Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2010
This is the second book in 'The Long Price', I'm not sure how well I would have graded it if I hadn't read the prior book, so this review will assume you're reading them in order.

The Author continues to handle the new concepts he introduced in the first book excellently, the characters continue to grow and change, a vibrant world brings pressures and situations the character are not in control of suggesting they live in a real place rather than a two dimensional backdrop for their adventures.

I would have to say this is the better of the two books because of two major factors. Firstly and probably less importantly the book is paced better than the first and there is virtually no dragging and (possibly due to the first book) less exposition. Secondly, this book brings together the ending very very well. While there is space for additional stories based in the world, there is a real sense that this story has comfortably closed which is startlingly unusual.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2010
How often have I started a series of books that start so promisingly and yet fail to deliver? Or books that keep you hanging on for bloated sequels of 'ever diminishing returns'? Too many to mention.

What a joy therefore to read this great series. Actually 4 books but published (in timely fashion) in 2 volumes. The story is set in an elegantly crafted and believable world - it has hints of Feist's Empire novels with a 'Eastern' type of culture (formal poses and decorum) but the 'magic' is unique and the books are not derivative in any sense. It is a cracking story and the characters have real strengths, flaws and feelings that make you understand and believe their motivations and actions. Yes there is something akin to 'magic' here but it never supplies an easy get out or plot device (quite the opposite!) - the logic and writing is very accomplished.

The story flows over a number of years and the ending was entirely satisfying. I really hope to hear and read more of this author. Highly recommended!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
The series (that this is parts 3 and 4 of) encompasses the breadth of a lifetime - going from the child, teenager, young adult, parent and finishing as old person. These book have genuine emotion in them and made me well up a number of times. They are set in an unusual slightly oriental setting although this is only really shown via the pose based language and food and wine. The story focuses on the how people change as they grow old and yet there early mistakes or triumphs stay with and effect their decisions. Unlike the suggestion from the overtly aggressive front cover - these books are in fact very gentle dealing far more with politics and relationships than battles and fights (although there are more in book 3 and 4 than in the previous 2 books).

I really enjoyed these as an antidote to some of the more kinetic dark fantasy novels that are around at the moment.

I read this quite soon after reading the the Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet and found there was a lot to compare between the two.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2010
This omnibus contains the final too books in "the long price" and is once more excellent value for money. This is where the series goes from good to great. The set up of the world and characters from the first two (or the Shadows and betrayal omnibus) outings finally comes to a head with several jaw dropping developments that ensure that this fantasy world is forever changed. While there is more action in this book it is the tender moments that still make this series so strong. Daniel also goes out of the way to show that the "villains" actually have a very valid point and I found myself routing for both sides throughout - there's no 1-dimensional evil to kill here. To this end Balasar Gice and Sinja have quickly become my favourite characters in the series. The end of the part 1 is very bittersweet and the final book deals with the fallout with many additional twists and turns that I won't spoil. all in all this is excellent stuff and Daniel should be commended for giving us such a fully realised (and completed) fantasy epic in less then 1500 pages - a real rarirty these days. With the second half of this series he has shown he is one of the top modern fantasy writers out there right now and criminally under the radar. For anyone who has struggled with the start of the series I'd encourage them to this edition a shot as this is where we get the pay off of the "long price". I am very happy that I did!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
It's been a very long time since I've read such an enjoyably complete story - although technically 4 books it's sold in 2 tomes and thus (brilliantly to my mind) avoids the hackneyed cliche of the middle volume of a trilogy that often seems to draw a plot over too many pages.

Whatever, Daniel Abraham tells a fine story with an engagingly original style - I'm not a fan of giving away best bits and the like, but would add that it's one of the only books where I've slow up in the final chapters to take in the enormity of the journeys that the surving characters have been on.

Buy it and find some quiet time and places to have disbelief suspended.
:o)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Daniel Abraham is a wonderful writer and if you are a fan of fantasy he is up there with the best (George R. R. Martin and Raymond Feist for example) "The Long Price" consists of four outstanding books. I would suggest reading them in order. I found them all so well written. They make for powerful and compelling reading.

"Seasons of war" contains the last two books in the series comprising "An Autumn War" and "The Price of Spring" The first two in the quartet can also be bought as one under the title of "Shadow and Betrayal" and are best read first. They are entitled "A Shadow in Summer" and "A Betrayal in Winter" In these books you will find conflict, betrayal, the lust for power and broken alliances. His characters have real depth and humanity is shown throughout the books in all its diversity; both goodness and evil. The prose is excellent. One word of warning - "A Betrayal in Winter" is to be found listed here as one book only out of the four. It is quite expensive bought singly when you can buy it within "Shadow and Betrayal" Book One. Check before you buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
SEASONS OF WAR consists of the final two volumes of the LONG PRICE QUARTET. In AN AUTUMN WAR the rulers of Galt finally find a way of neutralising the powers of the andat and invading the Cities of the Khaiem. As the Autumn War erupts, it falls to Otah and Maati to find a way of stopping the invaders, Otah through forging a political alliance and Maati through a dangerous attempt to bind a new andat. Whilst Abraham's skills at depicting warfare are not the best, he minimizes this aspect in favour of the impact of the war on the three principle characters, Otah, Maati and the new character of Balasar Gice, a Galtic general who views tha andat as a threat that can sniff out his homeland in moments and must be neutralised if his people are ever to rest easy (basically a fantasy equivalent of WMDs).

In the concluding chapter, THE PRICE OF SPRING, the aftermath of the war is examined. Suffice to say that the war did not end as expected for either side, and Balasar and Otah are forced to try and forge a new peace between their peoples that has been poisoned by the deaths of hundreds of thousands. A disgraced Maati is attempting to start a new poets' school in the wilderness, but is unaware that amongst those studying to bind the andat are those who lost everything in the war, and who are interested in nothing more than bloody retribution...

The concluding chapters of the story are more dynamic and faster-paced than the first two books in the series (available in the omnibus SHADOW AND BETRAYAL), featuring a bloody war and an attempt to survive the devastating aftermath. The emphasis remains on our principle characters and their relationships, and Abraham depicts the ideas of warfare, betrayal and trust very well.

This is a worthy conclusion to the series, which overall is definitely one of the best fantasy series of the 2000s and marks the beginning a very promising career for a strong new voice in the fantasy genre.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
In the second volume of Otah Machi's life and tribulations the characters and ideas come even more to life, the intricacies and choices a person has to make in order to do right or not only by yourself but an entire nation/world, the weight of decisions influenced by who you are and whatever happened to you. Wonderfully done, I enjoyed this volume even more than the first volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
have read the first two books in the series so just had to send for the rest great read will keep this writer top of my list and am looking for other titles by same author highly recommender adieSeasons of War: Book Two of The Long Price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
If you have read the first book, then this one is a must. It ties up most of the lose ends, but I still felt a little disappointed with the ending. Look forward to reading more from the author in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse