached to the case you must change the film language vie your handset as there is no language screen at the front of the film. This information is missing from the site when you purchase. As my DVD set does not have a language button this film is junk as far as I am concerned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wanted to play in the UK, 18 Jun 2011
By 
K. Lowe "thekat" (wolves,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brought this for my dad
I am not very technically minded and know nothing about such things
but of course,when he received it and it wouldn't play,I was well pissed off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed!, 29 May 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remembered this film with fondness, but found it is not a patch on Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines, Those Daring Young Men in Their Jaunty Jalopies (AKA Monte Carlo or Bust), or It's a Mad, Mad, Mad World. At 160 minutes, The Great Race is the longest of the 4 movies, and at least 30 minutes too long. The lengthy sequence near the end with the attempted overthrow of the prince (who is a dead-ringer for Professor Fame) is tedious and seems to go on forever. With this sequence deleted the film would be faster paced and much more entertaining. My advice, buy the first 3 films I mentioned, rather than this one.
Those Magnificent Men In Their Flying Machines [1965] [DVD]
Those Daring Young Men in Jaunty Jalopies [DVD] [1969] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Its A Mad Mad Mad Mad World [DVD] [1963]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews