Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good performance on Blue Ray
I bought this off another site with frre art cards and it arrived on Saturday 2 days before it hits the shops. Its the full un cut film not the cinema version. Nice wide screen and clean print. Sadly its grainy in places but does not affect the film. Kurt Russel was superb as Elvis and the music scenes are wonderful. Sound quality is superb and is good value at 2hrs 40...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by Chris H

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie...blu ray transfer could have been better !!!
I received this blu ray in the post this afternoon...
Had a quick look...my first impression was that I expected a much
better transfer after seeing the little trailer for the blu ray.

But I guess this is the best we will ever get, and I'm happy this movie
is finaly released. There are a few extra's, you can play all songs from the movie, that's...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by RAT


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good performance on Blue Ray, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: Elvis [Blu-ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
I bought this off another site with frre art cards and it arrived on Saturday 2 days before it hits the shops. Its the full un cut film not the cinema version. Nice wide screen and clean print. Sadly its grainy in places but does not affect the film. Kurt Russel was superb as Elvis and the music scenes are wonderful. Sound quality is superb and is good value at 2hrs 40 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kurt Russell is The King, 24 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Elvis [DVD] (DVD)
Iv waited a LONG time for this to get a DVD release and i wasnt disapointed. As a lifelong Elvis fan it was a joy to see this again. The outlook wasnt good...a cheapo TV movie rushed out mere months after the death of the King....but trust me,its great and its hard not to respect this production. John Carpenters direction is solid. The song choices are great and the casting FANTASTIC all across the board except for a miscast Season Hubley as Priscilla,she was just missing something for me. Kurt Russel is phenomenal and there are moments you will forget its not actually Elvis your watching,i kid you not.Shelley Winters(a personal friend of Elvis) as Gladys is a genius bit of casting. Bing Russel,Kurts own das, as Vernon was always a great idea and truely works.Ronnie McDowells vocals are pitch perfect. I took a star off because it leaves out the last few years of Elvis' life and the film ends during the Vegas years,but still any Elvis fan will enjoy this.This film is hitting the 3hour mark and is in widescreen and looks great on DVD. Sit back,relax and enjoy. The King is back for one show only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis the movie, 26 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis [Blu-ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
I have been waiting for this movie to come out on DVD for years!!!! It is AWESOME! If you love Elvis, then you will love this account of his life story. Kurt Russell is amazing as the The King and I can't wait for August when it comes out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shame about the picture quality!!, 7 July 2011
By 
S. J. Melling (brighton england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly and most importantly this is a superb movie charting Elvis' life,but how i really wish Fremantle Media had put more effort into cleaning up the picture quality!!!There still remains some lines and marks on the screen throughout the movie, after such a long wait for this dvd release the least we could have had is a clean transfer in these modern times of film technology.The movie itself deserves more than 5* for its detail and content but im afraid the picture quality gets a 3*!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the man of the moment, 24 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis [DVD] (DVD)
WITHOUT DOUBT A GREAT PERFORMANCE FROM KURT RUSSELL.BUT WHAT ABOUT THE SINGER.
RONNIE McDOWELL, I GOOD COUNTRY SINGER IN HIS OWN RIGHT DID ALL THE VOCALS IN THIS FILM AND MUST BE GIVEN FULL CREDIT FOR AN AMAZING IMITATION OF PRESLEY'S VOICE FROM A YOUNG ELVIS RIGHT UP TO A MORE MATURE ONE.THE BEST I HAVE EVER HEARD,WELL DONE RONNIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis The Movie (Blu-Ray), 17 Aug 2010
By 
Brf Churchill "BANJOMAN" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis [Blu-ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
Firstly I want to discus the movie.Carpenter-Russell-Elvis,Having been a great fan of John Carpenter & Kurt Russell & a massive Elvis fan,and still am,this biopic delivers In spades. This has to be the best one ever made about "The King" Kurt Russell's portrayal of ELVIS was so uncannily real,and no one has come close in my opinon, most people know the story by now,bearing In mind this was released two years after Elvis's death and Lot's of people where still In Mourning. The King was dead but Kurt brought him back to life, If only briefly.

The Blu-ray version! thanks Amazon for great service,waiting for me In my post box on the 16 August . Well it could have been better, I suppose for a thirty year old film, it's as good as it's gonna be, don't get me wrong, some scenes just jump out at you, then some scenes just fade, In hindsight it's 20 times better than any old VHS COPY you may have, and probably the best version you will ever see, oh and it's in wide-screen or letterbox if you prefer, well I do!. Having not seen a normal DVD version I have nothing to compere it to. To Buy Or Not To buy????? Lets just say It's not the best Blu-RAY release but it's definitely not the worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blue ray, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Elvis [Blu-ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
i was shocked to get this before it was meant to arrive which was good, it is a very good blue ray and it plays amazing its has if u are there at the concert thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lost Carpenter, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Elvis [DVD] (DVD)
As a rabid John Carpenter fan, I was more than happy getting a new movie from The Man that I had never seen. From his "hot period", no less: shot between Halloween and The Fog. Even being a tv-movie and not a horror film, Elvis delivers.

This is his first colaboration with Kurt Russell, and you can understand why Carpenter thought he could be a great Snake Plissken, two years later. Russell is terrific here, as magnetic as you need to be playing Elvis Presley. The movie, anyway, doesn't show the decadence of the late Elvis, it ends with a positive note, so Russell never has to take his acting to the limit.

It's not 2.35:1 Widescreen, as Carpenter's films use to be, because it's for 70's television. But the composition of the frames is great anyway. Not a classic electronic score by Carpenter either, but you don't need it when you have Elvis'songs... This is not a musical film, but the numbers are pretty well filmed for the time and the money.

If you are interested in Carpenter, Russell or Elvis, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis lives on, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Elvis [DVD] (DVD)
Kurt Russell is the most believable 'Elvis' I have ever seen. His portrayal of the King is second to none. He played the part with empathy and obviously adored Elvis himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tender side of Elvis struggles against his dark side, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Giuliano Ercole (Torino, Italy, To, IT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis [Blu-ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
First of all, this movie would not be so beautiful without the great performance of kurt Russell; and it's easy to understand why director John Carpenter would later decide to collaborate with him several time. Kurt Russell IS Elvis, in this movie, and the passion and respect he feels towards the legendry icon of rock'n'roll music, still nowadays, go far beyond the flat screens of our modern TVs, hitting us right into the chest. Elvis' love for his brother, for his mother and father (played by Kurt Russell's father Bing Russell), his fondness for sincerity, for a simple life away from the bright light of success; Carpenter tells us the story of the person, not of the icon, and Russell perfectly fits in this role. The beginning of the movie is terrific, with Elvis shutting off the buzz coming from the news shooting right into the screen of his television(it reminded me, even if it was very different in scope, the opening scene of fire walk with me), and then tha days of his youth, his feeling of loss and solitude (due to his twin brother death)which so well made him appear as a young Jonny Cash...everithing is done with a sense of respect and loss, and after watching this movie you can't help but wonder what would have happen if the King was still here, with us, sharing his pain and alleviating our own with his voice, his songs, his heart. Elvis is dead, no doubt about it, but thanks to this movie he is now a little closer, and that's, after all, all that now we can expect from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis [DVD]
Elvis [DVD] by John Carpenter (DVD - 2010)
£4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews