Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best anime based game to date
There is no other way of describing this game other than as simply incredible. I've been a fan of the Ultimate Ninja series for years and loved the first PS3 Storm game to bits but still had a couple of issues with it, namely the lack of online play and how heavily abridged the Naruto storyline was in it. Both these things are addressed in spectacular style with this...
Published on 20 Oct 2010

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing on the first game.
Just so you know I'll be writing the majority of this review assuming you owned or played the first ultimate ninja storm. and have a knowlege of the basics of the tv series.

So im gonna begin simply by listing all the changes to gameplay.

Good additions first-

-You can now chakra dash backwards (which is always nice)

-Your...
Published on 6 Dec 2010 by William Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing on the first game., 6 Dec 2010
By 
William Jenkins "wJ" (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Just so you know I'll be writing the majority of this review assuming you owned or played the first ultimate ninja storm. and have a knowlege of the basics of the tv series.

So im gonna begin simply by listing all the changes to gameplay.

Good additions first-

-You can now chakra dash backwards (which is always nice)

-Your suports now have a type attached to to them. fill up your team gauge by using your supports in battle and
your support characters will aid you in various other actions. some aid in attacking and others defending (although the support type becomes customisable when you progress through the game)

-The roster is now rather large in comparison to the old game with most of the main characters from throughout the series being playable.

-Some characters can do air jutsus or alternate jutsus

-There is online now! for me this is one of the main improvements (although enjoyment does vary wildly... trust me)

-There are now ranged characters that use square attacks to combo instead of circle. this adds variety which is great.

-The annoying sandbox villiage in story is gone. and is replaced by fixed camera fairly linear paths I like this because it means theres far less fuss when going from place to place (although i guess this could be seen as bad if you reallly enjoyed the sandbox roaming in the last game)

Now for the bad additions-

-You can now do team ultimates.... in online mode this is game breaking. they are lightning fast and require little effort to pull off. guarding or subbing (if youre skilled) is the only way to avoid them... dodging is out of the question and if youre mid dodge when one is activted you WILL end up getting hit.

- Online is insanely unbalenced. it can be amazing, I'd go as far as to say one of the best gaming experiences ever. however.... everyone seems to be playing as naruto/ minato/ itachi (sometimes sasuke). why you ask? well its because theyre overpowered. ive tested playing as these characters many times myself and found the battles to be amillion times easier. (rasengan seems to be particularly effective with naru/ minato) many players ONLY use that one move all through the match! ive actually taken to not playing as these characters now simply because they make me feel cheap.

-You can sub out of regular combos much much easier than in the last game... rendering them motly useless online. this annoys me as its clear alot of effort has been put into designing the movesets. they look so very good!

-Grapples are waaay too risk free to pull off, and theyre lightning quick for most characters aswell. so expect to be grappled ALOT online.

-Supports reacharge faster. this destroys any tactical aspects to them. as it doesnt really matter if you use one... as itll be back in 5 seconds! ive known players online to exclusivly win matches using only supports. it doesnt feel like a support anymore... more of a constant aid to those with no skill.

-Awakening modes are completely useless for some characters. most of the roster just get stat buffs. no new moves and no appearence change. itachis awakening mode is absolutley unfair online. he can take down one health bar in a couple of seconds with ease. and thats mostly why people play as him.

-Alot of characters I wouldve liked to see included werent. characters from some of the filler episodes wouldve been great for this game!! it wouldve been nice to see some old favorites return aswell! child characters, haku and zabuza aswell as the sound 4 from the origional series couldve and shouldve at least been downloadable later. but no. grr.

Overall-

I'd say this game is well worth a purchase if youve exhausted the origonal ninja storm. but if im honest this game has on the whole taken steps backwards. Buy the the first ninja storm if you want a great naruto game, its just far more polished and balenced. buy this later if you want something fresh to fill the void between naruto purchases. this new game is not a waste of money by any means. its graphicly stunning and all characters are faithfull to the series. it tells the shippuden story very well and in places better than the anime. the gameplay is tight and fast as hell and remains addictive despite its new found flaws.

I leave the decision to you!

Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best anime based game to date, 20 Oct 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
There is no other way of describing this game other than as simply incredible. I've been a fan of the Ultimate Ninja series for years and loved the first PS3 Storm game to bits but still had a couple of issues with it, namely the lack of online play and how heavily abridged the Naruto storyline was in it. Both these things are addressed in spectacular style with this sequel, and while there has been some scaling back in certain areas, the overall end product is much stronger than it's predecessor taken as a whole and that is a promise.

Putting you once again in the shoes of loudmouth, boiler-suited ninja in training Naruto Uzumaki(And at times other characters), Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 picks up more than two years after the events of Ultimate Ninja Storm 1 and adapts an enormous chunk of the Shippuden storyline as Naruto returns to Konoha village after travelling with master ninja Jiraiya and immediately finds himself faced with two daunting missions in the form of both finally finding his traitorous best friend Sasuke at last and finally going to war with the mysterious Akatsuki organisation, who finally begin their hunt of the "Jinchuriki", those who serve as hosts to the super powerful tailed beasts, and as Naruto himself is host to the Nine Tailed Fox, he's a primary target.

The story presented here is exceptionally strong, presented in multitudes of JRPG style 'exploration' in-game engine cutscenes together with the more detailed and dynamic combat engine charged cutscenes you'll remember from the first game(Complete with Quick Time Events back again), it leaves very little out as the story goes right through the initial Kazekage rescue arc right through to the "Pain" arc that has only just finished in the anime in Japan very recently. This is as current as a Naruto game has ever been, and far more fleshed out than any other Naruto game before it. Though you may lament a couple of omissions from the story, with one major character(Danzo) excised from the story completely, if understandably.

Gameplay outside of battle here is very different from the free roaming Konoha hub world the last game had as events are now presented in a JRPG-esque manner with fixed camera angles and heavy use of prerendered backdrops to give the game a heavy Final Fantasy X look that actually works incredibly well, with a lot of exploration and loot gathering on offer across a large world map that offers a huge amount of side stories and quests in addition to the main story. It may not look as nice as the last game's non combat gameplay, but it offers much much more game as a trade off.

The combat meanwhile is far more frenetic than before, with ultra fast, insanely OTT battles that can move at a blistering pace. There are a lot more characters with a lot more to each of them and a lot more arenas to fight in. The trade off to this though, is that the visuals aren't quite as detailed and sharp as the last game on the whole, with the texture work being noticeably a bit more 'bland' on some characters. However the animation is as fluid and beautiful as before, so it isn't all bad. Characters' "ultimate jutsu" attacks are drastically shortened now, not being the visual in battle cutscenes they were before, which works to not break the flow of combat as much. It plays beautifully, with smooth, responsive controls and large combat arenas that have sadly lost the interactivity of the last game, but you probably won't notice this in all honesty.

Online play is basic in terms of options on offer, but it works, and works well with no noticeable lag I could see and a decent amount of reward/incentive to keep playing, but be warned that some characters seem to be getting heavily abused by online spammers who don't know the meaning of 'playing for fun'.

Graphics, as said, are ultra sharp, super smooth, and incredibly animated and while the texture work in places is a tad off, this is still an incredible looking game.

Soundwise, the soundtrack work is strong as ever, and the Japanese voice acting is exceptional across the board however, the english dubbing is pretty dire on a lot of characters, with some really flat delivery during some emotional scenes. I didn't look at a lot of the game in english, but what I saw was more than enough.

Basically, this is as robust and fleshed out an anime based game as you are ever likely to see, with a lot to see and do(It took me just over 30 hours to do all the story missions and side quests in the main mode), and if you had any love for the first game, the purchase of this game should be a no brainer for you. It's fantastically fun and offers as fast and fun an online experience that I haven't seen an anime game offer before.

It's excellent, but if you aren't a fan, than your mileage may vary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2, 17 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 is the sequel of Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm 1 exclusively for the PS3. The first game was amazing but it lacked online play and had only a rooster of 25 characters. This game however changed that, online was added and the character rooster is almost doubled. The story mode is based on the big hit manga and anime series it takes place from manga volume 28-48 and from Naruto Shippuden episode 1 to about 170. The story in the game is a basic outline of the manga and anime. I found the story more entertaining in the new game than in the first, as I enjoyed the Shippuden story more than the first one. The story will take you about 15-20 hours to complete, but it does not end where with many other missons you can do afterwards. You also need to unlock 3 more characters after the game by earning lots of points.

The combat hasn't changed all that much from the first they have put in a few more combat moves what you can do with your team supporters. The combat is simple and easy to pick up however there are not many combos in the game compared to a game such as Street Fighter where that game uses a lot of combos. This has its ups aswell as it means the new comers to a fighting game can play this well. Also there is the substation jutsu move which is like a dodge but better you have to be skilled and time it well to use this, as you have to press the LT/L2 or RT/R2 buttons intime with the attack to dodge it and end up behind your opponent to attack. This makes the game much more fun and fast paced and takes skill to do it.

The online in this game has two options Player Match or Rank Match. Player Match is just for fun where you can battle your friends or someone random and there is no points or ranks awarded at the end. With Ranked Match you only can play with a random person and you can choose who are you can create your own session you can also do this with player match, but Rank Match you get points and the more points you have the higher your ranking in the leaderboard, also you are given a title as you get more points e.g. Genin.

This game is worth a buy even if you are not a naruto fan, this is fun to play by yourself or with friends. It will keep you occupied for at least 30 hours or even more and is worth the £40. It would make a brillant christmas present, and it plays just aswell on the Xbox 360 than it does on the PS3. This in my books is the game of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product n service, 26 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I love Naruto the manga. To be honest I have only played this game a couple of times. It is a little cartoon-like but the effects and moves are cool. I would recommend all Naruto lovers to buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naruto ninja storm 2 amazing game, 30 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Ive had this game for about a month now and i have enjoyed playing evry minute of it from the extended story mode which was long and fun to the online battles its an all round fun game and i cant wait for a 3rd game :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Love the series, Love this game", 25 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
The best of the Naruto's game series, by far, the story is great and all the chars are great too.
Also, the online is epic and alot of fun.

Totally recomended if you love the series and even if you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this game is sick, 31 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
If you know the naruto manga and yo want to fight as the charcters GET THIS GAME. It is pretty up to date for its realese date. It has SAGE NARUTO, PAIN, all of Taka and akatsuki. Plus the boss fights are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because we all know sneaky ninja's have magical powers! And this game proves it!, 15 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
The sequel to the best selling naruto game on PS3 (Let alone the only), Naruto ultimate ninja storm:2 Takes us back to the ninja action! With intense one-to-one battles and with a roster of over 30 characters, this game is the ultimate in Naruto games.

The story- 3/5
The story takes us through the Naruto: Shippuden storyline which involves Naruto returning to the Hidden Leaf Village (Konoha) After around 2 and a half years after he left. He has gotten stronger, older and much taller! The plot begins from here, but i don't want to spoil too much! Personally, i'm not really that interested with the Shippuden storyline, rather than the original Naruto storyline, which was genius. But nevertheless, the thrilling story and epic battles make it that much more better!

The gameplay- 5/5
The game is a 3D fighting game, which you run around the different stages fighting your opponent. You can utilise many of the different, well known jutsu's to your advantage so that you can win the battle! I personally really enjoyed the battle system in this Naruto, since it was like the first Naruto: ultimate ninja storm. Substitutions can be used over and over though which can make it frustrating for when someone has a turbo pad and hold down the block button!

Graphics- 4/5
I'm not personally bothered with the graphics of a game, but this is some of the best. Sure, it may not be as sophisticated and high-tech graphics as Final fantasy XIII, but for an anime game, the developers really worked hard. The graphics make you feel as though you're in the anime itself, and give it a sense of realism. I personally thought the graphics were amazing.

And as a conclusion, the overall score: 12/15. One of the best anime fighting games i've ever played. I reccomend it to anyone who likes the Naruto franchise. With the amazing gameplay, graphics and music, who wouldn't want to go around using magical powers on people!?

Thanks for reading :)
Pete-the-meat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Incredible graphics and presentasion.
Fun battle system.
Tons of hours enjoying multiplayer with friends or online.
Just disagree with some changes in story, good gameplay though reminds me ff xiii a bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son's rating, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
My son loves it so who am I to argue? I suppose it is perfect for kids 12+. Game includes campaign and multiplayer based on events from the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3)
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews