Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
Kaspar is about Johnny Trott, a bell boy in the Savoy Hotel in London, who is an orphan. He is trusted with the duty of looking after a guest's cat but this cat is no ordinary cat; it is the prince of all cats. He becomes good friends with a rich girl called Elisabeth and he stows away on the Titanic so that he can be with her. But the Titanic hits an iceberg and he is...
Published on 9 Dec 2008 by Meldorf

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wow amazing read
At first I thought I wasn't going to like this book but it was amazing, the story includes love, adventure,danger and lots of excitement. I think that you can not read this book without crying.

Also it was sad at the end so I didn't put five star's

Please put pictures in next time
Published 17 months ago by Liesl Hadley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Hardcover)
Kaspar is about Johnny Trott, a bell boy in the Savoy Hotel in London, who is an orphan. He is trusted with the duty of looking after a guest's cat but this cat is no ordinary cat; it is the prince of all cats. He becomes good friends with a rich girl called Elisabeth and he stows away on the Titanic so that he can be with her. But the Titanic hits an iceberg and he is the one to tell Elisabeth and her family that the ship is sinking. At the last minute he realises that he has forgotten the cat and he must go and fetch him.
Sometimes everything seems to be going badly for Johnny but things are never as bad as you may think. It has a more than satisfying conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautifully written masterpiece, 14 Nov 2008
By 
A. Rhodes (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Hardcover)
My eight year old daughter and I are devoted Michael Morpurgo fans and Kaspar is undoubtedly our favourite so far. Beautifully illustrated and told with great empathy for the human and animal subjects. In all his stories he tackles big issues for children to understand and the portrayal of the sinking of the Titanic is no exception. Even so he kept us both gripped and the ending brought a lump to my throat. Whether you are a devotee or a first time reader you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaspar: Prince of Cats, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Kindle Edition)
If you are fond of cats (especially the lucky black cat) you would really enjoy reading this book... Kaspar in my eyes would make the purrfect pet. Definitely not your average cat and certainly lives up to his name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rattling good yarn, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Kindle Edition)
A good read for 7-10 year olds (approx). As usual from Michael Morpurgo, it is well written with engaging characters and plot. We are going to use with Year 5 pupils because of the Titanic link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Kindle Edition)
Great book for sharing with 8 and 10 year old children! Morpurgo's books are all gripping from start to finish and Kaspar is no exception!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOVED it !, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Kindle Edition)
This book was a great read , I did Enjoy it very much. I would recommend this for 10 - 12 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book for children and adults alike!, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Paperback)
This is a beautifully written story which I first read myself aged 26 and have since shared with nieces, nephews and classes of children in school. Without exception they have all loved it. It's great to find stories which both boys and girls enjoy equally, and I can definitely put Kaspar Prince of Cats into this category. A firm favourite on my bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cute!, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Paperback)
I was in an impulsive mood when i bought this, seen it had a cute black cat on the cover like mine snapped it up,read the blurb on the back it mentioned the titanic,thought it sounded interesting so i got it.Now bearing in mind im 21 an this is a kids book i really enjoyed it lol not that it bothers me its a kids book as i read anything that appeals an many diff books.Its a nice happy story apart from some bits obviously cuz the titanics in it but i thought the author was very good the way he covered it, its more based around the cat than actually about it but i enjoyed the story and im sure any child would love this,i defo would have when i was a kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Morpurgo does it again!, 1 Jan 2009
By 
KB (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Hardcover)
I've always been a fan of Michael Morpurgo and I loved reading Kaspar. It's set in the Savoy Hotel in London and is about a boy called Johnny Trott. Johnny has lived all his life not knowing who his parents are; he always hoped that one day he would find his dream mother. When the Countess Kandinsky comes to the hotel, Johnny is trusted to look after her cat. Soon a rich family from New York come to stay at the hotel and Johnny gets to know their daughter, Lizziebeth. The family go back on the Titanic and Johnny wants to go with them. He becomes a stowaway.

A lovely story, one of my favourite books. A great read for all the family. Brought me close to tears. If you haven't tried Michael Morpurgo or, if you're a big fan of his, you should get this book right away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story, 27 Jan 2011
By 
Rev. Steve Utley (Corfe Mullen, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspar: Prince of Cats (Paperback)
Both my 10 year old daughter and 7 year old son love this book. It is classic Morpurgo at his best. This beautiful adventure follows Kaspar through a wonderful journey and as ever, Morpurgo takes the reader to emotional highs and lows. These books a good reflections on life and I think a great for children to read. Life has it's struggles as well as it's rewards and Morpurgo always manages to reflect both in his writing with great skill. This copy was purchased as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kaspar: Prince of Cats
Kaspar: Prince of Cats by Michael Morpurgo
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews