Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Plater screenplay
Brenda Blethyn's husband, beautifully played by Kevin Whately, fails to come back from the pub to their house where Brenda looks after his mother, his aunt and Peter Sallis playing a perfect Peter Sallis role. In fact everyone does well exactly what we know them for doing best, understated affectionate stress and humour. It is a magnificent vignette, my only regret being...
Published on 1 Jan. 2010 by Alan Tucker

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Belonging
The acting is superb....a truly wonderful cast, but the story is SO depressing. I thought the ending would have some kind of twist or feel-good factor. Instead I found the end just sad with no real story to it. This was particularly disappointing as the cast is made up of absolutely wonderful actors but the story is a real let down.
Published 20 months ago by Olga


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Plater screenplay, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
Alan Tucker (Stroud, Gloucestershire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
Brenda Blethyn's husband, beautifully played by Kevin Whately, fails to come back from the pub to their house where Brenda looks after his mother, his aunt and Peter Sallis playing a perfect Peter Sallis role. In fact everyone does well exactly what we know them for doing best, understated affectionate stress and humour. It is a magnificent vignette, my only regret being that it is all over quite quickly and that, as she says, Brenda isn't as nice a person at the end as she was at the beginning. But then, all the others have improved, if almost imperceptibly.Strongly recommended for those of us who lead a quiet life. In fact, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brenda Blethyn at Her Best., 1 April 2013
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
This play is really all about the main character, Jess, brilliantly played by Brenda Blethyn who, in the end, wins through to realise her true self, leaving the viewer to love her for her latently realised strength of character. Kevin Whately gives a convincing portrayal of playing her weak willed, dithering husband. Peter Sellis, Anna Massey and Rosemary Harris all give convincing performances as three more 'hangers on' to Jess's good nature. In the end she's well rid of the lot of them and we see her come shining through as she realises her true self. It's all close to how people truly behave in real life and shows us how women often need to learn how to be strong and not allow themselves to be put on by selfish relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belonging, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
Mrs. Andrea J. Clarkson "Andypandy" (Huddersfield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful heartwarming and uplifting story, fantastic performances from the excellent cast, stories like this are few and far between nowadays, a little gem and for me at least a big incentive to buy was Peter Sallis being in the cast one of my favourite actors being a fan of Last of the Summer Wine for the last thirty years or so, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the film would be a comedy,but found the story very sad.The acting was good and the story could relate to any family situation to-day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant acting, thought provoking story, an excellent DVD to pass a couple of hours with a box of chocolates or some popcorn. Recommend it. Probably appeal to the more mature audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original take on family relationships, 1 Jun. 2014
Family dramas are frequently centred on parent or parent-child relationships.This one was interesting from the start because it unravelled the story of a seemingly sound couple caught in an exhausting round of caring for a group of elderly relatives in their large home.As the initially genial-seeming husband loses his credibility, we see his wife emerge as her own person, ready with the help of 'the oldie' relatives, to fight back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Belonging, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
The acting is superb....a truly wonderful cast, but the story is SO depressing. I thought the ending would have some kind of twist or feel-good factor. Instead I found the end just sad with no real story to it. This was particularly disappointing as the cast is made up of absolutely wonderful actors but the story is a real let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just love Brenda Blethyn!, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
We recorded this on TV and something went wrong and we got two-thirds through and the recording failed! We just had to know what happened, so ordered the DVD. We weren't disappointed. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Taken for granted, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
I could easily relate to the carers dilemma. The way she had allowed herself to become responsible for everyone around her and taken for granted and 'abused' by those who did not appreciate her at the expense of living her own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointing, I found the story line hackneyed. Brenda Blethlyn turned in a good performance as the wronged wife .Kevin was disappointing as the 'villian' of the piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Belonging [DVD]
Belonging [DVD] by Brenda Blethlyn (DVD - 2010)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews