Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polish not frenetic
When Elvis returned to the stage the concerts were high octane and he was clearly working hard to reestablish himself. This comes from the era where the shows had settled down and were more professional but more of a routine. To an extent Elvis is beginning to act at being Elvis and settle into a new stage persona.

The music remains good if slicker rather...
Published on 1 Mar 2012 by John Fareham

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warner Has Left the Building!
No bonus footage, no theatrical trailer, no "Johnny B. Goode." Even though Warner Home Video slashed their restoration budget due to the poor economy, they could have given "Elvis on Tour" (1972) the royal DVD treatment. They simply didn't care. Elvis fans have every right to feel ripped off, but uninitiated viewers probably won't mind. However, Presley's final film...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by Scott T. Rivers


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polish not frenetic, 1 Mar 2012
This review is from: Elvis on Tour [DVD] (DVD)
When Elvis returned to the stage the concerts were high octane and he was clearly working hard to reestablish himself. This comes from the era where the shows had settled down and were more professional but more of a routine. To an extent Elvis is beginning to act at being Elvis and settle into a new stage persona.

The music remains good if slicker rather than spontaneous and it is good to have this on DVD overcoming the limitations of the VHS format. However the failure to accurately reproduce the movie release is annoying and I really feel there should have been some bonus features. As RCA have receded into the distance and we now have records released with imagination and some attempt to set Elvis in context within himself and the era so we should have more effort with the movies.

Nevertheless worth getting but let's all hope for a "collector's edition"/"Director's cut" or the rest of the nonsense about releasing what "it" should always have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKING ALL OVER THE STATES, 27 Jan 2011
This is the lonnng awaited official digital release of the award winning movie that chronicled the King's april 1972 concert tour. Fans had long been lobbying for this release and now we have it in two formats - DVD and Blu-ray. I received my Blu-ray through a friend and was almost speechless when I played it in my brand new blu-ray player.

It was almost like watching Elvis On Tour for the first time, especially noticeable when the opening song Johnny B Goode was annoyingly replaced by Don't Be Cruel as a result copyright issues. It seems Mr Chuck Berry strangely wouldn't allow it this time!

In this movie, Elvis looks and sounds every bit The King. By 1972, he had done it all and was at the top of his profession. And he knew it, almost to the point of cockiness. The fans were wildly ecstatic and screamed their lungs out anywhere he went all across America.

The blue-ray format digs deep and brings out sound and vision detail not heard and seen before. The music is heavy and just about every instrument is heard - much unlike the original horrible tin-can mono sound. Since 1969, Elvis had employed a full orchestra to back him and this new version does true justice to the brilliant musicians in his band.

Elvis performs a few of his old hits but mainly contemporary songs belonging to other artists, such as Proud Mary, Polk Salad Annie, Bridge Over Troubled Water, and a powerful Never Been to Spain . What comes across glaringly in Elvis On Tour is how far Elvis had developed since his recordings in 1954. His transformation from the rockabilly singer to this flashy and almost alien rock mega-star is unbelievable.

There are no special features or bonus material to tantalise, but beggars cannot be choosers. I'm quite happy to have what I have after such a long long wait, and even happier to know that any extra material may appear later in the same format. So something to look forward to at least.

The blue-ray price may be higher than other formats but the quality is superior in every way. Do not hesitate. Fan or not, get this movie in blu-ray or DVD and enjoy Elvis Presley the superstar at his greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warner Has Left the Building!, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Scott T. Rivers (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No bonus footage, no theatrical trailer, no "Johnny B. Goode." Even though Warner Home Video slashed their restoration budget due to the poor economy, they could have given "Elvis on Tour" (1972) the royal DVD treatment. They simply didn't care. Elvis fans have every right to feel ripped off, but uninitiated viewers probably won't mind. However, Presley's final film deserved much better. Save your money and wait for the inevitable two-disc "special edition."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis at his very best, 29 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis On Tour [VHS] (VHS Tape)
elvis on tour focuses on the king's 1972 tour of the southern states. here we find the elvis in perfect form, just proir to his historic madison square garden concerts, the on tour film won the 1972 golden globe for best documentary, and interestingly was worked on by martin scorsese. elvis on tour sees elvis perform many of his classic hits such as burnin love, american trilogy, and love me tender. but the best, and most frequently used songs on the video are lesser known presley classics such as see see rider, you gave me a mountain, and his unbelievable rendition of bridge over troubled water. elvis on tour arguably shows the king at his best, although the 68 special, 69 vegas shows, anything from 1970, and march 74 tour are also contenders. if you want a real treat, elvis fan or not, buy this video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis on tour, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Elvis On Tour [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i think that elvis on tour is the best concert of all time, it even beats aloha from hawaii, it shows elvis at his best and at his worst durin his 1972 tour. the songs Burning Love and Bridge over troubled water were done brilliantly by the king, The best song in the video in my opinion is you gave me a mountain, so overall this video is brilliant and i suggest anyone to see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis On Tour, 9 July 2011
By 
Mrs. H. M. Marshall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis on Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I had been looking forward to seeing Elvis On tour on DVD for a long time. I have a copy on VHS but the picture on the DVD is improved as you would expect although I did think the DVD was very slightly darker than the tape. I was disappointed that copyright problems meant that the DVD opened with Elvis singing "Don't Be Cruel" instead of "Johnny B Goode", the second disappointment was the complete lack of extras from the filming of Elvis On Tour and such outtakes do exist. Hopefully a second edition will be issued with some more material on it.

On the positive side, it was great to see Elvis singing on stage, he was in great form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars on tour blue ray, 10 Aug 2010
All I can say is wow. Watched the blue ray edition last night and eventhough we have watched on Tour a hundred times the blue ray is dazzeling. Elvis looks great, his stage costumes look spectacular and the interaction with the band is great. You can now actually see the band behind him clearly and catch all the banter with Elvis. The sound is great and the kings voice sounds even better. Looking forward to a delux edition in a few years with all the missing footage. Recommended to all, not just fans of the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Rocks., 30 Sep 2007
By 
M. J. clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis on Tour [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Amazing film.Elvis may look pale but he is on top form here as are the TCB band.They all really let go and the result is pure 70s Rock.Check out Polk Salad Annie,Proud Mary,the Karate sequence,Ron Tutts awesome drumming,Jerry Sheffs thunderous bass lines and Elvis' incredible vocal power.He's more powerful vocally here than in Aloha and much more relaxed.Other standout performances include Bridge Over Troubled Water,Mountain,the Stamps singing Sweet Sweet Spirit and of course American Trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis on tour., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant to finally see the main man himself on blue ray. Superb picture and sound quality, it's jus t like being at a concert in person. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, not just vivid elvis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS ON TOP OF THE WORLD, 12 July 2012
This review is from: Elvis on Tour [DVD] (DVD)
This is the lonnng awaited official digital release of the award winning movie that chronicled the King's april 1972 concert tour. Fans had long been lobbying for this release and now we have it in two formats - DVD and Blu-ray.

It was almost like watching Elvis On Tour for the first time, especially noticeable when the original opening song Johnny B Goode was replaced by Don't Be Cruel as a result of copyright issues. It seems Mr Chuck Berry wouldn't allow it this time! Personally, I don't think Don't Be Cruel should've been the film opener, but then again I can't think of an alternative to match that dynamic opening segment. Well, perhaps his 1972 live version of Heartbreak Hotel or Hound Dog.

Anyway, in this movie Elvis looks and sounds every bit The King. By 1972, he had done it all and was at the top of his profession. And he knew it, almost to the point of cockiness. The fans were wildly ecstatic and screamed their lungs out anywhere he went all across America.

This remastered dvd format brings out sound and vision detail not heard and seen before. The music is heavy and just about every instrument is heard - much unlike the original horrible 'tin-can' mono sound. Since 1969, Elvis had employed a full orchestra to back him and this new version does true justice to the brilliant musicians in his band.

Elvis performs a few of his old hits but mainly contemporary songs belonging to other artists, such as Proud Mary, Polk Salad Annie, Bridge Over Troubled Water, and a powerful Never Been to Spain . What comes across glaringly in Elvis On Tour is how far Elvis had developed since his humble (but world-changing) recordings in 1954. His transformation from the rockabilly singer to this flashy and almost alien rock mega-star is unbelievable.

There are no special features or bonus material to tantalise, but beggars cannot be choosers. I'm quite happy to have what I have after such a long long wait, and even happier to know that any extra material may appear later in the same format. So something to look forward to at least.

I've also got the blue-ray version which digs even deeper to bring out even higher quality sound and vision. Do not hesitate, fan or not, get this movie in blu-ray or DVD and enjoy Elvis Presley the superstar at his greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis on Tour [DVD]
Elvis on Tour [DVD] (DVD - 2010)
£8.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews