Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always a pleasure
I do so enjoy Kerry Greenwoods feisty heroine and this time it on board a good old P&O liner. So a larger than usual locked room mystery as no can leave! With her faithful maid and new friends she tangles with a killer and triumphs for the emancipated woman of the early twentieth century as per usual. With her fabulous wardrobe and spakling wit Miss Fisher wins again.
Published on 23 Oct 2012 by library girl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars fun read, get it if you like Phryne Fisher
Fun read and makes you want to go on an old fashioned cruise ship. Good characterisation and lots of interesting people
Published 19 months ago by Mei Hui


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always a pleasure, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do so enjoy Kerry Greenwoods feisty heroine and this time it on board a good old P&O liner. So a larger than usual locked room mystery as no can leave! With her faithful maid and new friends she tangles with a killer and triumphs for the emancipated woman of the early twentieth century as per usual. With her fabulous wardrobe and spakling wit Miss Fisher wins again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder at sea, 11 Mar 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
Phryne Fisher is not looking forward to Mr and Mrs Butler going away for a fortnight while she has her sister, Eliza and her partner Alice staying with her. Fearing that she will have a disorganised and noisy time of it she decides to accept a request from P&O to go on a cruise to see if she can discover who is stealing passengers' jewellery.

She takes her companion, Dot Williams with her, and looks forward to a quiet two weeks with a little light detecting on the side. When she arrives on board she is given a fabulous sapphire necklace to wear so that she can act as bait for the thief and she is seated at a table with a group of passengers who have been on previous cruises when robberies have taken place. Dot, meanwhile eats with the servants and crew so that she can find out whether there is anyone suspicious.

This is a fascinating story with plenty of suspects and some intriguing relationships between passengers and crew. I loved the descriptions of life on board a cruise ship and the way the relationships between the characters are brought to life. The book is well written with sparkling dialogue and many humorous touches. Many of the characters will find their lives have changed - for better or worse - before the end of the story when the villains are unmasked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phryne adventure 15, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
like all in the series it is an excellent read, I can put it down and pick it up maybe a day or two later and fall straight into the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
Fryne is my heroine. She's fabulous. A good read, a bit different from usual, as set on a boat, without some of the usual characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Death by water, 16 April 2014
By 
Hazel LUCAS "CONWAY" (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
I like all Phryne Fisher books; this one was slightly less good. The murder was an incidental episode towards the end of the book, not the main feature as in other books, also the victim was an incidental character whom nobody liked. So the title was not quite apt. However, I shall definitely buy more of these books, I am working my way through the series and also have the DVD which is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars riveting read, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
I feel that I have been on a cruise and am now familiar with the coast of New Zealand. I have laughed out loud at the brilliant observations and have admired the well constructed sentences. This is apart from enjoying the plot and not least Miss phrynne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasurable read, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
Love the Phryne Fisher series .Just a nice easy holiday read .Read this whilst cruising the Med -nothing as exciting happened on our ship !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 14 Jan 2014
By 
thebakery (East sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
It 's a good read they all are - Please remove the ,minimum required words. What else can I say ??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fully up to expectations, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Water: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 15 (Phryne Fisher series) (Kindle Edition)
I've read so many Phryne Fishers that I approach them with the expectation of a good, entertaining and well-researched read. This one is bulked out with a lot of tourist stuff about New Zealand, but it is well done and wholly acceptable. The period is well established, and the writing very workmanlike. Fun and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A clever mystery, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Death By Water is the fifteenth book in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood. This instalment is a version of closed room mystery, with the closed room being the First Class section of the P&O liner SS Hinemoa on a voyage from Melbourne to New Zealand. Phryne accepts an invitation from P&O to help them catch a jewel thief who has managed to boldly lift diamonds, pearls and emeralds from passengers on three separate cruises, once on a crowded dance floor. Dot goes along as a companion, but is grateful to eat in the second class dining room, which excuses her from eating with the upper classes and allows her to find out what the crew, service personnel and musicians are saying. Phryne becomes bait with a large sapphire pendant gracing her cleavage. The large and varied cast is involved in blackmail, jewel theft and revenge killing; there is talk of frozen ships and the Titanic sinking; Dot and Phryne go to a hangi, see fjords, Milford Sound and keas; the ship's cat plays a pivotal role; Dot is drugged and Phryne is almost drowned. Each chapter is concluded with correspondence from or about prospective Titanic passengers, and one of these contains a clue. A clever mystery set amid 1928 luxury. Greenwood at the top of her game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews