Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you come to expect
Parkway Drive's third venture 'Deep Blue'is yet another fantastic effort from the guys down under. The band has not strayed too far from their previous releases, albeit sounding slightly 'heavier' than in the past. Winston's vocal's yet again sound incredible on this record, dry and throaty with an awesome tone. Having gone with a different producer this time the record...
Published on 29 Jun 2010 by Mr. M. D. Newman

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happened?
This album is, if anything, a huge leap backwards for Parkway Drive. The sound quality is terrible, and the songs lack anything that catches your ear. Bands like Mychildren Mybride, August Burns Red, The Ghost Inside and other such bands are miles ahead of Parkway Drive, and i recommend you avoid this album, and giving it three stars is me being nice.
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by glenn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you come to expect, 29 Jun 2010
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Parkway Drive's third venture 'Deep Blue'is yet another fantastic effort from the guys down under. The band has not strayed too far from their previous releases, albeit sounding slightly 'heavier' than in the past. Winston's vocal's yet again sound incredible on this record, dry and throaty with an awesome tone. Having gone with a different producer this time the record does take on a slightly different sound, Adam D of Killswitch Engage preferring a more 'clean n crisp' approach, this time round the boys have gone for a more 'in your face' production.
The critics that have noted that Parkway have not 'evolved' as a band, and are churning the 'same old sound' may have a point, but it is my opinion that if a band produces music as good as this, why change the formula? A band should not be merited on 'evolving their sound', rather the quality of the music it produces.
I don't believe there are any fillers on this album, which can be said for 'Horizons' for example. The drums are as gigantic sounding as ever, and the guitars intertwined with each other like never before, weaving galloping rhythms and ascending solos, the best example being 'Karma, quite possibly the best song on the album.
So my final point I guess is if your expecting anything different from these guys then I'm afraid you will be sadly disapointed, but if you loved these guys previous efforts you will be sure to fall in love with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: Deep Blue (MP3 Download)
This album got me into Parkway Drive, its really heavy and has some awesome breakdowns. Sleepwalker has got to the best song on the album imo but unrest is a close second place with an insane breakdown and is very catchy! This is much better than alot of some stuff that metalcore bands are throwing out there these days. Highly recommended if you like extreme metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite PWD album, 31 May 2013
By 
C. Watmough (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
I love this album, for me personally it's PWD at their metalcore best. 'Sleepwalker' - one of the best PWD tracks of all time! 'Deliver Me' is also amazing. Great album from start to finish and heavy as hell. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dayummmm, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Deep Blue (MP3 Download)
Such a hench album. You like breakdowns, get it ;) Favrouits on the album would be Unrest, Sleepwalker, Alone, Deliver Me and Set To Destroy. Anyway I pretty much said the whole album is sick, so go buy it. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!! \m/, 23 Sep 2011
By 
A. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Well, I can't say much more than that! Best metal record of 2010. Please ignore the 1 star review, clearly written by a stick in the mud 'tru metal' warrior, probably sleeps with Manowar dolls or an Eddie teddy... bless.

Anyway - Deep Blue received 9 out of 10 in Metal Hammer, which is very unusual for a 'metalcore' band. This album is the culmination of the previous two albums (Killing with a Smile and Horizons) bringing both the fun aspects of KWAS and the forward thinking more mature direction of Horizons. Together they create the perfect blend of irresistibly exciting breakdowns (see KWAS's Anasasis {Xenophontis}) and intelligent yet accessible riffing (Carrion - Horizons) in songs such as third track Sleepwalker. You may just want to bounce out of your bedroom window whist air guitaring with a maniacal grin all over your face. Note - I wouldn't advise trying it...

This is certainly a step forward from Horizons which for all its intelligent song writing was simply not as much fun as KWAS. Now we have the best of both worlds on Deep Blue. Can't wait to see what they can come up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Parkway Drive - Deep Blue, 2 Dec 2010
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Deep Blue was released in 2010 by Australian Metalcore act Parkway Drive, it was their third full-length studio album and the fan-anticipation surrounding its release was immense.

The album marks a shift in production style for the band as production was not handled by Adam D (of Killwitch Engage) for the first time on a full-length Parkway Drive album. Musically, The band concentrate on the heavier side of their sound, especially favoring their breakdowns and big riffs, which results in a very direct and hard sounding album full of very solid and well constructed songs following a pretty strict musical formula.

The album is a real grower and repeat listens really bring out all the character and little touches. The whole album flows pretty well and each song boasts some some vocal chant that will be stuck in your head for a long time. The real standout tracks are the single `Sleepwalker,' the catchy `Home Is For The Heartless,' and the absolutely gigantic sounding `Deadweight,' which features one of the best breakdowns on the whole album.

If you were being unkind you could call the album one-dimensional but the band also include a few their contemplative passages and technical sections to break up the barrage of aggression and additionally the album is conceptual in nature with the songs all unified by shared lyrical ideas (telling the story of a disillusioned man attempting to find understanding by venturing under the sea only to return to where he started) and both these elements inject enough creativity into the mix to make the album stand out from the crowd as a great record, even among other Parkway Drive albums.

Interestingly for a concept album, Deep Blue is remarkably music-focused and the narrative doesn't interrupt or overwhelm the music at any point. Its not so much a rock opera with non-musical dialogue and sound effects as an album that just ended up telling a story. It can stand on its own as a set of tight, independent songs or you can sit down with the lyrics and enjoy it with a hidden extra layer of depth and both ways work equally well.

The more you listen to it the more you realize that Deep Blue is an almost flawless album and the only thing that could really be considered wrong with it, is if you already don't like or have heard too much of the style of music that the band play. While Parkway Drive do not break huge amounts of new ground however, what they do, they do very well indeed. Parkway Drive have Metalcore down to a science and with their rejection of clean vocals altogether, still have something new to offer to metal fans who dislike or have grown tired of the over-saturated clean/light Metalcore sound. You can't realistically accuse them of ripping off Killswitch Engage exclusively if they don't employ the same giant clean choruses, arguably the biggest factor in the Killswitch sound.

Overall; the quality of the music speaks for itself and I if you are a fan of the genre, Deep Blue is definitely an album you need to be listening to. It is tight, confident and perfectly formed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Metalcore genius, 28 Nov 2010
By 
R. Humphrey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
If you are a metal fan, buy this or you are missing out. If you havent heard Parkway Drive before then that will explain why you are bothering to read the reviews, if you had heard them you would probably already own this. Top band on top form, brilliant. Stand out track for me is `Sleepwalker', although I have not listened to this album as much as the previous Parkway Drive albums as yet so I may well change my mind and probably want to come back and give this 5 stars in the future.

If you are not a metal fan then you will probably find this way too heavy... buy it anyway to scare your friends with. Listen to it a couple of times you will start to find the beat of the songs, then you start actually being able to pick out the vocals and then the individual instruments will start to stand out. You will realise that for all the ferocity of the tracks there is a subtlety and carefully woven intricacy to the instruments and individual parts. If you are a musician then you will probably decide at this point that not only is this not `just noise' but these guys can really play and they know what they are doing, in fact it is damn impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavier is better, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Ms. S. H. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
this album is alot heavier than previous albums and i think i prefer parkway more this way it sounds much darker and more grown up.and i would have to disagree with glenn as parkway are way better than the bands he mentioned altho i do like them but winstons vocals are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ignore the idiot saying it's a step backwards..., 14 July 2010
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
...they obviously have no general taste of metal.

This album is heavier but at the same time far more technical, which in my opinion is a a great move by PWD! I'll admit it took me a few listening sessions to get to grips with it but i eventually realised how subtle they had been with the transition from the previous albums to this one!

Keep it up lads and looking forward to November in Pompey, i'll be in the pit no doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 29 Jun 2010
By 
Nicholas A. Herring "Nick Herring" (Dorset, Poole) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Blue (Audio CD)
With this album, I feel Parkway Drive have really stepped up from their prevoius album Horizons and I wish i could say the exact same thing for Killswtich's last album and also As I Lay Dying. Parkway Drive have really upped their game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Blue
Deep Blue by Parkway Drive (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews