Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Diamond Diva
Fantasia Monique Barrino is an American Idol survivor
(she won in 2004) and 'Back To Me' is her third album.
Ms Barrino has a very fine voice indeed and on this
recording it sounds better than ever. She is an artist who
has managed to combine cute and feisty in equal measure.

When this voice takes off it burns hard enough to leave
a...
Published on 6 Nov. 2010 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice listen
Collard Green and Cornbread the stand out track but generally a pleasant listen. Nothing amazing but ticks along nicely and her voice is pure quality. Not my favourite album of the year but no where near the worst.
Published on 26 July 2011 by DCR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Diamond Diva, 6 Nov. 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
Fantasia Monique Barrino is an American Idol survivor
(she won in 2004) and 'Back To Me' is her third album.
Ms Barrino has a very fine voice indeed and on this
recording it sounds better than ever. She is an artist who
has managed to combine cute and feisty in equal measure.

When this voice takes off it burns hard enough to leave
a three mile long vapour trail behind it in the musical
firmament! Jump straight away to Track Two for immediate
elucidation of her ability to make one's fur stand on end
and strip the paint off ceilings! It's a veritable fireball!!

Despite a fairly hefty congregation of writers and producers
who have laboured with her to deliver these sounds into the
listening world, the album has remarkable coherence and
Ms Barrino is clearly enjoying herself immensely.

It's not all raw power however. 'Collard Greens & Cornbread',
a wonderfully slick and classy sixties-tinged composition by
Andrew 'Pop' Wansel and Warren 'Oak' Felder, demonstrates
her full vocal range and ability to shape melody and lyrics
into an emotionally engaging whole. A stirring performance.

'Teach Me' is another cracker, full of subtle reggae-infused
soul. A song to bring warmth to the coldest heart this winter.

Cee-Lo Green gets a quick look-in on 'The Thrill Is Gone',
makes his point in a brief rapterlude without causing undue
embarrassment to either party and exits stage-left without
so much as a "goodbye" (such is the way with celebrity-guest
appearances these days!) Ms Barrino appears to survive the
experience with her dignity intact and manages what came
before and after his interruption wonderfully well!

Her interpretation of 'I'm Here' from 'The Colour Purple' musical
is truly beautiful. Intensely focussed and deeply moving it is
abundantly clear that the world is a better place with Ms Barrrino
and her gloriously distinctive voice in it! A sublime conclusion.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To Fantasia, 5 Sept. 2010
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
After the American Idol's mish-mash of musical styles on her debut, "Free Yourself," and the lacklustre self-titled follow up, I didn't have much interest in the next Fantasia project until I heard the epic buzz single, "Even Angels" and the official first single, gorgeous R&B gem "Bittersweet." On "Back To Me," the vocals are unmistakably Fantasia; however she has reined her vocals in and no longer has so much of the wailing and hollering of her previous work.

Along with "Bittersweet," the standout tracks for me are Fantasia's anthem "I'm Doin' Me," "Collard Greens & Cornbread," a soulful throwback song, "The Thrill Is Gone" featuring man of the moment, Cee-Lo Green and the Rico Love/ Jim Jonsin produced up-tempo "Falling In Love Tonight."

However, the album as a whole is very consistent and Fantasia's best album by far. I would highly recommend this to fans of true R&B. This is up there with Monica's "Still Standing," for my album of 2010 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE TO HERSELF, FANTASIA DELIVERS A GRAMMY-WINNING R&B SONG, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
Five EXCELLENT Stars! Fantasia (Barrino), the season 3 American Idol winner, Broadway star, actress (the award-winning cable TV movie of her life story was one of the highest rated cable TV movies to date), and R&B, soul, hip-hop recording star is back and doing it her way. I'm sure there are some fans who wanted her to continue on from her last CD or sing the expansive songs from her American Idol days like "Summertime", but this time she's doing it her way: all the way. From the emotional excellence of the 2011 Grammy-winning R&B song "Bittersweet" to the Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell-like rhythms of the beautiful "Collard Greens & Cornbread" (which went straight to my iPod) to "I'm Here" from her Broadway musical "The Color Purple" role to the soaring "Even Angels" to the very hip "The Thrill is Gone" with guest Cee-Lo Green, she is uniformly excellent throughout the CD, giving us exactly what she wants us to hear. When she sings about the pain of heartbreak, based on recent personal events, we know it's true. Love this honest, heartfelt CD from start to finish! Highly Recommended. Five COOL Stars. (This review is based on an Amazon.com MP3 download: 12 tracks. Enjoy!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
Fantasia has defiantly moved onwards and upwards since winning American x Factor. Her music is lively. You can dance to it, slowly or just dance around the room. Great tracks, love those lyrics and I always make sure its in the car with me. Delivered in tack, quickly and I now listen to the MP3 version before buying, which is extremely helpful. Amazon, more music available to listen to before you buy. Buy it you will love her.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
Always been a fan of Fantasia from the beginning and I still like listening to her, the album was good but preferred the previous albums but still good tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice listen, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
Collard Green and Cornbread the stand out track but generally a pleasant listen. Nothing amazing but ticks along nicely and her voice is pure quality. Not my favourite album of the year but no where near the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Back To Me (MP3 Download)
I must say, out of all of Fantasia's albums (which I have) her second one is the best. However, this is a good album and I would definately recommend it. It has good up tempo and slow songs for all moods and occasions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's back at her best!!, 29 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
This is one of the best RnB albums of the year by far! Her sound is more consistent than any of her previous albums, and you can hear that her time in Broadway has paid off on her vocals as she shows greater control and strength especially on the high notes. Not that in my opinion her vocals needed any improvement, but there are those out there who don't appriate her raspy vocals!
Tracks to listen out for, 'who's been lovin you', 'collard greens' (true Fantasia style!) 'move on me'. 'Doing me' starts the album off and grabs the listener as soon as the hook comes in and Bittersweet makes a great single from the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
For me, this is one of the best albums of the year! Each album Fantasia produces gets better and better. This album is balanced with both traditional sounds and experimental cross-over sounds combined with raw vocals that pulls it all together brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. L. Kinsella "Ben" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back To Me (Audio CD)
There is nothing to say about this album other than it is UNBELIEVABLE!!!! Fantasia Monique Barrino is truly inspirational and inspiring!! I have loved her ever since she auditioned for American Idol, and with two excellent albums under her belt, 'Free Yourself' and the self-titled 'Fantasia' she comes back with this PERFECT album! Every song on here is brilliant and there are no album fillers whatsoever! She really is one of the most talented artists of our time!!!
Fantasia deserves as much attention as possible so PLEASE BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To Me
Back To Me by Fantasia (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews