Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Friends in the North - 9 almost perfect episodes of well crafted TV drama
This is a truly epic TV drama of the highest quality. Spanning 30 years in the lives of 4 friends from Newcastle, it shows them moving from idealistic teenagers with plans to change to world through their bitter confrontations with the realities of life and their settling into middle age. With a story woven around largely true events - the political corruption in the...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Victor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A canny drama
I hadn't watched this on TV first time round but had heard good things so thought I'd try it out. It'd be hard to put together a better cast and they are all brilliant however I felt there were too many episodes as the later ones lost their way a bit once things moved into the 80's - enjoyable watch nonetheless... and an exceptional array of wigs helping Craig Strong and...
Published 2 months ago by Daveytoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing writing and acting, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
We were gripped from beginning to end . Amazing writing and acting, this series has really stood the test of time . A must watch .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
GREAT STUFF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL BBC DRAMA, 17 May 2014
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A nine part series depicting the varying fortunes of four friends - Nicky (Christopher Eccleston), Geordie (Daniel Craig), Mary (Gina McKee) and Tosker(Mark Strong) - from the optimistic times of 1964 to the uncertainties of 1995.

This is interwoven with social concerns: slum housing, police corruption,the rise of Thatcherism, miners strike of 1984 etc. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very relative for 2014, 2 May 2014
By 
J. Batchelor "young oldie" (England fair England of yore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I am enjoying this series very much. Lives up to the rating it had when made in 1996, and although the actors have aged, the subject matter applies to today. Very satisfied, came reasonably quickly and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth watching, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
being a local this was an excellent DVD to watch.Had seen the the TV series but always wanted to watch again.Can recommend it fully to anyone,Will take a lot of beating for raw entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Even though we watched this series when originally shown we still enjoyed it. Great story, excellent acting from a cast of big names. It is still topical in the light of dirty tricks, and strict dogmas in politics and the mistrust of politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Series, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This appears to be exactly what we ordered and looks most entertaining. We have still to watch it - winter viewing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic journey through the 60' to the early 90's, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
It's amazing to see again this odyssey with four such great actors in their early years, set against the backdrop of a rapidly changing Britain during the demise of "Old Labour", the Thatcher years and the emergence of "New Labour". All the political shenanigans that went on were very entertainingly portrayed.

It's particularly interesting to see Daniel Craig looking 30 years older than he does now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding., 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Outstanding, even better second time around.

Buy a copy for someone you care about, tell them to watch this instead of the mindless rubbish often shown now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996]
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews