Customer Reviews


3,276 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,263)
4 star:
 (608)
3 star:
 (137)
2 star:
 (71)
1 star:
 (197)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


404 of 455 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a little gem!
I am moving to a new computer soon and wanted to park a copy of My Documents and Favourites out of harm's way. I read the reviews kindly left about this drive by other people, for which many thanks! I noticed the advice about uninstalling UR Drive and /or deleting superfluous software.
I am somewhat nervous of mechanical devices, but it was recognized instantly and...
Published on 20 Jun 2011 by Cossackgirl

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very slow drive - 16GB version
I've had two of these now, one sent back because of writing speed. The replacement was actually worse.

Using H2testw v1.4

Writing speed: 2.07 MByte/s
Reading speed: 17.1 MByte/s

As a comparison I also tested a 8GB Sandisk Cruser - if only they still sold this drive

Cruser
Writing speed: 7.72 MByte/s
Reading speed:...
Published 5 months ago by Rob B


‹ Previous | 1 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very slow drive - 16GB version, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had two of these now, one sent back because of writing speed. The replacement was actually worse.

Using H2testw v1.4

Writing speed: 2.07 MByte/s
Reading speed: 17.1 MByte/s

As a comparison I also tested a 8GB Sandisk Cruser - if only they still sold this drive

Cruser
Writing speed: 7.72 MByte/s
Reading speed: 26.8 MByte/s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great price, slow speed, 15 Nov 2012
By 
C. McManus (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product is at a great price from a reputable manufacturers, but the write speed is as slow as I've ever seen. It will take you a long time to fill this!

Using it to save files I rescued from a friends broken laptop. This consisted of about 40GB of files from My Documents and My Pictures folders. The write speed is around 2.5 MC/Second, so it takes a good while to do the transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not work, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately the memory stick did not work, my laptop displayed the message 'could not install driver' and did not allow me to put any files onto the stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worked fine.. for a while!!, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 32GB USB Flash Drive - Purple (Personal Computers)
I bought it for backing up work when based out of office on a weekly basis. Was roking fine then after two months it started slowing way down when I started to use if for every day tasks. In the last week of it's life it was chronically slow, would fail to be recognised after being left plugged in for a while. Finally, it wasnt recoginsesed at all by any computer I tried. In fact, it caused machines to freeze and crash as they attempted to communicate with it!

Now doesnt show up on Windows on Linux, Windows Disk manager cant do anything with it, cant format it, now a useless piece of plastic and metal.

Luckily I didn't lose anything valuable on it! Even though it was a generic, cheap memory stick, I would have expected more than two month life span.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars stoped working 3 days after the 30 days return policy, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just stopped working, tried with divers utility software for mac and pc, just dead... Kingston is usually reliable but I wouldn't recommend this particular item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A cheap copy, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already have a Kingston data traveller and this compared to the original is obviously a cheap copy.

I copied some movies to it and they wont play, but when copied to another usb stick they work.. I wouldn't buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mind-numbingly slow, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Small: Yes. Cheap: yes. Slow: Yes.

Whether formatted for PC (FAT-32) or Macs (HFS+) this thing is mind-numbingly slow to write to. Don't buy this if you plan on getting things done quickly. I have flash drives that I've had for over 3 years that, after constant use, are still faster than this dog of a drive.

On the other hand, if you just want to use this to read from (maybe you're going to carry movie or music files on it) then you should be fine. It'll take you a long while to fill it to capacity, but if you don't change the files once they're on there, or add new ones, you should be OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like watching paint dry, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't believe this has a 4 star rating it beggars belief the company must be putting up fake reviews. It's slow as he'll don't buy this I wanted to put a film on today and it took over 20 minutes. I have 5 years older USB that take 2 minutes to put the same film on.what this chunk of crap can do would be good in the 90s but not now avoid at all cost it's not worth it for few extra quid savings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars problems with stick, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i had one of these and it keeps corrupting and saying it needs to be formatted none stop problems withit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The packaging is where the frustration-free bit ends, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This USB stick is slow. Seriously slow. Think of the slowest thing you can, then it's even slower. And that's frustrating.

It must have some kind of write caching because the burst write-rate seems reasonable (as high as 12MB/s) but sustained it drops to just over 3MB/s, and as such will take well over an hour to fill. There's also no activity light, so be aware that that smallish media file that should have copied on in seconds might still be going several minutes later...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews