Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The smurfiest DVD box set ever made!
It has been loved by millions around the world since it first aired in 1981, and spawned an immensely popular franchise which included millions of sales of the little Schleich figurines. It also enjoyed a nice comeback in the mid-1990's and looks set to enjoy another one in the coming months. And for what is simply a wonderful show that has a great legacy and is...
Published on 2 Oct. 2010 by Chris Dilke Wing

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PAL Masters are Edited and Modified w/ Annoying Music and Title Cards
This really annoys me so much that I sold my sets.

Sadly the PAL DVD masters are edited with brand new digital photoshop-looking "title cards" (to correct US spelling with UK) and "ending credits" (to stick on [...] to look modern I guess? The worst of it is they removed the original music and used some stupid happy music that isn't from the original series. As...
Published 16 months ago by tvideo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The smurfiest DVD box set ever made!, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
It has been loved by millions around the world since it first aired in 1981, and spawned an immensely popular franchise which included millions of sales of the little Schleich figurines. It also enjoyed a nice comeback in the mid-1990's and looks set to enjoy another one in the coming months. And for what is simply a wonderful show that has a great legacy and is considered a classic, I find it remarkable that only now have the Smurfs made their way onto DVD over here in the UK for the first time. As a lifelong fan of the adorable little blue creatures, I started to doubt that a UK DVD release was ever going to come, so I caved and bought the first half of Season 1 on Region 1 DVD. I have now since replaced that with this complete set and am so happy I did.

The episodes are all here and presented in a mostly brilliant and lovingly Smurfy fashion. The picture and sound are remastered like the USA DVDs were, and when watching the DVDs on my Panasonic Blu-ray player, they upscale pretty well too. However I noticed on my Region 2 copy that "The Smurf Apprentice" did cut some scenes out, and "Vanity Fair" has not been remastered at all. Maybe an accidental error perhaps, but it didn't really bother me too much. There is also an error with the episode "The Magnifying Mixture", where the audio falls out of sync with the video at one stage. This, however, is no fault with the DVD. This is an error on Hanna-Barbera's part, it has been there since the episode first aired in 1981, and has since never been changed. The music on the opening titles is also different to the US release, it is the same style of opening but the backing music has been changed to a different jingle which I think simply does not go as well at all. But apart from those little hiccups, it's a very impressive set. Unlike the Region 1 DVD releases, which split the first season into two separate sets released months apart, here the complete season is found all in one place. Also, the episode order is much better. The first episode in the set is "The Smurfette", which makes sense and feels like it was the first episode made (some of the character's voices sound a little different to what they sound like for the rest of the series). They have also been put together with either single episodes on their own, or two double episodes paired together, so each episode block lasts no more than 22 minutes. While the Region 1 DVDs seemed to throw the episode set up all over the place, the UK set is much better organised.

Now onto the extras. There isn't much to offer, but what is featured was worth watching. There is a set of character biographies to read on the disc, though they are identical to the ones featured in the character booklet. There is also a 12 minute long feature explaining the history of the Smurfs, where text scrolls from bottom to top of the screen for the viewer to read. And finally, the "I Smurf the Smurfs" documentary from the Region 1 DVDs is included. I hadn't seen it before and found it very interesting to watch. There are also two booklets included, one listing the characters and the other listing all the season's episodes. Both are really nice and colourful, but they also have problems. The episode guide gives descriptions which practically spoil most of them, while the character guide booklet gives some nice bios of the characters, but has its mistakes. It lists both Greedy and Cook Smurf separately, when they were both combined into the same character in the cartoon. Also the booklet's image of Cook Smurf is actually Greedy. And where it describes a smurf that was not actually in the show, it fails to mention one that was. The booklet leaves out Tailor Smurf, who I thought was one of the more recurring characters in the series. It does, however, mention Baby Smurf (who wasn't seen until Season 3), Wild Smurf (introduced in Season 7) and the Smurflings (introduced in Season 5), perhaps suggesting that Arrow Films and Fabulous Films are planning to release all 9 seasons over time.

Overall it's not absolutely flawless, but it's as smurfy as a Smurfs DVD set can get, and smurfs the USA DVDs to shame. It's great to finally have one of the best and most timeless cartoons of all time available on DVD, it brought back 1001 childhood memories of mine and now as an adult, I still loved watching it. Let's hope that a new generation of kids will be introduced to the lovable blue guys (and girl), and that Arrow Films and Fabulous Films continues to release the complete season box sets. It would be superb and just smurfy to have all 9 seasons available on DVD, and with the new Smurfs movie currently in production and being released in cinemas in August 2011, there's no better time to get this series out there than now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode guide, 24 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
Episode guide:

1 The Smurfette
2 The Smurf's Apprentice/Vanity Fare
3 King Smurf/Jokey's Medicine
4 The Astrosmurf (pilot episode)
5 St. Smurf and the Dragon
6 Sorcerer Smurf/The Magical Meanie
7 The Smurfs and the Howlibird
8 Bewitched, Bothered and Be-smurfed
9 Smurf-Colored Glasses/Dreamy's Nightmare
10 Soup à La Smurf
11 Fuzzle Trouble/All That Glitters Isn't Smurf
12 Romeo and Smurfette
13 The Hundredth Smurf/Smurphony in 'C'
14 The Magic Egg/Supersmurf
15 Smurfette's Dancing Shoes
16 The Fake Smurf/The Baby Smurf
17 Sir Hefty
18 Haunted Smurf/The Purple Smurfs
19 Sideshow Smurfs
20 The Magnifying Mixture/Foul Weather Smurf
21 Painter and Poet
22 Spelunking Smurfs/Now You Smurf 'Em, Now You Don't
23 Gargamel, the Generous/The Smurfs and the Money Tree
24 The Clockwork Smurf
25 Paradise Smurfed/The Abominable Snowbeast
26 The Fountain of Smurf
27 The Smurfs Springtime Special
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for All Smurfs Fans, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD box set has all the episodes from the classic first series that every Smurfs fan would have in their collection, there are some classic episodes including how Smurfette was first created by the evil wizard Gargamel to trap the Smurfs, how the Smurfs turned purple and how a machine that can make weather cause problems. This is fun, fun, fun all the way so that fans can smurf those hours away for some classic smurfy fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PAL Masters are Edited and Modified w/ Annoying Music and Title Cards, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
This really annoys me so much that I sold my sets.

Sadly the PAL DVD masters are edited with brand new digital photoshop-looking "title cards" (to correct US spelling with UK) and "ending credits" (to stick on [...] to look modern I guess? The worst of it is they removed the original music and used some stupid happy music that isn't from the original series. As the seasons go up they keep using the season one intro and start dubbing the music with "chipmunk" sounding Smurfs (something like Smurfs and Magic flute sound).

I can't figure why they royally messed this up except only that the copyright on the package states it is a "joint ownership" so one can only assume this was done just to make a "derivative" work that the current copyright holder can't fully control which is WB. Other then that why mess up any classic series like that?

The NTSC masters by WB are unedited and are a better choice, sadly they only have Season 1. If you want the rest unedited NTSC you need an Amazon US account to buy them for digital download only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Smurfs DVD, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
Really good DVD - enjoyed by young and old alike! I remember the Smurfs from first time round - but seem just as popular with my own children, who also appear to love The Smurfs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for my niece she loves these, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
Great gift for my niece she loves these . The price is great and an ideal christmas prez . great deliverey and great service and cheapest price i found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
My son absolutely loved this, good quality, and good enjoyment for kids, I have just ordered series 2 for him now also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great. For smurf fans., 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
My son loves this. He has had Hours of happy watching. Good for those who remember it the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 24 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
This was a wanted gift which apparently is very good !! Over 600 minutes of smurfing to watch!! Great for any fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, got what i paid for., 1 Mar. 2015
By 
M. Pennock (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for my daughter, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD]
The Smurfs: Complete 1st Season [DVD] by Don Messick (DVD - 2010)
£15.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews