Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat, sweet and does the job
If you have any device that has a mini UBS port this handy thing will enable you to plug it in from the Car's cigar lighter socket this will save value battery time whilst it is in the car and in use.

A good feature is that the mini USB Port is on the side rather than the end. This should in theory reduce the pull and subsequent damage to the cable that a...
Published on 28 April 2012 by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars check it is suitable for your satnav first.
What can one say? It fits the SatNav and connects to the car battery through the cigarette lighter charging it. It worked on my wife's satnav but not on my "Myguide" sat nav. Worth checking to make sure it will work on yours before buying. It is easy to use and it is good value. it does what it should at a good price. Recommended.
Published on 28 April 2012 by Musicfan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 April 2012
By 
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mini-Usb is on plenty of devices. Currently on a lot of new phones (that aren't Apple of course!) gps devices and more

This charged everything I owned and looks like a slightly better quality cheap chinese device.

One thing that might be an issue is that the connector has an right angled cable. I believe it's to make the cable more sturdy, but could possibly make it impossible to insert into devices with a recessed input.

I haven't come across any devices like this, but it might be worth taking into consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat, sweet and does the job, 28 April 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you have any device that has a mini UBS port this handy thing will enable you to plug it in from the Car's cigar lighter socket this will save value battery time whilst it is in the car and in use.

A good feature is that the mini USB Port is on the side rather than the end. This should in theory reduce the pull and subsequent damage to the cable that a cheaper placed one would have

The device looks robust has a decent length of cable attached and simply does the trick and you can't say fairer than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GPS car cable, 28 April 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This GPS cable is very well designed the power cable that fits into your car to charge is very stubby and the mini usb port is housed at a right angle to the cable so it won't break off as happens to most cables in my experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective, 28 April 2012
By 
Christian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With any product sold as a "basic" range, you don't expect to receive something revolutionary; and you really don't here. This is an in car charger with the Amazon name on it which outputs to a mini usb connector.

The accompanying note says that it is designed for use with the Garmin nuvi sat nav device, however this doesn't necessarily mean it cannot be used with any other product. The input is 12-24v DC and the output is 5V - 1000mA.

The look and feel of the charger is undoubtedly budget, however this is not something that you are necessarily going to spend a lot of money on. The cable is a decent length (approx 1 meter) and the usb connector is at a right angle. The power light is on top of the plug in unit and easily seen.

It lost a star for me as the top of the plug in unit is wobbly and feels like it is likely to break. You get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars check it is suitable for your satnav first., 28 April 2012
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What can one say? It fits the SatNav and connects to the car battery through the cigarette lighter charging it. It worked on my wife's satnav but not on my "Myguide" sat nav. Worth checking to make sure it will work on yours before buying. It is easy to use and it is good value. it does what it should at a good price. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great replacement for my sat-nav,navman s30, 21 April 2012
By 
s "s" (north west) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I always store my car charger in the glove box but managed to cut the lead when i closed the drawer.No problem,i simply went onto a well known auction site and purchased one for little money.It would charge the sat-nav when it wasn't being used for navigation but if i needed the sat-nav,it wouldn't play.Disaster? Not really because this charger is exactly what i needed.It charges whether or not my sat-nav is in use.There's an easily seen blue light on the charger to see it's connected and charging so i'm very pleased.One slight negative for me was the usb connector is at 90 degrees which mean't a little fiddle to get it into the sat-nav holder but not a big issue.
Highly recommended,it has a quality feel and i believe it's good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well made but obsolete, 20 May 2012
By 
Ed.F "edz314" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Once upon a time nearly everything, from phones, to GPS devices had different connectors and charger formats. Then someone sensible formed a committee to work out how to unify all this and reduce the mountain of old chargers and connector cables from crashing down on our heads. Once this committee had reported and everyone apart from Apple had agreed that their recommendation was the way forward all other charger formats and connectors instantly became, well not quite obsolete but definitely in the "manage out of existence" category.

That standard was the Micro-USB. This is a Mini-USB charger and therefore only really useful if you have an older device which needs that format but all your new phones and GSP devices will use something else. Apart from that. It works. It feels well made. It's a decent length.

It now lives in a box alongside the rest of my obsolete tech kit. Perhaps awaiting one last "I'm sure I had one of those around here somewhere" usage but more likely awaiting a long rest in the dark before meeting it's end at the hands of the recyclers furnaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bright blue ON light and compact, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
I prefer this to the OEM unit,
It fitted in my motorcycle glove box and maintained contact with the supply for a 2,500 trip to Florence and back through Switzerland and the Dolmites (some seriously bumpy roads in places). Better product than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GPS Charger, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Ladybubbles (Croydon, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is really not much you can say except about a cable such as this

Like all Amazons basics it is built well and sturdy and is a handy little gadget and does the business.

No complaints, well made, works well. What more is there to say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says at a decent price., 12 July 2012
By 
A. Taylor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Universal GPS Vehicle Power Cable with Mini USB Port with 1.3 m Cable (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hard to write a protracted review on the merits of a car charger but it does do what it says on the tin, is robustly made, if not quite built like a tank, and seems good value. So, much like the rest of the AmazonBasics range. No thrills, decent quality, does what it says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews