Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Album
I bought Cherry Ghosts first album, A Thirst For Romance back in November 2007 and although I thought the singles Mathematics and People Help The People were great it took me a few plays to fully appreciate the album. Once I did, the album was on constant repeat. The tracks had a slight tinge of country to them and although the lyrics were sometimes quite dark, it also...
Published on 22 July 2010 by C. Treen

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
My second Cherry Ghost album. A bit too much like the first, so this review will read similarly. Liked what I heard on the radio and the first CD and like some of the tracks but thought they ended up too similar for my taste. Driving back from a French holiday with this playing, I stopped listening. Shame as this could be so good.
Published on 19 Sept. 2012 by Chris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning album, 4 April 2013
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
I remember showing interest when this band's first album appeared but for some reason I didn't explore further. Then my mate lent me this second album. The first couple of listens were just pleasant but each track grows on you and I can honestly say that there is not one single track I do not like on this album. How on earth this band aren't recognised is beyond me.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
Excellent album I have played it continuously and each time it gets better. This Band should be massive . There are no filler tracks on here, Highly recommended to all .Cant wait for the next album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super album, 7 Nov. 2011
By 
C. Vaughan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
Such a good album though so invisible - classy but populist, surely deserves a mass audience. And proves that a classic set-up can still be fresh. On a par with the best of the National.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd Album, 15 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Vidler (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
A real improvement on the first album, well written songs, good lyrics, great melodies. Its a must buy for any music lovers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beneath This Burning Shoreline, 4 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
This must be a contender for album of the year. Great songs, great production, this band should be bigger!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This quiet majesty, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
H. Ogilvie "blue aeroplane" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
this follow up to 'thirst for romance' is immaculate and gently addictive. simon aldred and his band of friends have again created an atmospheric collection of late night laments and torch songs for the lonely and disposessed, which is coloured by the addtion of mournful trumpets, mariachi rhythms and delicious tempo changes.

like elbow, their geographical neighbours, they perfectly convey a sense of longing, blistering melancholy, sparkling with imaginative arrangements and pure poetry instead of simple lyrics.

this is the sound of darkness receding, dawn approaching, renewed hope. this album will stay with you, fire your memories, keep you warm. embrace this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lush Melodies, Great Atmosphere.., 3 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
A recent convert to the band after hearing the single Kissing Strangers on the radio. Bought this and ordered the debut album within 15 mins of first listen! Reminds me of Richard Hawleys sound with maybe Ian MacCuloch singing (no bad combination). Dark but beautiful atmospheres on the songs and clever lyrics. If you like a melody and great songcraft, this is a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 3 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. J. Fulton (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
Credit where its due beneath the burning shoreline contains some seriously good music , each track is mesmerising , a very generous thirteen tracks too and not one misses a beat , i enjoyed cherry ghosts last album and didn,t think it could be bettered but beneath the burning shoreline is equally as wonderful , its nice to find music you want to hear over and over again and sends a tingle down your spine , check it out for yourself , highly recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with The National!, 10 Sept. 2010
By 
PH "Dog Doofer" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
Bought this CD off the stength of hearing "We sleep on Stones" on a compilation CD that came free with a music mag. I was not let down!

Not a bad track on the CD, if you like Elbow, The National, I am Kloot....music for grown ups....then you won't go far wrong with buying this. The top track for my money is "Kissing Strangers", as I said in the header...up there with The National (words not to be taken lightly!!).

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!, 5 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Beneath This Burning Shoreline (Audio CD)
If you buy one album in 2010 make it this one.
It has everything.Songwriting talent like this does not come along very often.Deep lyrics,melody,production,arrangements,strings,guitar and a voice to die for.This recording will not be matched for a very long time..More...more,more.I have not stopped playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beneath This Burning Shoreline
Beneath This Burning Shoreline by Cherry Ghost (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews