Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my godness
When you listen to a new album and it is like falling in love, spending the day thinking about when you can next listen to it. The rising flutter in your stomach, feeling sick and tingling and elated and excited all at once. The haunting melodies and darkly lyrical poetic words - the music creeps up through my flesh, crawls through my veins, settles in my elbows and knees...
Published on 14 Oct. 2010 by Linzal

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars VILLAGERS: BECOMING A JACKAL
I bought this album after reading the above reviews and was expecting some previously unheralded masterpiece. Whilst there are definite references to Prefab Sprout and the great Pierce Turner (don't get the Jeff Buckley refs), these are only stylistic references and Conor O'Brien's songs never come close in quality, to those of either of these artists. To be honest, there...
Published 20 months ago by threewiseninjas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Prefab Spout isn't it ?, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
Jago Wells - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
I like this record...playing at the moment to get me in the mood. Although it's described as Indie Folk there is absolutely nothing Folk about it. If this is within a million miles of Folk Musuc then Jay Z is the new Martin Cathy! No...this is mellow pop..soft rock..Indie Pop ??? I dunno but it's certainly charming in its way.Villagers IS Conor o Brien, a young Irish songsmith from the posh Dublin suburb of Dun Laoghaire.Perhaps this explains why his music is fat and rich,brimming with mellow contentment.
Villagers suggests fellow Irish songwriter Glen Hansard,Paul McCartney but most of all-Paddy Mcaloon of Prefab Sprout.
Melodic,wistful,dreamy.11 tracks of like mien which pour out like honey down the side of a jar.
As the guy in Fast Show would say....'Nice' !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding new talent, 19 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
I heard Villagers on Jools Holland a few weeks ago and was totally blown away. I found some footage on You Tube and couldn't wait for the CD to be released. I was not dissappointed.
The delivery was good too, CD delivered 3 days before it was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Debute, 10 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
This album is superb.....I think the combination of Villagers and Elbow live will be mind blowing....Looking forward to their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 8 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
I'm so pleased to have discovered Villagers and this album. It's nothing short of genius, with variety, emotion, passion, and just fantastically written lyrics and music. Conor O'Brien is definitely one to look out for, he's a musical genius. This album is brilliant considering it's the band's first, and I expect only great things from them in the future. I can't praise O'Brien enough: I highly recommend this album, this musician, everything. It's raw and out there, but at the same time simply just paints a picture and leaves it open for the listener to decipher. O'Brien has a great way of writing and clearly puts a lot of work into his music. You've got everything you need: fast paced grooves and soft, delicate melodies roaming free. Brilliant album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Jackal (Audio CD)
Delighted customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
D. Cressey "Sports lover" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
Music not good enough. Lyrics not good enough.

I often buy albums from Amazon's recommendations with great sucess in the past, but sadly not with this one.

The lyrics sound disjointed, forced and for the most part are terrible for most of the songs. A good singer/ songwriter should be able to craft a story or a least a picture in you mind. This work doesn't. It is even painful in some songs - like it was written by an A level English student (although that might be unfare to A level English students) trying too had. A song about standing at the bus stop, that says I am standing at the bus stop or whatever !!!

Musically what a drab backdrop - lets put some violins in (why?) Lets make it a bit jazzy (why?)and there the I howl (like a jackel) for no real reason. There are many bands whose lead singer is not the best but thay make up for it with harmony and enthusiasm - not so here.

I was hoping for something like Newton Faulkner / Seth Lakeman / Fleet Foxes as I assume that is where this recommendation from Amazon came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming A Jackal
Becoming A Jackal by Villagers
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews