Customer Reviews


1,855 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,315)
4 star:
 (342)
3 star:
 (77)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (82)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


413 of 465 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a little gem!
I am moving to a new computer soon and wanted to park a copy of My Documents and Favourites out of harm's way. I read the reviews kindly left about this drive by other people, for which many thanks! I noticed the advice about uninstalling UR Drive and /or deleting superfluous software.
I am somewhat nervous of mechanical devices, but it was recognized instantly and...
Published on 20 Jun 2011 by Cossackgirl

versus
49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like watching paint dry
Can't believe this has a 4 star rating it beggars belief the company must be putting up fake reviews. It's slow as he'll don't buy this I wanted to put a film on today and it took over 20 minutes. I have 5 years older USB that take 2 minutes to put the same film on.what this chunk of crap can do would be good in the 90s but not now avoid at all cost it's not worth it for...
Published 10 months ago by stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2186 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like watching paint dry, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Can't believe this has a 4 star rating it beggars belief the company must be putting up fake reviews. It's slow as he'll don't buy this I wanted to put a film on today and it took over 20 minutes. I have 5 years older USB that take 2 minutes to put the same film on.what this chunk of crap can do would be good in the 90s but not now avoid at all cost it's not worth it for few extra quid savings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not work, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Unfortunately the memory stick did not work, my laptop displayed the message 'could not install driver' and did not allow me to put any files onto the stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very slow drive - 16GB version, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I've had two of these now, one sent back because of writing speed. The replacement was actually worse.

Using H2testw v1.4

Writing speed: 2.07 MByte/s
Reading speed: 17.1 MByte/s

As a comparison I also tested a 8GB Sandisk Cruser - if only they still sold this drive

Cruser
Writing speed: 7.72 MByte/s
Reading speed: 26.8 MByte/s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mind-numbingly slow, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Small: Yes. Cheap: yes. Slow: Yes.

Whether formatted for PC (FAT-32) or Macs (HFS+) this thing is mind-numbingly slow to write to. Don't buy this if you plan on getting things done quickly. I have flash drives that I've had for over 3 years that, after constant use, are still faster than this dog of a drive.

On the other hand, if you just want to use this to read from (maybe you're going to carry movie or music files on it) then you should be fine. It'll take you a long while to fill it to capacity, but if you don't change the files once they're on there, or add new ones, you should be OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish - broke, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
It lasted about six months before it stopped working - I lost a lot of important work data - lesson leaned, back it all up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable - doesn't always register as a drive when plugging in., 9 Feb 2014
By 
Richard Lyall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Within a couple of weeks it had become unreliable. It only seems to work every 3rd time I insert it now. And this is after trying it in several ports. Sometimes it ejects itself after being inserted successfully. When it works, it works fine, but I can't rely on it to work when I need it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HUMM IF ITS CHEAP THERES GENERALLY A REASON !!!, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
BOUGHT THIS WHEN MY LAP TOP & MEMORY STICKS WERE STOLLEN
AS REPLACEMENTS SO VALUE FOR MONEY MATTERED -
IT SEEMED OK AT FIRST BUT WAS ALWAYS WAS A BIT HIT &
MISS BEING 'RECOGNISED' WHEN I PLUGGED
IT INTO NEW LAP TOP ( THOUGHT IT MAY B JUST THE
NEW LAP TOP BUT SHOULD HAVE SENT IT BACK THEN!!)
.....NO ITS STEADILY GOT WORSE ..RECOGNISED LESS AND LESS
OFTEN IN ANY PC OR LAP TOP AND NOW THE PLASTIC UNIT HAS
CRACKED AND USB PORT SLIDED BACK INTO THE UNIT
HAD IT ONLY 3 MONTHS AND YES IVE BEEN USING IT BUT
THATS WHAT ITS FOR !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars problems with stick, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
i had one of these and it keeps corrupting and saying it needs to be formatted none stop problems withit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I have quite a few flash drives as we have three WD Live TV boxes
in the house and they are great for a sticking a movie on but this
is so slow at copying files to i gave up.
Buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great, for the first 20 uses..., 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 16GB USB Flash Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
But then very temperamental. It worked well initially and held a lot of data, but then stopped being 'recognised' several times which is not much use when you work at home and then take it to work where it won't open. Thinking this might have been a one off I continued to use it but it 'failed to be recognised' in three different machines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2186 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews