Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A near-perfect movie - part-allegory, part historical drama. Stunningly beautiful.
Shirin Neshat has produced a fascinating and bewitching movie based upon the novel by Sharnush Parsipur.

The movie follows the experiences of 4 very different women in 1950s Iran: Munis (a spinster being forced by her brother to marry against her will); Faezeh (her friend who secretly loves Munis' brother); Fakhri (a wife of a general who is seeking escape);...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Ben

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
in a word - depressing
Published 2 months ago by henlet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A near-perfect movie - part-allegory, part historical drama. Stunningly beautiful., 31 Dec 2011
By 
Ben "candlemasbear" (Redditch, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Shirin Neshat has produced a fascinating and bewitching movie based upon the novel by Sharnush Parsipur.

The movie follows the experiences of 4 very different women in 1950s Iran: Munis (a spinster being forced by her brother to marry against her will); Faezeh (her friend who secretly loves Munis' brother); Fakhri (a wife of a general who is seeking escape); and Zarin (a prostitute). Their personal stories are set against the backdrop of the 1953 coup d'état in which Britain and American forces overthrew the nationalist government and installed the dictatorship of the Shah.

Fact and fantasy combine in intriguing ways. Munis dies but is magically reborn and takes a prominent role in resistance to the coup. Faezeh and Zarin follow different paths to the orchard recently purchased by Fakhri where they are able to find spiritual respite from the outside world until its sanctuary is breached by earthly desires and the armed forces.

Stunningly beautiful cinematography, a haunting soundtrack and some earnest and believable acting performances combine in a movie that will fascinate and beguile you, drawing you into a world that is both fantastic and very real. An unforgettable movie experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A world cinema classic, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A hauntingly lovely film which evokes the decade and a lost era. I think I missed things the first time of viewing and Gained by watching it again. I think it comes when you least expect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars women without men, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
An amazing film, excellent cinematography, even if you dont follow the story, watch it for the images, simple yet effective, insightful and focuses on important issues. well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unpredictable, 15 Oct 2010
By 
beaded_girl (west midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is one of few films were you read the synopsis but still don't know what to expect.
Throughout the film I found myself questioning what was real and what was imaginary. The effect the women had on their environment and vice versa. The identities of the women - did society shape them, or did they shape their own identity? I'll probably ponder over the ending for a while as to what it really meant.
If you can't get to grips with the symbolism within the film, then I'd say just accept the historical/political aspect of the film - being set in Iran in 1953. The current images of life in Iran, make it hard to think how different life may have been then.
The silence of Zarin - the only character whom does not speak. But she doesn't have to, her facial expressions say it all.
The orchard - is it heaven or hell?
Some women let go, some women won't let go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Women without Men dvd, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Dandy (Southport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great film production by a very taleted and artistic Iranian director - in Farsi (Persian) language with English subtitles. - beautiful cinematography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beats the hell out of Argo, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Ian Heywood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a deeply disturbing, thoughtful piece that lets no-one off the hook, and unlike Argo, it portrays Iran as it is - complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
this is simply a brilliant film. Probably the best Iranian film in the last years, and definitely among my favourite 5! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Women without Men dvd, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Good movie.
Story was easy to follow.

Audio language is Farsi.
This DVD has English subtitles only. No other language is available.

Please note this movie contains adult theme which some viewers find inappropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
in a word - depressing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well ... couldn't get my head round this at all!, 10 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was very conflicted by this film - I SO wanted to like it and yet by the end of the film I consigned it to the "not likely to be looked at again" section. Maybe I'm just thick but I didn't understand what the hell it was all about; maybe being male renders one completely and irretrievably dense - perhaps THAT's what the film is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Women Without Men [DVD] [2009]
Women Without Men [DVD] [2009] by Shoja Azari (DVD - 2010)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews