Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sturdy guard
We have a large hearth that we wanted to baby proof, this one is perfect. It comes in two parts that can overlap to reach the correct variable length. The two halves are easily bolted together using the provided clamps and butterfly screws. The clamps strengthen the central join so even if you have it at maximum length it isn't weak and vulnerable to a child pushing...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by BabyProofer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does the job.
Difficult to put together as the instructions and picture were not right. I think the makers have changed the fittings and not updated the instructions. My husband put it together and he is good at DIY! I couldnt have done it. When we put logs on the fire it is easier to unclip the sides and slide the guard away as the top is not really made to unclip and lift up easily...
Published on 16 Dec 2012 by kate


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sturdy guard, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
We have a large hearth that we wanted to baby proof, this one is perfect. It comes in two parts that can overlap to reach the correct variable length. The two halves are easily bolted together using the provided clamps and butterfly screws. The clamps strengthen the central join so even if you have it at maximum length it isn't weak and vulnerable to a child pushing at it. It has a hinged top cover that can either be locked down, or left as it is to allow adult access to the fireplace.

Two bolts are provided for fixing the guard to the wall, you will need to do this, because despite its sturdiness it can easily be pulled over by a child. Once it's bolted either side it won't go anywhere. Assembly can be made to fit any fireplace between 96.5 cms and 168 cms wide; it is 44 cms deep and 69 cms high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does a good job!, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
The guard it self is very sturdy and strong. My daughter has recently started pulling herself up and this takes her weight! Only prob was we bought new hooks because the ones supplied were quite short and didn't go very far Into the wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tippitoes Extending Fireguard, 22 Feb 2013
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
We bought this for when my son stays at my aunties as she has kindly offered to mind him one day a week whilst I am back at work from maternity leave and so we had to totally baby proof her house. I think she was a bit skeptical at first regarding the design of the guard as when she had one a few years ago for her kids she had one of the oval top design ones that just covered the fire part and not the fire and the hearth as this one does, but once she saw the fireguard assembled she was very happy with it. The guard attaches to the wall using two clips which can be unclipped to pack the guard away when not in use which is obviously what my aunt does when she isn't minding my son so that she can revert the house back to an 'adult zone'. The fireguard extends simply by pulling the two halves to the desired length and then securing them with the screw clips provided which are a lot better to use than the bog standard clips that seem to some with most fireguards. One thing we have had to do is tape some cotton pads to the section of the fireguard that seems to knock against the hearth when my son is deciding to use the guard as a standing aid to stop the hearth being damaged. Very very happy with the guard and would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
Easy to install, and very safe. also allows you to access fire over top of guard but height and width stops a toddler reaching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad we got it..., 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
We brought this fire guard to keep our little boy safe from falling over and hitting his head, now he is walking all over the place. It was easy to put up and does its job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
I was very worried about having an open fire with a baby in the house so when I found this I had to buy it - it great and reaching in the opening at the top makes life easy too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe and effective, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
Substantial construction that protect the entire fireplace and fire. Easy to assemble and remove when not required. Folds up flat for easy storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fire guard, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
The perfect fire guard, Strong, stable and easy to assemble. A good price and very quick delivery. thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
This arrived very quickly. Very easy to attach to the walls. Looks good and takes two babies pulling on it at once. Easily detaches for when the little ones are in bed. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, easy to install fire guard, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Steven Brown (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tippitoes Extending Fireguard (Baby Product)
Picked this up because my son won't stay away from the fire, and was tired of avoiding using it because of this.

Was easy enough to assemble - basically clipping the 2 halves together with some clips and screws. Then there are 2 attachment points to the wall, eyelets which screw in to the fixing, then the guard is then clipped into the eyelets.
Makes it very easy to attach/unclip as required, but is tricky enough to work that there is no chance of any little ones unclipping it themselves!

In summary, does a great job and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tippitoes Extending Fireguard
£39.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews