Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one !
Don't hesitate to buy this one. Kellerman is at his best, the story is absolutely intriguing and some of you may learn with delight : there's hardly any mention of Robin, lol.
Honestly, I think this is one of his ever best novels and believe me, I've read 98% of his books !!!!
Published on 7 April 2011 by Iris Krummenohl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work
I was a little disappointed in Deception -- Alex Delaware is very much a passenger in this book, with Milo the main focus. Not a problem in itself, however it then becomes just another detective novel. The characters were a little thin and sometimes confusing. The plot was slow and concluded quickly.
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by David A. Jamieson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one !, 7 April 2011
By 
Iris Krummenohl (Antwerp/Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't hesitate to buy this one. Kellerman is at his best, the story is absolutely intriguing and some of you may learn with delight : there's hardly any mention of Robin, lol.
Honestly, I think this is one of his ever best novels and believe me, I've read 98% of his books !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subliminal teasing, 9 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you read between the lines of Kellerman's books, you are taught sensitive morality and gentle ethics. Funny thing is, it happens amongst the most horrifying criminal situations and macabre scenery: this author is clever, simultaneously hard and tender, sharp in his dialogues and plots, his idiosyncratic dress codes and beautiful psychological insights.

I just love it, the way he writes and without much effort (to my mind at least: I'm sure he must suffer through his manuscript's revisions to find perfection) offers you a glimpse of the mind's complexities as applied to common human behaviour. This novel isn't an exception, especially if you like to enter the theatre of teenager cruelty and spoiled elitism.

The story is, as I've come to expect from this writer, brutal and gruesome, involving rape and murder, power and wealth, predators, sexual promiscuity, hidden anguish and deadly sins. All suspense ingredients are there, ably mixed to turn a real thriller into a terrifying nightmare... But our two usual heroes, Alex and Milo, are there to achieve positive closure, with sarcastic humour and the reader's engrossing pleasure - Milo's interviewing skills are a special pleasure to appreciate and, all in all, Kellerman confirms his masterful technique: tell an execrable tale, but with a subliminal constructive lesson to offer.

I always close a Kellerman book with some regret in having finished it, but feeling ultimately good inside, no matter the horrors I have witnessed in reading it: I call that catharsis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 25 April 2010
By 
A. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception (Hardcover)
Having just finished this book I have to say it was not as enjoyable as usual. I just felt the story was a little slow and somewhat confusing. The characters were not as well developed as I would expect but the story was nicely unpredictable and kept me guessing until the end. Jonathan Kellerman is an excellent writer but if you are a first time reader this might not be the best book for you to start your lifetime of being a big fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Education, education, education, 14 April 2010
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception (Hardcover)
As ever, Kellerman tells a good story, this one featuring Dr. Alex Delaware and his sometime friend, homicide detective Milo Sturgis. A female body packed in dry ice is our starter for ten and when it turns out that the woman was a teacher at one of the more elite schools, the author uses his ready knowledge about the education system to both confuse, irritate and yet, beguile the reader.

I wish I could have awarded 3.5 stars for unless the reader understands the niceties of the upper educational system in America, this book is a bit of a struggle at first. I'm none the wiser now. Is Yale better than Harvard, what's the Ivy League, which uni has more clout than another? I've no idea and, frankly, I don't really want to find out within the depths of a thriller, no matter how intriguing a stage this sets for the unearthing of the killer.

There are too many in-jokes within the dialogue to make for a snappy read. Once all this is cleared out of the investigative system, then the book follows the author's usual well scripted prose with excellent dialogue and the story moving from one red herring to another whilst the two investigators pit their wits against the heirachy of Windsor Prep Academy.

It's good to read a Delaware novel. He doesn't seem to do a lot but yet we get there in the end and it's always an addictive journey. Why dry ice was used is only revealed at the end so the reader can have a good 'ole time working that one out earlier. I didn't but, frankly, I wasn't that interested in the characters away from the two main protagonists. Preppy youths and high-minded teachers are not my forte but, as with all Kellerman's books, it was an experience. I certainly look forward to the next one - after all, no experience, no life - or did I misquote?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild Plot Twists and a Satire of the Very Rich and Ambitious in This Police Procedural, 7 May 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deception (Hardcover)
"You shall not pervert justice; you shall not show partiality, nor take a bribe, for a bribe blinds the eyes of the wise and twists the words of the righteous." -- Deuteronomy 16:19 (NKJV)

Elise Freeman, a substitute English and history teacher at exclusive Windsor Prep Academy, turns up dead under most unusual circumstances. The investigation quickly turns up DVD in which Ms. Freeman accuses three of her fellow teachers of extreme misconduct . . . a DVD apparently recorded due to being in fear of her death. Other interests determine that the investigation proceed, but at a very low key level. It's just the beginning of a very bizarre trail through the hidden side of the lives of those with too much money and ambition.

A staple of many police procedural plots is to have a conflict of interest that influences the investigation. Milo Sturgis isn't likely to be easily dissuaded from doing his duty, even when the conflict arises from the police chief. The tension does create some memorable humor in this police procedural filled with more red herrings and plot twists than in any five other murder mysteries. The satire of how the very rich and ambitious live can be amusing as well.

I like books that draw my attention away from the real criminal, and this plot was quite effective in that regard. I found it to be a big improvement over the last few Alex Delaware books.

At the same time, Milo and Alex failed to be as interesting as they were earlier in the series. There's just a lot of throw-away humor about eating too much and psychobabble as substitutes for character development and involvement.

I came away from this book feeling encouraged that Jonathan Kellerman seems to have put some real effort into this book. With a little more affection for his characters, he can easily make this a top-notch series once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kellerman isn't Tolstoy..., 8 April 2010
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception (Hardcover)
and "Deception" isn't "War and Peace". But it is a tidy tale of death, deceit, and yes, deception. I believe in comparing a writer's work with his past work. Can't compare it to another writer, that isn't quite fair. Kellerman's novels are very good for what they are - fast paced quasi-police and psychological procedurals. And "Deception" is a good follow-up to Kellerman's past work.

Same old, same old characters in "Deception"; Dr Alex Delaware - a free-lance child psychologist - and Milo Sturgis - a LA police detective usually assigned to tough cases. And the murder case of Elise Freeman was indeed tough. Found frozen in ice in her own bathtub, the victim had a plethora of prospective killers. After following a red-herring DVD where Freeman has named three fellow teachers at an ultra-exclusive LA prep school as possible suspects if she is found dead, Sturgis and Delaware run into obfuscation on the part of the administration when attempting to deal with the teachers and students at the school. After all, it's spring time and the powers-that-be don't want the school's reputation hurt just when the Ivy's are deciding on admissions for the school's seniors. Toss in money - a whole lot of it - and influence - a whole lot more of it - and you've got a hard-to-solve murder. Freeman's murder is succeeded by at least two more until Delaware and Sturgis put it all together and solve the crime. Now, as with most of Kellerman's work, the characters are sort of cardboard, but Kellerman makes the book good reading by use of snappy dialogue.

Kellerman seems to publish an Alex Delaware novel every year. I've read them all and felt a few years ago that they were getting stale. Somehow, Kellerman has refired his imagination and the last few books have been good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would be hard to find a book by Jonathan Kellerman that wasn't good and this one is excellent and I found it un-put-downable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No deception needed, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception: Alex Delaware 25 (Kindle Edition)
The one thing I enjoy the most about Kellerman's books is the pacing. Unlike other "who done it's" he doesn't give up all the information we need to figure it out for ourselves until he needs to. I have ruined too many novels for myself by guessing very early on the 'who' and 'why'. With Kellerman it is more like going on a well thought out journey than a race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception: Alex Delaware 25 (Kindle Edition)
Never disappointed when Alex and Milo are on the case . I love this book as its a perfect example of their relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kellerman never disappoints, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had to catch up on 4 years of Alex Delaware - still books you can't put down & are easy to read without being too convoluted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deception: Alex Delaware 25
Deception: Alex Delaware 25 by Jonathan Kellerman
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews