Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Friends in the North - 9 almost perfect episodes of well crafted TV drama
This is a truly epic TV drama of the highest quality. Spanning 30 years in the lives of 4 friends from Newcastle, it shows them moving from idealistic teenagers with plans to change to world through their bitter confrontations with the realities of life and their settling into middle age. With a story woven around largely true events - the political corruption in the...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Victor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality product
All of the dvd's froze intermittently on various dvd players. One of the dvd's was more or les unplayable on any dvd player.
Published 1 month ago by rezonville


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BBC at it's Best, 29 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This was one of the finest (and most expensive) series that the BBC ever commissioned for television. It is moving, poignant, brutally honest and gripping drama. Sadly the rubber-band powered drama that flits across our screens now is shallow, predictable and forgettable by comparison. This drama almost touches the dizzy, creative heights of Dennis Potter - but not quite...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Friends in the North - 9 almost perfect episodes of well crafted TV drama, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is a truly epic TV drama of the highest quality. Spanning 30 years in the lives of 4 friends from Newcastle, it shows them moving from idealistic teenagers with plans to change to world through their bitter confrontations with the realities of life and their settling into middle age. With a story woven around largely true events - the political corruption in the North East that lead to the building of so much substandard housing, the corruption in the Met and their close links with the late sixties gangland, the miners strike and the dubious tactics of police and government in fighting it, etc, etc, it's a captivating tale.

The four friends (Christopher Eccleston, Gina McKee, Mark Strong and Daniel Craig) carry the drama well, and give believable faces to the events. It is, however, the supporting cast who really take the acting honours. Peter Vaughn (previously only known to me as genial Harry Grout in Porridge) is an absolute blowaway as Felix. A man who stood up for what he believed in by going on the Jarrow march, he is disillusioned by the lack of tangible change that resulted from his efforts. As his character gets older he slips into Alzheimer's, and Vaughn's portrayal of this terrible disease is intensely moving. His evolution of the character through the 9 episodes is a marvel to watch. David Bradley as Eddie Wells, local activist who becomes MP, is similarly memorable, as is Alun Armstrong in one of his best performances as Austen Donahuem. Donahue is an early spin doctor, an oiler of the machinery of local government. He has a conscience and truly believes in what he is doing, and the that bribes and money that change hands (and ends up in his own pockets) are a necessary and good thing as they bring about real improvements for the populance.

The story spreads across 30 years and 9 episodes. Each episode is just over an hour long, but the thing never drags. It is drama of the highest quality. 5 stars, I cannot recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great television drama at its best, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Ringo (Tyne and Wear) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I watched this first time round on television and have always wanted to watch it again. I have now done so.

I don't intend repeating what others have said, it is enough to say that it is superbly written, acted, directed and filmed. There have been adverse comments about the fashions, the drabness, and the significant events portrayed. All I can is yes, precisely that's the way they were. Obviously there have to be compromises because this is drama, but that's why we have writers

Incidentally the only one star comment is from somebody who placed 18 reviews of products the same day, so probably responsible for his completely differing comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb drama. but why is it cut?, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I watched Our Friends is the north when it was first shown on BBC it was one of the TV highlights of the 90s but why have the BBC cut this version. edited 2013 Watched this again over the last week its still one of best drama's of the 80s but I still wonder why the BBC chose to cut it for dvd release. a couple of scenes make no sense because of the cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomparable, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Paul M. Sheehan "paulsheehan26" (Coventry , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Our Friends In The North is quite simply one of the finest television dramas that has ever been produced anywhere and offers a gripping and moving sweep over the history of Great Britain and the social upheavels that shaped the late twentieth century in our country through the eyes of Geordie , Nicky ,Tosker and Mary , four working class friends from Newcastle who we first meet as optimistic and energetic twenty years olds in 1964 and whose journey we follow through the decades until they reach their fifties in 1995 . None have an easy journey and the great political and social changes over the years are interspersed with our magnificent cast's encounters with love, tragedy , ambition , infidelity , mental illness , poverty ,death ,crime and redemption . The script is masterful and even handed from a political viewpoint in that it is candid about the failures of both left and right to help the ordinary working class person to advance themselves in a meaningful manner. If you have not watched OFITN yet then I envy you. If only I could experience this epic and masterful series for the first time again . Nine episodes , nine masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of British, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A stellar cast on top of its game. A script that thrums with a barely-supressed anger at corruption and social injutice. A shining example of what can be achieved when you give a gifted writer editorial control, a la HBO. A sobering reminder that the more things change, the more they stay the same.
Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a blast!, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I thought that this was a remarkable serial at the time and only later on became aware of how successful so many of the principals became. Christopher Ecclestone will always be my favourite but Daniel Craig is amazing too. This is gritty, tough stuff which made me recall the toughness of life of a few decades ago - not that things have inherently changed that much.
Superb direction and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just finished watching this again, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. N. Doyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I believe this to be the finest piece of television the BBC has ever put together, its scope is epic, the performances magical, the poignancy of the last episodes so moving. If you did not get a chance to see this first time round, you really should watch it, if you have already seen it, then you really should watch it again, in fact this demands to be seen no matter what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing writing and acting, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
We were gripped from beginning to end . Amazing writing and acting, this series has really stood the test of time . A must watch .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
GREAT STUFF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our Friends In The North BBC [DVD] [1996]
18.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews