Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voice of the lost generation
Butterworth's songs have a totemic quality because of his tragic and untimely death in the First World War. He is one of the great "might-have-beens" of English culture. You seem to hear the authentic voice of the Edwardian summer here. The settings of Houseman's eerie poems are well-known, and I have never heard a better recorded performance than this. "On The Idle...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by John McCartney, Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really my cup of tea!
Thought that as they were meant to be folk songs,
the precise diction of the tenor was a little out of place!

Not what I was expecting!
Published 15 months ago by Les


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voice of the lost generation, 17 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Butterworth's songs have a totemic quality because of his tragic and untimely death in the First World War. He is one of the great "might-have-beens" of English culture. You seem to hear the authentic voice of the Edwardian summer here. The settings of Houseman's eerie poems are well-known, and I have never heard a better recorded performance than this. "On The Idle Hill Of Summer" raises the hairs on the back of my neck! The only comparable recording for me (and I do have half-a-dozen others) is John Shirley-Quirk's from the 1960s, no longer available I believe. Technically this is pretty near spot-on, with the balance between voice and piano almost always just right. There seems to be a very slight hint of a phasing problem when listening on some headphones, but this is to be hyper-critical.

The other songs are settings of poems or English folk songs and, although not in the same league as the Shropshire Lad songs, are interesting, occasionally arresting, and very good fillers indeed. I would prefer the track order to place both the Houseman suites together - as published it doesn't quite make sense - but this is easy to achieve if you buy the mp3 version, or if you programme your CD player to do this for you. Very strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb singer in English Song, 21 Aug 2010
By 
J. Wise "John" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
Once again Roderick Williams delivers some wonder songs, by Butterworth in this case, in his most beautiful voice and ever incredible clear diction. Surely one of our great singers of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars butterworth, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
Some of Butterworth's best work.His settings of Houseman's poems from "A Shropshire Lad" are just about perfect. Outstanding quality and expressiveness of the singing and accompaniment on this recording makes it a must for anyone who loves and enjoys classic British song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Loveliest of Songs, 23 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
Like another reviewer, I own several copies of Songs from A Shropshire Lad and I can say without doubt that this one brings me the greatest pleasure of them all, these songs are moving and tender and bring tears to the eye. Bredon Hill is just delicious and the Folk Songs from Sussex, quite new to me, a delight. The clarity of the recording is perfect with just the right balance of voice and piano. At the Naxos price you just can't beat this, I'd go as far to say that you can't beat these recordings at any price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The essence of English music!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
Vocalisation is not my penchant, although this particular type of music is so evocative and happy to be an Englishman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant songs and poetry - Butterworth at his best, 11 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
Wonderful settings of 14 of the poems from Housman's A Shropshire Lad. They are all delightful, capturing the nostalgic wistfulness of much of the poetry with the three choicest offerings being:"Loveliest of Trees", "When I Was One-and-twenty" and "Bredon Hill".

The Folk Songs from Sussex are a worthy collection in their own right, including settings of poems by Robert Louis Stevenson, Shelley and Oscar Wilde. Here Roderick Williams puts his own personal stamp on the songs, playfully changing both his accent and his pitch when taking the female role in the dialogue on "Seventeen Come Sunday" and the delightful and amusing "Roving in the Dew". "Yonder Stands a Lovely Creature" is a particularly good song. Many of the other songs, as you might expect of Sussex-by-the-Sea, make reference to courtship by sailors.

Roderick Williams' performance is powerful, yet sensitive to the lyrics and Iain Burnside's wonderful accompaniment deserves special praise.

The arrangement of the tracks is a little irritating: six poems by Housman then five folk songs from Sussex, followed by another eight poems by Housman and finally six more folk songs from Sussex; this means you have to have a programmable CD player to get the maximum enjoyment. Otherwise an outstanding CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close to perfect as you'll get...!, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. S. J. Bonsor "bonsor2" (Horley, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
George Butterworth is one of those `what might he have done had he lived longer?' composers of which, alas, there are so many. That he was a casualty of the First World War is even more poignant, and it is especially hard to listen to his music without it being tinged with the fact of his tragic death.

Butterworth was by all accounts fastidious and self-critical, to the point of destroying many of his works which he believed were not worthy of preservation. Along with the `what might he have done' we also have the `what else did he write which hasn't survived?'.

What we can be thankful for are some exquisite orchestral rhapsodies which must rank as the finest pieces for small orchestra ever written by an Englishman, together with a small but brilliant cache of song settings which match the highest levels of inspiration with flawless execution of his musical ideas.

This disc features the Housmann settings from `A Shropshire Lad'- how premonitory the `Lads in their Hundreds' of the Boer War seems of the lads in their thousands dying on the Somme!- together with the Folk Songs from Sussex, given an exemplary performance by Roderick Williams and Iain Burnside. It is always a delight to discover a pairing of singer and pianist where the artistic personalities of the performers genuinely meld into a satisfying whole, and this is a disc of the highest calibre.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the poems of the Shropshire lad ., 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
These are used for a poetry reading group who sometimes listen to poems set to music to very suitable for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really my cup of tea!, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterworth: Shropshire Lad (Songs From A Shropshire Lad/ Folk Songs From Sussex) (Audio CD)
Thought that as they were meant to be folk songs,
the precise diction of the tenor was a little out of place!

Not what I was expecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews